When there is a problem , will Malaysian been able to discuss it openly?

links

Being talking to my friends in China and US. They were saying that Chinese government trying to control the discussion on their people and thus the problem were 'avoided' and swept under the carpet. But in US, they will discuss it openly even its sensitive issue because they want each other to aware there is a problem and we need to resolve it.

So I was thinking, in malaysia do we open enough to accept discussion on the issues which affecting the cultural and misunderstandings on our people?

What do you think? I guess we are more or less same as China, swept things under carpet and pretend it is not happen because everyone was afraid of trouble...

by swepting the problem under the carpet may achieve temporary peace...but it may lead into further problem and tension as time passed....

Hope our culture will become modernize and open discussion with ethics and clear mindset will happen when we face any problem.

I agree, but looks like for us, the G isnt transparent, we dont know who to trust.. This makes the people feel unsecured and they try to make their voices heard.. No matter what it takes..

where is the problem?maybe u could get your answer here bro...

Malaysia - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Internal Security Act (Malaysia) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

and many more...

about how to solve the problem?we are a democratic country (sort of),the vote in your hand may help,although it takes time but no harm to give it a try...if you are not patient enough,you may want to try join this

http://dapmalaysia.org/newenglish/

http://www.keadilanrakyat.org/

or some others you feel good with it

i got problem with how our gov run the country aswell but i choose to wait patiently due many of us see things better or clearer as compared to decades ago (esp after Dr.M came down).

btw,since this is a car forum and although here is general talk section but please don't step across the line of something sensitive (sometimes you don't feel sensitive doesn't means that it's not for others).

well im just a malaysian who wish my country a better place to stay (soon) :wavey:

-peace-

Most Malaysians are not at that level to understand things yet. And politic people take the advantage to gain profit from it. Combine other things, when openly discussed, it will be a problem, especially when someone pointed someone and say he/she betray the religion or clan or whatever. But, if we personally sit down and discuss, what also can discuss regardless we are different in what manner. It is not the people cannot accept some sensitive issues being discuss openly. It is the matter of the leaders who cannot accept and turn themselves become the front line whistle blower super hero.

from wat i see...subang has felt shitty after u know who takes over...wheres all the promises...all they do is create blame game like that eff'ed up billboard at taipan junction...they want to take control but after gotten their hands in it they blame the old gang for making shit 'unrepairable'...

Meet the new bos...same shit like the old one...i vote burn all parties down and create a new MCA,MIC,UMNO,PAS,BN...with first rule of party is no old members allowed to be in the party or mentor for the party...

:)

I was about to say something rather pointed about the state of governence of this country but out of deference to 5115's anxieties, I will refrain from being completely unrestrained with my views.

But even here, from the very nature of 5115's reaction, you can see for yourself the extent of a citizen's perception of this G.

Put simply, people are fearful of speaking out on the wrongdoings within this country because they are afraid to be hauled off to jail for merely saying things that get on the sensitivity of the Government. And hence, that is why it is perfectly understandable that your moderator prefer to be discretional and register his dissatisfaction quietly in his vote during the next genral election.

csl,

I would not agree completely that Malaysians are not on the level that they do not understand things sufficiently to have a meaningful discussion. I would say the Malaysians are probably more perceptive and self-aware now than they have ever been. The results of the last election bears this out. And there's also no stopping the speed of the internet in distributing uncensored news.

No, people are not talking not because they don't understand the issues. People are not talking because they are afraid what they say will land them in jail.

So make your vote count in the next election.

If you this thread is pointing at something that happened recently, I can tell you, don't care about it, just treat it as common snatch thief level is enough. Why? Because in today's politic in our country, you will never know who done it. People watched too much movies that similar to Infernal Affair (Infernal Affairs - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia) till know how to use counter against counter technique. What we need to do is fck it. Since this thing shouldn't use law to solve it, we should just wait and obey the order of the one who stated on Rukun Negara's 2nd line. Either 1 side have to let go. Just hope all people who involved with the wording thing will understand, the thing they believed is strong not because its power, but it is the forgiveness, kindness and peacefulness teaching that come from it. I believe most of both sides believers are started to learn about it since kid time. Sad to see the lesson that teach them to be a good man had failed.

