WAJA 1.8 come with VVT?

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
WAJA 1.8 comes with VVT?

I read WPC website, it stated that the Drive-by-wire 1.8 WAJA engine actually is an engine with VVT.

http://www.wpc.com.my/waja_18details.asp

Can any 1.8 WAJA owner confirm that?
I was wonder why Proton never put the VVT in the brochure/ official website, or maybe WPC is bullshitting?

They are not bullshitting. The Waja 1.8 had a very good engine, way more advanced than 4G93P. It even has more torque than a Satria R3 at lower RPMs.

But Proton never marketed it well. The public perception and gut feeling about French engines also didn't help sales at all. It wasn't a cheap car to maintain either, due to its French powertrain. In the end, the Waja 1.8 was just swept under the carpet.

they shall at least put 1.8 VVT sticker at the mudguard :D
it will boost the sales of 1.8 I guess.
Just my 2 cents :D

Unfortunately... too many electrical faults ranging from design to maintainance.

I've seen many 1.8L Waja being converted back to either 1.6 MIVEC or 1.8 GSR. Owner kept complaining of water entering the ECU (yeah, it is located in the engine bay itself) and numerous faults here and there.

In the end, the solution is to get rid of the entire package all together.

acbc said:
Unfortunately... too many electrical faults ranging from design to maintainance.

I've seen many 1.8L Waja being converted back to either 1.6 MIVEC or 1.8 GSR. Owner kept complaining of water entering the ECU (yeah, it is located in the engine bay itself) and numerous faults here and there.

In the end, the solution is to get rid of the entire package all together.

huhh ? proton waja's ECU is located in the engine bay, those engineers must really dumb or ... fucking stupid to do so, can't they learn from other cars, like toyota or honda, hide under the steering or the driver's seat? proton = hopeless

On the bright side, Waja platform is very versatile for engine swaps. 1.8 means they can dump in Evo 4++ with no problem from JPJ. The chassis is also very stiff and strong already, making it more suitable than any Wira for transplant.

I was told that WAJA is using Mitsu Lancer wheelbase. Is it another rumours?
I check the internet data and compare with Proton website, both cars wheelbase dimension is around 2600mm. (Lancer have many generation, and the wheelbase is actually different from 1 generation to the other gen).

Waja 1.6 is using an engine with the same code as the new Lancer, 4G18. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.

yea, 4G18...1.6 litre found in lancer.

from another forum, read that Waja's chasis is actually from carisma chasis which is also chasis for S40. they bought the right to use it n the Proton engineers modified the chasis with their own design. So not entirely the same as Mitsubishi :) said by a proton personel in AW.

FYI, later Waja 1.8 renault engine was coded as 4G93P too...seen it on a Waja itself n confirmed with the SC.

cheers!

wah.. the waja sounds like got alot of foreign parts taken from everywhere. only the body design is original i guess....

zealless said:
huhh ? proton waja's ECU is located in the engine bay, those engineers must really dumb or ... fucking stupid to do so, can't they learn from other cars, like toyota or honda, hide under the steering or the driver's seat? proton = hopeless

All conti cars' ECU are located in the engine bay anyway... BMW, Merc, Audi, Citroen and etc...

Reason? Easy maintainance and diagnostic. No need to hack the dashboard (which loosen everything) to plug the OBD terminal.

acbc said:
All conti cars' ECU are located in the engine bay anyway... BMW, Merc, Audi, Citroen and etc...

Reason? Easy maintainance and diagnostic. No need to hack the dashboard (which loosen everything) to plug the OBD terminal.

yala, u seen the BMW ECU or not ... how well they protected ... heard water proof too ? dunno ler. .. maybe rumours ... and their ECU damn kao big, the got lots of sensors ... proton so small ... hide under the seat also can la ...
can design like toyota ma, hide under the sit or dashboard then got extra wiring out ...

Yes, I've seen many ECUs (from Jap to conti)... my mech repairs ECU for a living...

True, both BMW and Merc ECUs are heavily protected and some are actually full working computer inside.

acbc said:
Yes, I've seen many ECUs (from Jap to conti)... my mech repairs ECU for a living...

True, both BMW and Merc ECUs are heavily protected and some are actually full working computer inside.

True true... one thing is i hate about BMW ... one important sensor got problem ... then the car got all ... siao siao ... even service need to reset the new service mileage ... bloody mah fan ..

BMW has sensors for the ever so forgetful owners...

My E32 has warnings ranging from blown bulbs to low coolant level. Perfect for super busy people. Mind you, this is a 1989 model... so advance. Heck, it even has a build-in immobilizer (something that caught be by surprise as car got stuck in GH once).

acbc, how many cars you have? :)

4G93P for 1.8 Renault engine code?
isn't 4G93P is the Mitsu engine installed in SGTI and Putra?
Anyone here can confirm that? I dun think Proton is dumb enough to mix the renault engine code with Mitsu engine code, more over 4G93P does not offer VVT.

BlackSamurai said:

Me? Just one... a Galant but I maintain the rest of the cars at home... 2 Galants, 1 Carnival, 1 LandCruiser, 1 BMW and 1 MyVi... because sigh... my parents n siblings all PPAG (Put Petrol And Go) types.

BlackSamurai said:

4G93P for 1.8 Renault engine code?
isn't 4G93P is the Mitsu engine installed in SGTI and Putra?
Anyone here can confirm that? I dun think Proton is dumb enough to mix the renault engine code with Mitsu engine code, more over 4G93P does not offer VVT.

yeap..sure...compared two waja 1.8 side by side during service....the metal plate stating the model code for waja 1.8 (CF2 if not mistaken) is the same but engine code diff...unless mistake in printing which most likely will happen in Proton :P :P

cheers!

prozac said:
They are not bullshitting. The Waja 1.8 had a very good engine, way more advanced than 4G93P. It even has more torque than a Satria R3 at lower RPMs.

But Proton never marketed it well. The public perception and gut feeling about French engines also didn't help sales at all. It wasn't a cheap car to maintain either, due to its French powertrain. In the end, the Waja 1.8 was just swept under the carpet.

IMHO, proton shud just revised and overcome the problem, and also improve their marketing and aftersale service lah..they shud continue production of waja 1.8..scrap the waja 1.6(give way to gen2) and also stop producing gen2 1.3 (it kills savvy)..so by doing that proton can target various market..and hopefully reduce the criticisme on it..they shud not just swept it under carpet..where's the dasar pandang ke timur drM talk so much in his days as pm (and he's the penasihat of proton too)