Why are DVDs so much more expensive than VCDs?

si|verfish

Not the pirated kind, ok :P. Original ones, sold in authorised outlets.

Is there a specific reason other than the fact that the audio and visual quality is better? Does it cost so much more to produce a DVD compared to a VCD?

Are we consumers being ripped off and milked? Simply because we don't mind paying the extra ringgits for said "quality".

Hmmm...

if ori's DVD..

dvd are in better quality and has larger amount of space which would allow to store more features like trailers,cast and crew,the making...and many more...

other than that DVD are better as in the sound and visual quality.
DVD have 5.1 DTS/DD and 2.1 stereo.

while VCD ae much poorer in its visual as well as audio...VCD is genuiely just steroo and the pixels of the visual are smaller yet result of blur images.

When you said so much more, how much is too much?

In addition to alantan's reply, the resolution for DVD is 720 x 480 whereas VCD is only 320 x 240.

You can zoom into a DVD scene where you can't do that in VCD.

Of course, you'll think it's a rip off if you watch it with 2 speakers and a small TV. :rolleyes:

Get a decent Home Theatre System and you'll see the difference ;)

More Info : http://www.digital-digest.com/dvd/articles/pcdvd_guide9.html

Originally posted by MK84@Jan 13 2005, 19:11
When you said so much more, how much is too much?
Different audio, subtitles and alternate ending (what i can think of now). ;)

hmm... usually the DVDs would have features such as: commentary, deleted scenes, trailers, bloopers, etc etc as mentioned before. better AV quality as well compared with a VCD. Some of them have alternate camera angles as well; you can also zoom in, can choose to skip scenes, etc.

probably the first thing that catches the eye is the opening, before the main menu. they have some sort of 'menu opening scene'.

as an example the Lord of the Rings DVD extras explains in detail how they chose and designed costumes, weapons specific for each race, they show the miniatures, monster models that they used, footage of areas they filmed, how the production is done etc.

not to forget, those 100 to 200 ringgit DVD copies are fully imported, meaning to say they're actually meant to sell only at the states. the local DVDs means for asia or malaysia market are significantly cheaper at 59 to 100 depending on titles. i think the imported ones normally have more content and extras than the local ones.

on the other hand, prices of DVDs are getting cheaper too. its probably due to the popularity that its gaining and more people are producing DVDs and there's more supply and competition. the same goes to VCD's. i use to buy fake vcds for like RM35 and guess how much it cost now.

aiyo, wait longer until another new technology come out then dvd price will drop loh.. then, vcd will take the place of tape....

Just adding a bit here...

A typical DVD is able to store 4 gigabytes as opposed to a CD, which only holds 700-800MB. A dual layered DVD is able to store up to 9 gigs too. ;)

I prefer DVDs any time to VCDs... reason for quality and lots of interactive features.

I do purchase original Region 1 DVDs from Amazon.com every now and then (esp. during the holidays or special promotion). Never bought any Region 3 DVDs from Tower Records or Speedy (not interested in the FINAS certification crap).

Cut it short, if you are a movie buff, buy DVDs...

If you want porn with multi-angle support (up, down, side, top, bottom), buy DVDs... :P

Otherwise, stick with DivX. :lol:

Originally posted by acbc@Jan 13 2005, 23:36
I prefer DVDs any time to VCDs... reason for quality and lots of interactive features.

I do purchase original Region 1 DVDs from Amazon.com every now and then (esp. during the holidays or special promotion). Never bought any Region 3 DVDs from Tower Records or Speedy (not interested in the FINAS certification crap).

Cut it short, if you are a movie buff, buy DVDs...

If you want porn with multi-angle support (up, down, side, top, bottom), buy DVDs... :P

Otherwise, stick with DivX. :lol:
hmm.. i've never watched dvd porn b4... good stuff ka?

