Waja convert FTO mIVEC plz commend ...!!

jpj

by the way ....

is it a major problem to go pass jpj ... mine is 1.8 ... 2.0 is not a problem ....

anyone mind to explain about the jpj ruling these days ... i haven't done any transplant before .... all the while i just buy modded cars with endorsement already done one ..

awp....if u say u wanna go for 2litre. y not go for the 1.8GSR and use the 4G94 block which is a 2litre engine. :) anyways, watever engine u convert in also sure beats wats currently inside...so enjoy dude :)

hi

i would think that gsr Cm version is one of the good shoice but i dun think i am at the condition of spending too much time maintaining a turbo car anymore... prefer a car that i can just start and run every morning without too much worries ... there are differences in terms of the usage i think ... if for leisure or performance definitely i will opt fr the evo's man ... they easily puch 260 hp ..... wala ...... hehehe ....

well .. i still think that fto mivec is my choice ... but i am thinking about the weight of the engine .... whether it is suiable for waja or not .... is a adj abs necessary ?

oh yah ... is necessary to get a new tacho ? why can't use back ori waja tacho .....????

commentz pls.....

awp said:
yes blackie,
well i totally agree that the v6 sounds magnificent and its good enough ... my mech says with proper tuning and setting it should reach 200 hp on wheel ..... which i think its more than enough for me in the streets .....

1.6 mivec and 1.8 gsrt .. i dun think its worth it because mine is 1.8 waja .. so i think its good chance to upgrade to 2.0 litre ....

manual transmission would be my choice as i know this engine is already like 9 - 10 years ... so i think manual is the best choice lah ... somemore got more power .....

any other opinion that did this transaplant plz comment ...

really need your experience ..... on how to mod also ..... lthe last time i heard about one waja mivec v6 that punches out 200 hp atw runs with SMT6 engine management, blue print and blanced engine ans exhaust system by jafar .... by the way what does blueprint and balanced engine mean ? how is the process?

plz comment sifus

AWP , it depends on u whether u wanna continue to upgrade ur engine after u convert o not . Yes, its a good chance 2 upgrade from 1.8 to 2.0 liter . But 2.0 hp doesn't mean de engine stil can win those 1.8 which was modified. I'm sure u kno that 6A12 Mivec do not have much parts and limited 2 upgrade its power. If u're planning 2 upgrade i would really suggest u to put mivec 1.6 first and upgrade it in future . 2.0 Mivec pick up is not tht gud bcoz it uses 6 cylinder . My fren 1.6 mivec (original) has test before with 2.0 mivec from 0-140km/h . Until 100km/h is stil de same and after over 140 km/h around half car gap 2.0mivec wins. 1.6 convert to 1.8 mivec to test wit 6A12 mivec i think can win at least 3 car gap minimum . But if u prefer jus to ride on city , not demanding for power and less maintanence compare to turbo engine den its a good choice to convert it . :)
just my 2 cents opinion .
good luck !

frankly speaking, i can't see any problem with JPJ by upgrading your 1.8 to 2.0. i done tat before, juz bring car to puspakom (pay rm40), upgrade your insurance and get a new road tax from JPJ. done. all can be done in a day.
I'm actually very interested to get a FTO itself but gave it a second thought, after hearing other forummers saying tat maintaining a V6 engine is expensive. anyone can comment on this? BTW, what engine options does the FTO comes with?

kktham said:
frankly speaking, i can't see any problem with JPJ by upgrading your 1.8 to 2.0. i done tat before, juz bring car to puspakom (pay rm40), upgrade your insurance and get a new road tax from JPJ. done. all can be done in a day.
I'm actually very interested to get a FTO itself but gave it a second thought, after hearing other forummers saying tat maintaining a V6 engine is expensive. anyone can comment on this? BTW, what engine options does the FTO comes with?

FTO either comes with 6A12 (Perdana V6 engine) or 6A12 V6 Mivec two type

bridgestoneRE711 said:
huh ? that one is perdana V6 engine ar ?
they why perdana V6 don't have the ferrari sound ni ?

