Weird substance inside radiator

Don't think I have the proper tools or the skill to use it.

He send to radiator shop to do it. Before the flushed it, can see the tiny holes/fins inside the radiator is jammed with dirt or something. After the flushed it, they look cleared and clean.

So now you are worried the dirt from the block went into radiator. But your mechanic should have flushed it properly before full install.....lol

I think it is already flushed properly.

Went to my mechanic just now to check on the thermostat. He ask me is it that I suspect is the thermostat. I say I think so and my friend (you) said so. So, he opened up and check the thermostat. Seems like the thermostat is jammed. So, he replaced it with a new one and I hang around there for few more hours to chat and observe what he is doing. When I am driving back, I tried to cruise in 2nd gear at 4000rpm, temperature remains low, not even half. Before the fix, even at low speed after warming up, temperature will be at slightly over 50%. Looks like the problem is solved. I'm going to kampar again on Friday, will test out the car again that time to see if it is okay.

Here's a pic of the my jammed thermostat. I took it back home. :biggrin:

• DSC01201.jpg
    DSC01201.jpg
    66.2 KB · Views: 93
Looks coated with gunk dy and especially the center part. Hope all is well now.....:wavey:

I hope so too. Mechanic told me, if still got problem, then need try to flush the radiator again. And if that still don't work, need take out cylinder head to check already. Total repair cost today is RM40. New thermostat made in Japan apparently.

• DSC01174.jpg
    DSC01174.jpg
    67.1 KB · Views: 93
I hope so too. Mechanic told me, if still got problem, then need try to flush the radiator again. And if that still don't work, need take out cylinder head to check already. Total repair cost today is RM40. New thermostat made in Japan apparently.

Will send you my bill for consultation......hhahhahahhahahhahahhahahhahahah:rofl:

Should be fine d. One less worry, right?

Yes. Hopefully it is fine. Will post here again after testing the car on Friday.

Glad you and your mechanic found the culprit of your temperature problem.

Yeah, I felt relieved now. Is more like thanks to VR2 for the suggestion.

Friday I'll do a long distance driving test to see if the problem is completely solved or not. If it goes well, means everything solved.

Will send you my bill for consultation......hhahhahahhahahhahahhahahhahahah:rofl:

You are the true identifier of the problem. :adore:

Next time come Ipoh, I treat you drink white coffee.

Yes. Hopefully it is fine. Will post here again after testing the car on Friday.

Yeah, I felt relieved now. Is more like thanks to VR2 for the suggestion.

Friday I'll do a long distance driving test to see if the problem is completely solved or not. If it goes well, means everything solved.

You are the true identifier of the problem. :adore:

Next time come Ipoh, I treat you drink white coffee.

Only white coffee ah? can add roti kaya......hhahhahahhahaha:rofl:

Ipoh white coffee is cheap. I bring you go to original Nam Heong shop, less than RM2 can get a cup already. Good food, good price. That's why when I go KL, I feel like everything is expensive and they don't taste as good. :banghead:

Very easy to remove thermostat for your car. Just locate the place and open a few bolts, done!

I'm under the misconception that the thermostat is somewhere below the engine. After yesterday, I only found out that the thermostat is just before the top radiator hose. :banghead:

That is why you should hang around the mechanic when car under repair......lol:rofl:
But you lone ranger and newbie hard to DIY. We do DIT among us, we got the tools and if got problem got others around to help......hhahhahah

That is why you should hang around the mechanic when car under repair......lol:rofl:
But you lone ranger and newbie hard to DIY. We do DIT among us, we got the tools and if got problem got others around to help......hhahhahah

I hang out there for a few hours yesterday after my repair. Went there around 2pm, go home at 6.15pm since got nothing to do at home. He is doing some repair for another 4G15 Wira carb and I'm watching him do it. Adjusting the valves after grinding he said. Hear him talk some of his old stories. I ask him normally will his customers stay and watch him do work, he say mostly no one will do so except me. :rofl:

You guys got sifus and real mechanics nearby to help if anything goes wrong. If it is me, I will have my family members behind me but snstead of helping, they will come scold me like the usual Asian family style. "See what you did? Hand itchy everything also touch. Now spoil already." This kind of remark. Sometimes when I took some simple stuff out like air filter, air box also they will come tell me "You thought you very smart? Take things out by yourself, later spoil or can't put back how?"

Same thing with my wife when I'm working on my car. She would say, "Would it be easier if you just take your old car to the workshop?". :banghead: I replied, "Same thing with cooking, since there's only two of us, would it be easier if we just buy the meal instead of cooking?".

I hang out there for a few hours yesterday after my repair. Went there around 2pm, go home at 6.15pm since got nothing to do at home. He is doing some repair for another 4G15 Wira carb and I'm watching him do it. Adjusting the valves after grinding he said. Hear him talk some of his old stories. I ask him normally will his customers stay and watch him do work, he say mostly no one will do so except me. :rofl:

You guys got sifus and real mechanics nearby to help if anything goes wrong. If it is me, I will have my family members behind me but snstead of helping, they will come scold me like the usual Asian family style. "See what you did? Hand itchy everything also touch. Now spoil already." This kind of remark. Sometimes when I took some simple stuff out like air filter, air box also they will come tell me "You thought you very smart? Take things out by yourself, later spoil or can't put back how?"

2pm to 6.15pm is nothing. When was single, I go to mechanic on Saturday at 10am. But if he busy he will do other cars first. Sometimes I help out, not the major works....hahhaha Simple stuffs, sometimes help deliver cars and so on. When clear customers car already, then he start on mine and sometimes is already 7pm. We go for dinner then come back carry on do my car. Finish at 10pm, then start tuning another friend's car or his own or his brother's. Can end up at 12 midnight, sometimes after tuning go for test drive, go home at 1am......lol:biggrin:

Same thing with my wife when I'm working on my car. She would say, "Would it be easier if you just take your old car to the workshop?". :banghead: I replied, "Same thing with cooking, since there's only two of us, would it be easier if we just buy the meal instead of cooking?".

Hahahahaha. Well said, well said indeed. What is the reply she gave you?

2pm to 6.15pm is nothing. When was single, I go to mechanic on Saturday at 10am. But if he busy he will do other cars first. Sometimes I help out, not the major works....hahhaha Simple stuffs, sometimes help deliver cars and so on. When clear customers car already, then he start on mine and sometimes is already 7pm. We go for dinner then come back carry on do my car. Finish at 10pm, then start tuning another friend's car or his own or his brother's. Can end up at 12 midnight, sometimes after tuning go for test drive, go home at 1am......lol:biggrin:

You're really determined during your younger days. Your mechanic is young also at that time? Sounds like you and your mechanic can be good friends back then. My mechanic now is like 60 years old, similar to your age. He said normally he will do until 6pm plus then he will stop.

i prefer doing it myself....be it car or food...

i repair all vehicle myself...

so wife should cook herself for our family....

eating outside/restaurant then thats where the money goes like waterfall....eat this eat that expensive...and today just 2nd of dec. she already borrow my credit card to fill he car petrol... :banghead:

For me, things I can DIY of course I'll do them, saves tons of money which is important especially nowadays. But as I'm getting older, things I can DIY get lesser and lesser. :(

As for cooking, we'll I'd rather keep it to myself or else my wife will whack me! :rofl: