Waja 1.8

my housemate drives a waja 1.8, he loves the car. Good torque for heading up to Genting, but slightly higher on the maintenance side. The handling is better compared to the 1.6 version too. Interior is very nice on the premium edition.

my fren get 1st batch waja 1.8 within 6month went back service centre 3 times. 1st time car cant start call service centre tow truck. 2nd time forgot what happen liao. 3rd time this 1 best radiator fan belt putus then donno how the kipas knock on the radiator. radiotor pecah. call service centre tow truck again.

then my uncle used for around 1 year oso radiator fan belt putus but he lucky radiator never pecah.

torque really good. can feel the pull when tekan minyak. FC slightly high.

this just my experience with my fren n uncle waja 1.8.

My housemate's waja is silver, 1.8 premium. So I guess it doesn't just come in black.

The radiator problem isn't the fan belt, but the whole fan pecah I think. It is a known issue for waja 1.8.

gotdamsg said:
is waja 1.8 available only in black colors..? very difficult to find 1.8 version on the road.
premium comes in silver n darker blue :)
normal version comes in silver, gold, artic blue and dunno what else :P correct me if i'm wrong.

black is OIC version other than the enhanced Waja 1.6 with spoiler.

cheers!

ncie and powerful car .
buy one 2nd hand and fix all the bugs inside ... and it is a damn good car to drive aroudn .

fren got his silver waja 1.8 it 4 2 years..first year always at eon centre repairing.. year after dat engine blew... change 2.0l mivec engine n loves em now only.. just tot i'll share his experience dats all. i'm sure not all waja dat bad but their after market service like crap.. but having said dat over n over again dat proton is bad, still many malaysians buy proton... should support perodua instead la..proton is just bullying n taking advantage of all of us.

waja CF2 (CF1 for 1.6) use standard 16" alloys in standard looks, explaining the better handling characteristics compare to lesser standard 1.6.

there are 2 different types of 1.8 version at least..

the premium version has all the niceties including airbag, ABS, EBD, traction control, automatic climate control.

its powerplant is sourced from france, renault laguna 1.8 to be exact.

this unit is a 4 in-line DOHC 16 valve WITH variable valve timing. it produces about 120bhp, and of coz quite a distance from 103bhp produced by waja CF1.

this explains for the extra umphh..

other details to note is the adjustable rear headrests as well as foldable centre armrest for rear passengers.

in my personal opinion waja 1.8 is very rare seen. at a price of 70,000++, consumers also will consider other options in buying notably kia spectra, honda city and toyota vios. their motto - Never use Proton again.

p/s my motto - as long it fits my budget.

used to drive a waja ler but the 1.6 version. based on my experiece i'd have to say your better off with a 2nd hand jap car. just my opinion. of course it'll be a new car vs an old car ler.

FC is quite good .
provided good servicing and care .

it all depends on ur luck man ... coz its proton . becasue i am frm waja forum , that is why most of the wajas there are quite ok .
but , in fact, there are lots of problematic outside there also .

my frined who drives 1.8 said that it is an angel ... the braking system and gearchange is something u cant even find in an accord or civic or altis ...

bridgestoneRE711 said:
FC is quite good .

... the braking system and gearchange is something u cant even find in an accord or civic or altis ...

waja's brakes system is made by Lucas UK. Trusted by lotus.

huakenny ,
yeap ... really . don't belive , go ask them
the system is driven by wire ... the throttle got sensors which detects every single change in throttle pressure ...
once u step on the brake , the gear will cog down one gear for u , providing engine braking .
damn ! this stuff is damn nice ..

unfortunately , proton screwed it all . it is suppose to be a great car to drive . but now ... its not .

yah... i heard that too when they launched the waja 1.8 version.... they claim its drive by wire... not too sure how, but they claim la...
but after sometime, i heard the new batch of waja (dunno which version) got electronics problem... many new waja has to be sent back to EON workshop... that proves how good proton reliability is...