I got DVD from times square 3rd floor selling RM10 for 3 piece.. bought LOTR except return of the king n oso matrix revolution n reloaded.. n oso other movies.. worth it la.. clear n nice n i got no complaint much on it.. worth it.. but my personal opinion is m'sia wanna wipe off piracy n 1st thing they gotto look at it is they shud reduce de price much more further but problem is too many parties wanna masok pocket for the $$$ so i think they won't be able to curb all dis issue la.. well my 2 cent B)

Regards,
Mike

Woohoo, replies....finally.

You see my point is that how much more does it cost to produce a DVD as opposed to a VCD? Is the premium we are paying worth it? Anyway, the replies I got from you guys is what I half expected anyway. Happy to pay for the extra goodies they dump inside.

And one guy hit the nail on the head when he said, DVDs will become cheapers when some better technology comes along. Why would it become cheaper? Did DVDs suddenly become cheaper to make? NO. Its because some new technology here gives out better Audio and Visual quality and we can charge a premium for it and idiots will still pay for it. And lets throw in some freebies inside since theres so much space just to "sweeten" the deal. :rolleyes:

Well, if you appreciate a DVD from the cost of material, you better stick to VCD instead :rolleyes:

Look that is exactly the kind of attitude which encourages companies to increase their profits in increasingly creative ways. Like Maybank charging, or at least trying to charge customers RM1 every month for fun. :rolleyes:

the difference is that banks save more money by encouraging Internet banking, by reducing rentals due to less needed floor space, etc etc. so charging RM1 for something that already saves them money is just them trying to cash in extra on the convinience, which is a sly move. they should be encouraging people to use IB instead of deterring them by charging extra.

So are using DVDs. They are actually sticking what they would have to stick into multiple CDs into one DVD, for movies that is. DVDs are like 50 to 100 Ringgit while VCDs are like 10 to 30 Ringgit. Thats like a big difference. I don't think you need that much more to press a DVD. Unless theres something else into the costs of producing DVDs which I don't know of whereby I hope someone will point out to me. I heard DVDs are particularly more expensive by relative comparison in Malaysia against other countries.

How much does it cost to produce a DVD? Isn't it more expensive than videotape, laserdisc, and CD-ROM?

Videotape, laserdisc, and CD-ROM can't be compared to DVD in a straightforward manner. There are basically three stages of costs: production, pre-mastering (authoring, encoding, and formatting), and mastering/replication.

DVD video production costs are not much higher than for VHS and similar video formats unless extra features of DVD such as multiple sound tracks, camera angles, seamless branching, etc. are employed.

Authoring and pre-mastering costs are proportionately the most expensive part of DVD. Video and audio must be encoded, menus and control information have to be authored and encoded, it all has to be multiplexed into a single data stream, and finally encoded in low level format. Typical charges for compression are $50/min for video, $20/min for audio, $6/min for subtitles, plus formatting and testing at about $30/min. A ballpark cost for producing a Hollywood-quality two-hour DVD movie with motion menus, multiple audio tracks, subtitles, trailers, and a few info screens is about $20,000. Alternatively, many facilities charge for time, at rates of around $300/hour. A simple two-hour DVD-Video title with menus and various video clips can cost as low as $2,000. If you want to do it yourself, authoring and encoding systems can be purchased at prices from $50 to over $2 million.

Videotapes don't really have a mastering cost, and they run about $2.40 for replication. CDs cost about $1,000 to master and $0.50 to replicate. Laserdiscs cost about $3,000 to master and about $8 to replicate. As of 2003, DVDs cost about $1000 to master and about $0.70 to replicate. Double-sided or dual-layer discs cost about $0.30 more to replicate, since all that's required is stamping data on the second substrate (and using transparent glue for dual layers). Double-sided, dual-layer discs (DVD-18s) are more difficult and more expensive

Aiyo DVD expensive meh??
DVD dts9 RM4
DVD 5 RM5
DVD 9 RM10
DVD 9double layer RM12
DVD 2 IN 1 RM5
DVD 4 IN 1 RM10

DVD dts lelong 3 DVD RM10

cheap untill they dun need to earn.......cinema belum buat already have at DVD

copy cat boleh