Besides the gov, we, as a parent, as a friend, as a partner, have the responsibility to tell people who involved should spend some times and go back to the root to review what had been learn for these years. The mighty one will not be betrayed, but the leaders who used the peoples will.

I don't believe or belong in any party. I only believe I need to work harder today to secure my job and end of the month will have my salary to buy food for my family. Life is simple, so don't make it so complicated and suffer for it.

---------- Post added at 08:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:28 PM ----------

I was about to say something rather pointed about the state of governence of this country but out of deference to 5115's anxieties, I will refrain from being completely unrestrained with my views.

But even here, from the very nature of 5115's reaction, you can see for yourself the extent of a citizen's perception of this G.

Put simply, people are fearful of speaking out on the wrongdoings within this country because they are afraid to be hauled off to jail for merely saying things that get on the sensitivity of the Government. And hence, that is why it is perfectly understandable that your moderator prefer to be discretional and register his dissatisfaction quietly in his vote during the next genral election.

csl,

I would not agree completely that Malaysians are not on the level that they do not understand things sufficiently to have a meaningful discussion. I would say the Malaysians are probably more perceptive and self-aware now than they have ever been. The results of the last election bears this out. And there's also no stopping the speed of the internet in distributing uncensored news.

No, people are not talking not because they don't understand the issues. People are not talking because they are afraid what they say will land them in jail.

So make your vote count in the next election.

Most Malaysian are not matured or knowledgeable to discuss sensitive things. Put aside the factor of personal EQ, most people just know how to protect their 'thing' or rights. They don't know and don't dare to let go own thing for better overall gain. Simple example like fuel price, who will agree that we should not subsidy the fuel anymore? I believe 99.9999% will not agree and at least 2% will start riot and complaining fuel price high. How many can see the big picture? Everyone just can see they need to pay more and may need to sacrifice the luxuries. No one is gonna sacrifice for the fure generations. No one will dare to take the bet with their free lunch.

This issue is not exceptional.

1 side die die also wanna use. Another side die die also said being offended. What teaching they are having? Why they turned into such an ugly human being that betrayed the mighty one's teaching?

Just hope all people who involved with the wording thing will understand, the thing they believed is strong not because its power, but it is the forgiveness, kindness and peacefulness teaching that come from it. I believe most of both sides believers are started to learn about it since kid time. Sad to see the lesson that teach them to be a good man had failed.

csl,

You cannot appeal to a person's common sense if that person is high and groggy with religious fervour. That is why you should never try talking reason to a religious zealot and expect him to be reasonable because he's mentally incapable of being rational.

Similarly, trying to tell this Government to change for the better is like casting pearls before a swine. They are more worried now for their own political survival then they are of upholding good principles. If sacrificing those principles mean not having to take any action for fear of antagonizing their grassroot voters, then it's probably something they won't change no matter how much we know it is wrong.

Point in fact, your PM just said that he is not going to stop any of the protests despite the potential consequences to public law and order :-

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/121331
Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak today said that the government cannot stop people from gathering at mosques tomorrow to protest against a court decision which had allowed the Christian publication Herald to use to term "------------------".

Funny thing that. Historically, they seem very keen on arresting people on other protests that did not involve the current issue ..............lol.

Ah, well. No matter. Next election not far away. I'm somewhat bummed out though because the stocks have started dipping after a really good rally the last few days and I suspect this unrest is causing the Bursa to be squemish. There you go. This G just cost me some money. Still managed to make a tidy gain though but one wonders if the good run would have been longer had it not been for the latest domestic disturbances

Such thing like 'you small, I let you to have it' or 'you big, I respect you importance' will be difficult to be materialized. How many people still remember the last phrase of Rukun Negara? Google will remind you if your spellings are right :rofl:

---------- Post added at 08:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:50 PM ----------

What he said is correct wor. He cannot order people to do anything in Mosque because the holy place is only for praying or so. Some people bring in some political talk after the praying session by right is illegal according to the general practice. That's why he said he can only control outside the mosque fencing. Ask your muslim friend to ask ustat and see if I'm wrong.

]

What he said is correct wor. He cannot order people to do anything in Mosque because the holy place is only for praying or so. Some people bring in some political talk after the praying session by right is illegal according to the general practice. That's why he said he can only control outside the mosque fencing. Ask your muslim friend to ask ustat and see if I'm wrong.

By the ordinances, you cannot hold a gathering in any public place without obtaining an approved permit from the police or you risk being arrested. Places of worship are public places so there is no special exemption for these locations.

And nothing stopped the G from going after Al Akram and all those other religious cults at their places of worship.

If PM wants to, he is well within his powers to stop the protests in the name of public law and order. So I don't buy the BS about not being able to do anything about it. Show me a truthful politician and I'll show you a live Unicorn....hahah

Put aside the lack of understanding between the culture and religion, as I believe I have more ustat friends than a lot of people and may lead to people saying that I had been brain washed. We just talk about common sense and basic politic. PM is a leader of the country. What he do is gonna effect a lot of people. If he send troops into the mosque, it will lead to massive negative reaction from Muslim. The 1st one to kena is not him but the innocent people on the street. Don't you see how Hisham handle the case? Everything follow procedure according to the law, although I personally think that religion thing should not involved with court. Why not just drop an order to the troops and stop the religion newspaper 1st? Because he knows that if he do something aggressive, again, innocent people on the street will kena 1st. At this moment, no one should do anything aggressive to start a fire. Just like what happen, stupid people start talk at religion place and some low eq guy beh tahan and start doing something stupid. As for us, what's wrong if we go and study and try to understand our different relion friends' feeling? I can tell you, what they feel is no different than asking me to give up my chinese name. It is till that level. It is not because of what is right or wrong, it is because of this is something new to everyone and suddenly difficult to be accepted. No one is fully prepared to accept yet.

There are only 3 way to solve this problem.

1. Either 1 side volunteer to give up.
2. The order from the His Highness.
3. A open discuss TV show like larry king type. Multiple parties, including politic, religion and non issue related party. After that, sms to vote for the supporting like those academi fantasia idol thing (knn, still thinking for making money at this moment :biggrin: ) and accept call and listen to the grass root's feeling. This is the easiest way to make people to accept and people will stuck in front of the TV in stead of go out and listen to some provoking talk. Make a series for 3-4 months, let the heat go down 1st and then announce the final decision of the parliament that with the Highness supporting. Case close once and for all, regardless like it or not. There are a lot of tricks involved but I just don't wanna say too much.

I think better don't critize too much about the G here, otherwise any G ppl read this thread, then they will sue us under ISA. I heard on the radio that the G ppl will be monitoring websites from now on, not sure how true is that.

Don't you see how Hisham handle the case? Everything follow procedure according to the law, although I personally think that religion thing should not involved with court.

Sure bro. You forgot to mention a few more relevant facts

The High Court judge gave a verdict that it was OK for the Herald to use the 'word'.

An appeal was immediately filed by Hishammuddin on behalf of the Federal Govt but without having gone through a full Cabinet sitting....in other words it did not go through the normal channels of Parliamentary vetting. Which simply implied not all parties had been consulted or advised. It means one obvious group in BN went ahead with the appeal and sidelined any need to consult the other partners/component parties in BN. Purportedly BN represent 1Malaysia....'People First, Performance Now'

Let me ask you a really honest question bro and how about you answer me with equal honesty.

As a citizen of Malaysia, do you feel comfortable with a PM who biarkan sajalah. Biarlah pijat kepala lembu, biarlah protest.

200 million Muslim in Indonesia and they don't make an issue for the use of a 'word'. 22+million in this coutry....a little overhalf of that Muslims and all hell breaks lose over a 'word. Merely calling Him by his proper name is to respect him, for nothing respects someone more than to call his name accurately. So what's the big issue if Christians call their God and the Gods of other religions by their proper names ?

If I'm the PM (dreaming la), this sort of things can ask 3rd or 4th level people to handle. I'm a very realistic person. Who win who lost in these type of nonsense is not gonna bring any benefit to the country. We have much more important thing to do. China is joining the Asean free trade deal you know I know. Is this an opportunity or a danger, who the fck knows? We need to prepare ourselves for this, from home country economy structure, culture till foreign relationship, non can be left aside. US dollar still remain low, how we are going to manage the reserved fund? Let them rot is it? Population is growing, how to create more job opportunity, as already absorb more than 200k persons into the gov? The private remaining slow....

When people talk about name, pride, wtf is that? If we can't focus on the real world, we will be flush away by the big wave. A lot of people like to talk about zimbawee, yes, if we keep on our jolly with all the subsidies, we no doubt will become one.

Hisham has no choice. He have to do it as per the defend of the order from his department. When the ministry gave the hint, some people don't understand and refuse to accept the fact, here come the problem. And as per the limited time for responding, if I'm him, I'll say no 1st then think about if I can say ok later on. It will be easier than say ok 1st then apologize and pull back what had been approved. The other thing need to take count is the overall responds from the majority people. No data how to process? If the situation allow, nothing happen, approve also no big deal. But if got few hundreds thousand people that have potential to start a giant riot, then need to think a way to hold it 1st. The pressure is not only from the mosque that simple. Foreign people are looking into this issue as well. This also cannot that also cannot, it is not that easy to say yes or no like choosing value meal at McD. He had lost plenty of supports due to his polite way of handle this case. That's why people went to the mosque and start their own fight. In politics, it is not about right or wrong. It is it is gonna work or not. As long as you can maintain the situation, you still have chance to correct it. If you lost control, you'll never get back any chances.

Whom and what we are dealing with? 1 side die die also not gonna let go, another side willing to die for the pride. The situation is not allow to have extra minute for tea break. WHat you are gonna answer? As I say before, if you are the boss, no 1st then think about it. But if you are a kuli, then yes 1st later on and see how.

Do you think it is worth it, innocent rakyat's lifes + economy retract minimum 20 years + country reputation + other few more hundreds things in the exchange of a truth that bring no itch no pain to the future people? And, right now, do we have such luxury resources to be wasted for this type of thing?

That's why I said, we are generally not good enough to discuss such thing openly. Everyone is only focus on their own-immediate benefit. The point of view is only limited to themselves. Anything goes wrong, it is the gov, it is other people. How many people will accept or even go & think about the consequences?

There is nothing wrong to defend the truth. But need to see if the situation allowed. You can have a long fight as long as you still have the chance. Be smart, not stubborn.

Now everything is about Money ... 'G' officers don't really want to know about all this just as long as their pocket is deep ... Bribery is everywhere nowadays ...

By name only Democratic Country .. put pull one stunt and thats it ... bungkus ur ass and get ready to face ISA ...

Politics is dirty .. no matter which party takes over .. same shit gonna happen again ... :thefinger:

to me...well why did H**ald suddenly wanna make the 'term' now when muslims around the globe has been using it since camels and camelots...its fair game if the bibles mentioned the term but problem is it doesnt...i might be wrong but i dont think it is ever mentioned the said word in the bible does it?...to a muslim 'Allah' is One...not born nor gave birth/have a child...that alone is different between the two religion's teaching about Him...so why now and why Allah? in my opinion the newspaper should just drop the whole case and continue like what its been doing before...

2ndly...for any parties to stop instigating the already volatile issues...this past years all i see is that all farked up...yes I MEAN ALL...farked up parties are too busy pointing fingers and making current situation as chances to attack others...instead of doing what the citizen wants and expect them to do...serve the country and Msians...