For FTO 6A12 engine i'm not sure got de ferrari sound tht u mention anot . But 6A12 v6 mivec comfirm got .....

bridgestoneRE711 said:
huh ? that one is perdana V6 engine ar ?
they why perdana V6 don't have the ferrari sound ni ?

change your perd V6 exhaust with a deep bassy one. sure can get the ferrari or 350z sound :)

yeah man ..... if u drive your perdana with a straight flow 2.3 inch exhaust all the way ... i am sure that it will sound very good ..... maybe the sound of skyline ..... hhehehe

Kopi said:
FTO 6A12 MIVEC is worth every dime into ur WAJA. Standard alone produce 184WHP. No need to really mod this engine's internals when fit inside the Waja engine bay. Just feed it with good CAI kit and the correct exhaust system, sure would be 190WHP... but you'll experience the kick after 4500rpm (V6 torque) and at 5400RPM again when MIVEC system is triggered. Go for 6A12 RS (FTO RS) with 6spd manual gearbox.

Good luck with JPJ though.

fto only 150hp atw. dynoed before on some magazine. the auto has about 5hp less then the manual (amazing gear box). and i have never heard of a 6 speed fto.

xerofighter said:
fto only 150hp atw. dynoed before on some magazine. the auto has about 5hp less then the manual (amazing gear box). and i have never heard of a 6 speed fto.

Yeah... sorry. I've run check. FTO don't have a 6spd, they're only up for INVECS I 5spd gbox. That's GTO with the 6spd tranny.

FTO mivec 6a12 v6

well, fto engine only have 1.8 (4g93), 2.0 v6 (6A12), and also 2.0 V6 Mivec (6A12).
Manual comes with 5 speed and tiptronic comes with 4 / 5 speed depending on the years of manufacture.

Power wise, i can say it's pretty good engine compare to it's class. 200hp on flywheel. and around 170 on the wheel. it's enough for someone who prefer normal city driving. Bu i have to admit that the engine is abit heavy. the fto mivec alone is weighted almost 1200-1300kg! tends to undetsteeer if u do not know how to control it well.

Spare parts i would say it's pretty easy to source. i mean engine parts. Dun worry about the maintainance. parts price are consider cheap as it share most of common parts with perdana engine. However, if u intend to go for this this engine, labour cost is another thing that u would like to consider. the last time i chnage timing belt and other belts plus water pump... the labour itself cost me rm250! Alot of work to be done.

well, there are certainly pros and cons when selecting a engine. just ask around for some opinion. Maybe from those engine sifus. At the end of the day ur the one who will make decision on what is goin in ur babe's hood. however wish u good luck in choosing ur future engine. hehe =)

BTW, mivec v6 sound is amazing!!!! with straight flow from front to back, u wiill get a F1 sound! haha..... i suppose u will live happily with it!

Accurate info u got there dude. been sourcing alot frm the internet. btw, i m actually currently doing my fto mivec v6 implementation, will keep u guys posted, definitely with pics!. Reason of changing engine is because my waja 1.8 engine blown :), do feel free to ask questions pertaining fto mivec v6 engine :)

Help: btw, how do i upload my pics? looks like there's a limit. if so, how do i reduce the size of my pics? :)

OTF-39 said:
well, fto engine only have 1.8 (4g93), 2.0 v6 (6A12), and also 2.0 V6 Mivec (6A12).
Manual comes with 5 speed and tiptronic comes with 4 / 5 speed depending on the years of manufacture.

Power wise, i can say it's pretty good engine compare to it's class. 200hp on flywheel. and around 170 on the wheel. it's enough for someone who prefer normal city driving. Bu i have to admit that the engine is abit heavy. the fto mivec alone is weighted almost 1200-1300kg! tends to undetsteeer if u do not know how to control it well.

Spare parts i would say it's pretty easy to source. i mean engine parts. Dun worry about the maintainance. parts price are consider cheap as it share most of common parts with perdana engine. However, if u intend to go for this this engine, labour cost is another thing that u would like to consider. the last time i chnage timing belt and other belts plus water pump... the labour itself cost me rm250! Alot of work to be done.

well, there are certainly pros and cons when selecting a engine. just ask around for some opinion. Maybe from those engine sifus. At the end of the day ur the one who will make decision on what is goin in ur babe's hood. however wish u good luck in choosing ur future engine. hehe =)

BTW, mivec v6 sound is amazing!!!! with straight flow from front to back, u wiill get a F1 sound! haha..... i suppose u will live happily with it!

power atw is definitely not 170. dynoed before at 137.2 hp atw. stock. the 15% power loss from flywheel to wheel power doesnt really apply here. same like 1.6 mivec claims of 170hp at the flywheel. power at the wheel is only around 120+

I also plan to have my waja 1.6 transplant to FTO V6 2.0 Mivec Auto,
cannot tahan my 1.6 auto especially going up hill
mind to share you experience on this:

1. JPJ 1.6 to 2.0 legal?

2. Plug and play - at least engine mouting?

3. Driving experience? Is it quiet when cruising at 100km/h? what is
the rpm (auto) at this speed?

4. Any good and reliable workshop in Penang?

OTF 39

thanks for all the information provided to this thread ... i am actually thinking of other alternative options but i still think the 2 litre mivec v6 is my best choice as i dun in tend to further mod it in the future ... maybe a piggyback plus port polish would do it .... can get 200hp is good enough for me ....
suprising to hear that its expensive for labour cost in changing those belts .... is the belts and spares expensive compare to perdana v6 .????

Fastgg

thanks for participating in the thread to share your experience .... how much did you pay for the total (halfcut, transplant , register ), mind to share your experience it will serve as a good guide for other forumers like me to compare with other workshop .. scare kena conned then abit the fuck up though , so which workshop do you sent your car to???? mind to share ah ... so that people would know which workshop in kl pj does the best job at its price ..... currently i have a few option ... :

hiper reacing in sunway

ds power in gombak

puchong dunno what name ....

so plz list down the best installer in kl pj .....

regarads ...... happy modding

well, since ur in penang so why dont u ojoin us for TT.... got alot of Sifu's there to quide u.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=1982&page=43&pp=40

rpm at 100km/h is 3k. Mine done insulation... so is quiet.... i not sure about fto engine in other car.... =)

awp said:
OTF 39

thanks for all the information provided to this thread ... i am actually thinking of other alternative options but i still think the 2 litre mivec v6 is my best choice as i dun in tend to further mod it in the future ... maybe a piggyback plus port polish would do it .... can get 200hp is good enough for me ....
suprising to hear that its expensive for labour cost in changing those belts .... is the belts and spares expensive compare to perdana v6 .????

well, parts are almost the same price as perdana V6.... Example... FTO engine is using same waterpump with perdana which is aorund 150-160. As i said before.. they are sharing many common parts.

feel free to join us at TT to fin out more about this engine... hehehehehe =)

willowwaja said:

I also plan to have my waja 1.6 transplant to FTO V6 2.0 Mivec Auto,
cannot tahan my 1.6 auto especially going up hill
mind to share you experience on this:

1. JPJ 1.6 to 2.0 legal?

2. Plug and play - at least engine mouting?

the rpm (auto) at this speed?

4. Any good and reliable workshop in Penang?

hi there willow,

pls refer to remarks below..

1. JPJ 1.6 to 2.0 legal? Not sure about this, but according to the workshop dude, he says that he will call 'runner' kau tim for me. As for those who wants to send to JPJ, don't do so. It won't pass becoz runner has 'connection' with JPJ fellas. So, save your time & effort. Get what i mean here?

2. Plug and play - at least engine mouting? Currently, yesterday i check at the workshop, engine mouting, a little modify on the bracket to hold the engine, it was pretty fit, every done was ngam ngam. The only problem is to fit in the gearbox & meters. According to him, will need some time to 'modify' the console & the dashboard. Moreover, waja steering with airbag does not fit anymore. (Will need to sell my steering & change to momo. hehe)

the rpm (auto) at this speed? Have not tried this engine on Waja, neither FTO itself. Definitely, able to test it next week.

4. Any good and reliable workshop in Penang? err.. dunno