Weird substance inside radiator

I still struggling with isc setup. Need to find my Pomen, use his scantool to position isc to middle and set idle rpm from BISS screw. As I read from googling. No time....
And also dash light, tail light blank. Still check the fuse.

Because they are more simple in terms of design and operating principles. Less parts = lower chances of something failing.

I heard about gear replacement set. How much did it cost you to use Toyota's FICD setup. Plug and play as well?

Stuck with gunk? You mean like dirt, oil those kind of things?

yep the ficd setup is much simpler, no stepper motors or brittle gears (to my knowledge at least)
am not sure how much it cost because it was done long ago (should be way cheaper than a stepper motor). its not really a plug and play item, some 're-hose-ing/piping' needed, then you need to install wire it all nicely and all that.

the gunk should be oil and dirt i guess, never seen whats inside so im not that sure @_@

I still struggling with isc setup. Need to find my Pomen, use his scantool to position isc to middle and set idle rpm from BISS screw. As I read from googling. No time....

Sounds very complicated.

Does this mean that your dashboard got no lights and rear tail lights are not working also?

yep the ficd setup is much simpler, no stepper motors or brittle gears (to my knowledge at least)
am not sure how much it cost because it was done long ago (should be way cheaper than a stepper motor). its not really a plug and play item, some 're-hose-ing/piping' needed, then you need to install wire it all nicely and all that.

the gunk should be oil and dirt i guess, never seen whats inside so im not that sure @_@

So this FICD thing is like modifying the throttle body to accommodate it?

Sounds very complicated.

Does this mean that your dashboard got no lights and rear tail lights are not working also?

So this FICD thing is like modifying the throttle body to accommodate it?

i guess you could say that...?
this site shows you how it can be installed into your car, i dont think its really difficult, just need the materials to do the job.
http://www.diytacra.com/2010/11/ficd-fast-idling-control-device.html

just realized, in your case, i think there is none of that expensive stepper motor nonsense. (mine makes use of that silly stepper motor)
http://www.diytacra.com/2014/03/idle-speed-control-gear-kit.html

haha electrical issues.... if its an old car, check grounding, always check grounding! actually depending on the light setup, you can make a clever deduction based on what works and what doesnt...
an example, do all 3 brakes work? usually the tail light brakes+rear lights share the same grounding BUT the 3rd brake light does not... so if only the 3rd brake light works, its probably just the grounding
many many combinations of what works and does not, best if you know the wiring diagram for your car as well...

Yup, cant drive at night...hahaha

How about brake lights? No one in Penang can fix this?

i guess you could say that...?
this site shows you how it can be installed into your car, i dont think its really difficult, just need the materials to do the job.
http://www.diytacra.com/2010/11/ficd-fast-idling-control-device.html

just realized, in your case, i think there is none of that expensive stepper motor nonsense. (mine makes use of that silly stepper motor)
http://www.diytacra.com/2014/03/idle-speed-control-gear-kit.html

Looks more simple than I thought. :biggrin:

I can get my Pomen fix it. Saja wanna try until give up. Until sweat my pants. Hehehe....

haha electrical issues.... if its an old car, check grounding, always check grounding! actually depending on the light setup, you can make a clever deduction based on what works and what doesnt...
an example, do all 3 brakes work? usually the tail light brakes+rear lights share the same grounding BUT the 3rd brake light does not... so if only the 3rd brake light works, its probably just the grounding
many many combinations of what works and does not, best if you know the wiring diagram for your car as well...

Thanks for the pointer. Will check again on my off day.

Yes. Changed during January. Unless it broke down?

Even if clogged, temperature shouldn't rise up this fast I think. Last year when my radiator was clogged, temperature din't rise up this quickly.

Maybe this time your rad clog more than last time? Or, could it be some water passage in the block or head get clogged up? :confused:

Maybe radiator clogged again but that means it was really quick if it is clogged. Because I already noticed this heating problem a week after I flushed the radiator. During that week, I have driven less than 300km.

If water passage in block or head get clogged up, means need open up the head again. If it is those small water jackets around the block or head, it won't cause overheating this quickly isn't it unless all of them are clogged.

Jut plonk in new thermostat and try loh.......:driver:

I need to highlight this to my mechanic. Ask him see if it is possible that the thermostat is faulty. Just hope that is the problem and can solve it once and for all...

Can the thermostat be clogged by dirt or stuff like that?

Jut plonk in new thermostat and try loh.......:driver:

Agreed. The chances are low, but it is possible the thermostat is faulty, even if it's a new one. You can take out the thermostat and do this test. Hang it in a pot with a wire, make sure its fully submerged with water. Just tap water will do. Then turn on the stove and watch the thermo slowly open up. If it doesn't, or open partially when the water boils, then its faulty.

attachment.php

• ApHH.jpg
    ApHH.jpg
    52.7 KB · Views: 230
Agreed. The chances are low, but it is possible the thermostat is faulty, even if it's a new one. You can take out the thermostat and do this test. Hang it in a pot with a wire, make sure its fully submerged with water. Just tap water will do. Then turn on the stove and watch the thermo slowly open up. If it doesn't, or open partially when the water boils, then its faulty.

attachment.php

A good test. But, I don't know how to take out the thermostat in my car.

Maybe radiator clogged again but that means it was really quick if it is clogged. Because I already noticed this heating problem a week after I flushed the radiator. During that week, I have driven less than 300km.

If water passage in block or head get clogged up, means need open up the head again. If it is those small water jackets around the block or head, it won't cause overheating this quickly isn't it unless all of them are clogged.

I need to highlight this to my mechanic. Ask him see if it is possible that the thermostat is faulty. Just hope that is the problem and can solve it once and for all...

Can the thermostat be clogged by dirt or stuff like that?

When you say you had the radiator flushed is what? Like what we do DIY style, or your mechanic took out, open top and bottom cover of the radiator and clean the radiator internals? That is the proper way to clean a clogged radiator.....:driver:

wait.. you can do that?? always thought all one did was pump through it with MOAR PRESSURE... powerrr!!!!

Usually workshop will send the radiator to radiator specialist to replace top & bottom cover & clean the internal like what sifu vr2 said...you can request ur mech to send it in for you

Need tools also......lol

Don't think I have the proper tools or the skill to use it.

He send to radiator shop to do it. Before the flushed it, can see the tiny holes/fins inside the radiator is jammed with dirt or something. After the flushed it, they look cleared and clean.