Mr Buttfuck, Mr FaceStepper, Mr HotModelBomb, Mr UnkleGoat can go fuck off...

it saddened me at what this cuntry has turned into...so fucking ashamed of it...we malaysians are always proud of our own country and it's peace...we dont get bombs,molotov,riots,military coup like what our neighbours are facing...but now?...we'll be playing the same tune like they did...

Do you think it is worth it, innocent rakyat's lifes + economy retract minimum 20 years + country reputation + other few more hundreds things in the exchange of a truth that bring no itch no pain to the future people? And, right now, do we have such luxury resources to be wasted for this type of thing?....There is nothing wrong to defend the truth. But need to see if the situation allowed. You can have a long fight as long as you still have the chance. ........Be smart,not stubborn[/B]

I understand what you are saying.

Your thoughts are interesting because they are the thoughts of someone who wish for peace and harmony but in order for you to be left at peace, you are willing to tolerate extremism in your midst and you are willing to tolerate a government who does not have the steadfastness to fight for all your rights under the Malaysian Consitution. Literally and by implication, you are saying this :-

1. In order for the G to rein in the excesses of their own people, it would mean people's lives and the country's economy will be threatened and destroyed. Hence, the G effectively is not in a position to ensure a stable country if it also wants to enforce the laws and gave full protection to all rights of all citizens. In order to have a stable country, some rights and laws will have to be ignored. The G should choose the better of two evils.

......Agree with the interpretation so far ? Ok let's continue.......

2. Taking affirmative action to restore public order and confidence has an inherent risk, because the BN's grassroots support may be angered. Therefore the easier option would be to refrain from tackling the issue in any substantive manner.

3. You prefer that your citizenship rights to be considered as a Malaysian who is allowed to practice religion freely without subjugation and animosity from any particular group be placed on a secondary footing. As long as these groups do not threaten you directly, it won't matter how much they slur your rights and religion. In the name of peace, you won't want the G to take up the issue on your behalf whenever your rights as a Malaysian citizen is slurred.

I think that pretty much sums up what you are saying.

And I think also, that's what Badawi did.....or.......more accurately, did not do.

He did not take affirmative action to stop the animosity and the extremism. Just let it slide and maybe hopefully, it will all......just....go....away.

Funnily enough though........... Completely opposite to what you are suggesting, I would have thought that if a Government was one that is not afraid to stand for good principles and for the good people (and good people includes the majority of Malays and Muslims who are peace-loving), it would seem a firm and principled Government willing to enforce the peace would inspire more confidence, more stability and hence more commerce.

As it is, you prefer the opposite type of governance....one that compromises on affirmative action in the hopes of getting re-elected. That's a contradiction right there in itself...because lacking the firmness to uphold principles may very well be the one thing that will stop them from getting re-elected.

There is nothing wrong to defend the truth. But need to see if the situation allowed. You can have a long fight as long as you still have the chance. Be smart,not stubborn

That's the difference between you and me. You are resigned to the thought that there is no chance to actually have a firm and fair Government and still come out on top as a nation. Without daring to even hope for a better governance, without having even tried, you see the only valid realisitc option is to cut losses.

Brother........you have already given up.

You have already given up the thought of working with your fellow citizens to bring in a better government. You are not even encouraging the present Government to be better. You are encouraging them to .....not.... do..... anything.

I'm just very sad to read what you wrote. I hope that when things really come down to the wire,the citizens who would stand side by side for a better tomorrow would be people having more belly than worrying about their own sense of survival.

Well, I have said as much as I want to say on this topic. There is no point walking a horse to the river and beating it to death if it does not want to drink.

There is one last thing.

You are very right when you say "Most Malaysian are not matured or knowledgeable to discuss sensitive things."

You yourself have just demonstrated that aspect to me so clearly. You are of course entitled to your opinion....as I am equally entitled to mine.

