water in headlamp cause by condensation

cyt

hi guys, i wud like to enquire about this problem...one of my crystal head lamp (wira) has wqater in it caused by condensation..its quite serious and dont seems to come out...i tried to put it to high beam for 30 mins but quite painstaking coz quite uneffective..does anyone hav quick and practical solutions?? take a hair dryer and blow in it??

erm,try opening the cover and clean it.dont use the hair dryer thing.might spoil ur blub

will that help?? but dun wan lah...very mafan...and oso...got hole oredi...might have more of this problem....

I don't think the cover of headlamps are as simple as just opening it. I thought it was manufactured to be sealed tight and not supposed to be opened? On the contrary..... I guess that's how people get smoked lamps? hahahaha

cyt,
Try removing the bulb from the headlamp. Once the bulb has been removed, there should be a hole where the bulb is supposed to be put in. I don't know how you going to try to blow dry it but I wouldn't suggest using even warm air. I think there'll be stains after it dries up.

I guess the only quick way is to get new headlamps. Have you checked it out with the mechs, or accessories dude, or whoever already?

time to change ur lamp...when masuk air it is helpless...or u can dismantle it whole set and redo one bit by one bit...

i tried to put it on high beam while im travelling in the afternoon today and it seems to help quite alot, althought there are around 40 percent of moisture still inside the lamp...this condition is caused when there was a heavy rain..then when there is hot air after the rain, the condensation process made the water from outside the glass to go into the headlamp...

As painstaking as this is gonna sound, I guess you don't have much choice other than to buy new lamps.

Get someone to remove the lamps, remove the bulb (some Wira's came with the stupid security lock thing that makes it almost impossible for the average joe to open), drain the water, dry the lamps out. Check the opening where the bulb goes in, is the rubber seating and sealing the hole properly? If not change it, if there's even a tear in it.

Make sure you dry the whole lamp thoroughly first if not it'll just defeat the purpose of this.

After this to make sure this problem doesn't continue, apply silicon sealant to the edges where the glass meets the body of the lamp. Make sure its heat resistant sealant or else it'll just melt over time.

Hope this helps!

Oops sorry for the double post but reading back my previous reply I realised something.

I mentioned that some Wira's come with the security lock thing to keep the bulb or lamp from being stolen. If you have this and had the bulbs changed in the past, check them to see if they're still ok. Sometimes these things get forced open by someone who doesn't know how to open them and when its reassembled it doesn't seal as before.

If so just change it to the normal type of bulb holders (Lol, dry the lamps out while you're at it). I mean who in their right mind would open the bonnet of a car to steal bulbs or headlamps?? Pretty pointless, pain in the butt feature if you ask me.