abflug34

white smoke...no boost!!! HELP!!!

my wife is driving mira L5 turbo

and the prolem is...

white smoke appears at exaust mufler.

when accelerating.. no boost coming:confused_smile:just like a NA engine

and the smell something burning in my cockpit. just sometime not always

im just changing stock IC piping to stainless.

headcrack?turbo kong?piston ring cracks?valve seal?

thanx all sifu

most probably the turbin was dead!!! check ur air filter box. is it dirty with oil....? if yes find the new rhf3 one!!
if the air filter is clean.....maybe internal engine problem.....:)

im running open.. take out the air filter boz..maybe something has went into my compressor housing. when accleration my turbine not fucntioning. ..no spooling also..
anyway than guys for your reply..i really appreciated it so much!!>..

i think maybe the turbin shaft no working n it stuck........try operate the housing turbin n u may find something interesting inside there!

guys....need some advise.....

i getting white smoke during slightly higher rpms.......it doest happen when i flooring down the gas pedal.....but it happens when i lift off.....so wat does dis mean ?

on idling nothing wrong woh.....only on high gears high rpm.....is dat something doing with oil seal on turbo or piston rings.....hmmm........

yes ....i believe it could be the turbo seal..........

how to change this is this very difficult to replace ? or meaning i need to change the entire turbo ? or just servicing on it ?

wat will happen if i delay the service ? ( coz now still CNY ....dun think any service workshop has open yet )

will it harm the fins or the shaft ?

I notice last time how hard i step....the turbo timer is barely even 2 mins or slightly more.....now its always at the maximum time....even after warming the car up !!! say if i set it to 3 min...it will be 3 min full...4 min...then it be 4 min full

Leaving that alone will cause your engine oil to run low ... dangerously low.... The TT is at high maybe cause it detects to much emission from your exhaust (if using O2 sensor)....

The turbo will also deteriorrate faster .....

u check ur engine oil, if it reduces alot then i believe there is a need to either u change the whole thing or recond the turbo....if the smoke is not too bad... then dun give it a damm and whack till the whole thing really kong....if u are using those common turbine, then u dun need to even consider about repairing...bcuz another set of complete turbine is easy to get and i believe the price is cheap.... recond a turbine will cost around 1k plus include those shaft,seal and balancing... but i doubt the balancing skills that they had...maybe they reli hav...but i still believe the manufactured one r the common problem free unit..

unless u are running on expensive turbine like those gt3000 series or those huge t70,t78 ,t88 like then u should consider recond the whole thing as used unit for this kind of turbo is not easy to get....and the price are expensive though

how do u determine....SMOKE IS NOT TOO BAD ?? it burns up the engine oil rite ?

I think he means if the smoke is not too much.... then u would have a bit more time before TEBABO....