I tell you honestly har, I never heard christian use the same name until recent case. But I know muslims use it at least 5 times a day. So, after this case came out, we study and know it was used by christian and jews too. So, telling people who don't know and using it for 5 times a day@ few decades that the name they are calling is actually the same person with other religion ar? High educated or high EQ one maybe will listen and find out the truth and try to understand. But not everyone is like that. Some may think wtf, are you questioning the 'corrective-ness' of my religion? Are you trying to challenge my religion or what? We must have the data to refer to, how many can accept, how many cannot accept, and etc. If got 200L of fuel, 4 zippo and 50ml of water around you, it is not worth to try something funny mar. In this issue, time is really not enough besides communication failure. They just straight go to the court and make things become big. Maybe they only believe in truth and think the world is so simple. Not sure if the wall is hard and straight hammer own head onto it :biggrin: They should use the media like internet to spread the question 1st, let people to find the answer themselves (I think I don't need to write down every single details). After got some feedback data, then decide if want to self sacrifice for others' peaceful life or continue to fight for the truth or still need more time for turn the situation favor to their side (educate people) before putting the final blow. Now attracted some extremist join the game. Making some people cannot live peacefully. Is that they never predicted this will happen, or they actually giving all out even though may sacrifice innocent life for defending the so call 'rights' to use the word. Religion is beautiful but when got wrong interpretation, it will become quite ugly. When use it to full fill own urges (nafsu), it will be a disaster. This thing happened from don't know how many centuries ago. Bloods keep on dripping till today (from long long before the knights templar era, to the 9-11, small case don't talk la). We had never learned the lesson. WTF people is fighting for? When talk about own benefit, what god had taught can be left aside, can be forgotten.

Niabeh, we have so many religion in this country and all religion also teach people to do good thing. And now we are fighting for a name, until got people throw bottle with flammable liquid. If you are a person who loyal to your religion, how the fck you want me to respect your religion, when you don't know how to appreciate the peaceful we have in Malaysia, especially it is about time to prepare for my CNY :biggrin: Leaders had stood on the stage and ask for stop. Time to get back to the bible and study from the 1st page and revise what had you missed. If the religion is defending the peacefulness of human life, don't start a fight, in stead, should forgive other's fault. If the religion is defending the truth, don't stop the truth for revealing itself (don't stop people for questioning). 1 don't start and 1 don't stop, life become wonderful :rofl: If can try to understand other religion, that will even better.

To FVel:

"The effectiveness is not measure by how firm, it is measure by the results with the time factor that allowed" by CSL-ZTH, 10 Jan 2010

"Data does not lie", (check the crowd who gather at the mosque.)

I don't limit myself to certain thing or category. When talk about something serious, we need to have complete data. If no data, then need to do simulation. Besides from the grass root level of feeling, we need to put in the politic factor. We have multiple races and religion too. You can tell people to listen to you. But end of the day, it is all depend on if they accept. Normally most people will use the general-agreed thing or most-people-dreamt-of thing as a stand point. But for me, I like to use the real situation as base and study why they are not using other options available. What is the bad or good, and what is the solution. Of cause, sometimes add some personal feeling too. I believe fact is in what we are living with and we cannot subtract the fact factor. You know the culture is like that and cannot be changed overnight just like drying off a carbon kevlar model from a mold. You pour your hope into something is not wrong. But you cannot just ignore the fact, the fact that politic leaders still need to take care of the majority voters' feeling, the fact that there are many voters in this country are not that open minded when talk about something, and the fact there are a lot of factors that never thought by us. My purpose is to share my view and hope people can see from multiple angle. Sometimes does poke some people for special purpose :biggrin: But I won't do something to encourage the gov or whatever, as I believe they have their system and if the system can be effect by encouragement or failure rate, then the system seems to be not worth to talk about. A lot of thing happen may just be a smoke screen. You and me will not know the truth but can only do some surface analysis and use the chance to spread some good social value to people (plenty of people know only blame the gov but self not doing anything for improvement. Even the grass grow fast and car cannot start are gov fault :rofl: ).

I don't limit myself to certain thing or category. When talk about something serious, we need to have complete data. If no data, then need to do simulation. Besides from the grass root level of feeling, we need to put in the politic factor. We have multiple races and religion too. You can tell people to listen to you. But end of the day, it is all depend on if they accept.

LOL Abstract to the point of being hilarious.

What 'simulation' do you suggest we do ? Exactly what are you simulating and on what platform do you run the 'simulation' ? A computer ? Are you simulating if 'X' number of people feel this way, then the result will be 'Y' incident happening.

You do understand what I mean when I label you 'Abstract', don't you ?

Ok, I'll play along with your little gem of an idea.

First of all I have no idea ofwhat you mean by going out and collect the 'data'. For that matter, I doubt you yourself have the faintest idea about the practicality of how you are actually suppose to collect this so called 'data'......which as it happens, you have conveniently left undefined without any specifics. How is the data is to be collected ? What criteria will you use to vet the opinions ? From which particular demograhic of the population will you collect this data ? Will you rank various opinion based purely on subjectivity or would a person's background, education, political leanings, etc have a bearing ? Will a person of a particularly sensitive nature and who is easily given to bigotry and emotional outbursts be proferred an equal ranking to one who is well-learned and moderate ? Naturally, those who shout the loudest tends to drown out all other opinions. So will your 'data' reflect this accurately ??

Suppose you collect the 'data' to gauge the nation's feelings and it happens that 'data' tells you some people are pissed off, some are not, some are undecided. So based on this 'data', where will you draw your 'imaginary line' that tells you when it is OK, or not OK, to take affirmative action ?

See what I'm saying ? You are just being abstract and obtuse. Your statement of using the real world as your laboratory of study and data collection sounds very smart but short of actually having any substantive value.

Most of all, it has no 'timely' value.

By timeliness it means that basically, while Motolov cocktails are being flung around, religious symbols are being desecrated, protests ongoing, and unity is being strained, you will adopt a non-committal response until you have your 'data'....My God, brother, if we depend on you in an emergency, dah mampoi lah kita semua.

And if your 'data' happens to tell you 'Biarkan saje lah', what then ? No need to do anything lah.

You can tell people to listen to you. But end of the day, it is all depend on if they accept.

All we are telling people to do is to use their God-damn common sense. We are merely telling them that the mere use of a word should not be cause for rioting and hooliganism. Because it is patently ridiculous and immature that people can be so fragile emotionally that they work themselves into a frenzy over the mere mention of just one word. And in all proper context, the word was quoted in the Herald to refer to the deity in a respectful manner. The Herald did not insult Him, or denigrate Him. They merely refer to Him in his proper name....and that is respect. But still people rioted ? For fuck knows what were they angry, I have no idea.

We have multiple races and religion too.

That is true but does that mean you have to go out of your way to placate every emotionally fragile idiot who has a hair-trigger disposition to firebomb you just on account of race and religion ?

That is zealotry and bigotry, my friend. And it's NOT something you should consider placating, because there is no middle ground where such extremism can exist where everyone is happy. For sure we have different races and religions and we must appreciate each other for the diversity. But.....BUT....if you think it's allright to ask the opinion of a zealot and pander to his whims because he happened to be part of our nation's diversity ?

Data does not lie

You and data .......lol

If you want real world data, all you need to do is look back a couple of years when Dr.M was in charge. The Old Man may not have been right all the time. He's got a ton of flaws and imperfection but he kept a firm hand in the running of this country. And what was the result ? People voted BN in with a landslide victory. And why would anyone do that if people had not been confident with his firm hand in running the nation.

When the Old Man retired, you get a bunch of politicians succedding him who were not committal on issues......probably waiting for your fabled 'data' before deciding howto jump. What was the result ? BN lost a lot of support in the last elections.

So you wait lah...for your precious data to tell you how to act ...for sure you inspire confidence.

wah ,sa competition again har.

btw malaysia veli open discussion for worldwide to discuss, if u know what i mean :stupid::rofl::rofl: