Will LSD affect fuel consumption

thanks for the discussion and comments....appreciate it......

just wanna add with another question...could you comment on the gearbox fluid that your using. wat is suitable for c56 gearbox with LSD??

If for daily driving, Pennzoil (the yellow bottle), Toyota (the black bottle) or other brand that stated 'for LSD' or 'LSD compatible' will do...but if u r a serious racer, alwiz tarik2 in track, hi-end brand like Torco, motul, Q8 etc are advisable....dont pour it juz for seronok2 aje coz it a waste of money coz it aint cheap...juz my 2 kupang...:driver:

paging for noth1n,t-la and other sifu2 here to enlightened our buddy here including me la...hehehehe

My previous BT 5 speed is with Cusco 2 way full-lock LSD. Used Penzoil yellow bottle LSD oil to track SIC. No problem as track SIC for 6-7 times.

If I am not mistaken, last time 5th gear at highway cruising at 120km is around 4000prm already....

My previous BT 5 speed is with Cusco 2 way full-lock LSD. Used Penzoil yellow bottle LSD oil to track SIC. No problem as track SIC for 6-7 times.

If I am not mistaken, last time 5th gear at highway cruising at 120km is around 4000prm already....

ya lor..mine also cruising at 110km/h around 35xx-37xxrpm...feel my ride quite a fuel guzzler...using TRD LSD,unknown bout whether it's 1way,1.5way or 2way but it has been confirmed got LSD...feel confident when attacking the corners and driving on wet condition

Mine 2 way LSD when turn corner slow, can hear the sound "tak tak tak" very loud, counter counter counter. Kind of embarrasing as ppl think our driveshaft is gone...Lolz...

But when on SIC track, superb corner with no sound at all...And it's really grip & in & out corner is damn good...:biggrin:

thanks, for the info....i think i will try motul or liqui moly........yes....i m sensing my AE111 also being a fule guzzler

just wanna add with another question...could you comment on the gearbox fluid that your using. wat is suitable for c56 gearbox with LSD??

im no sifoo but just want to share wht type of LSD oil im using...
c56 + 1.5 lsd = using redline...superb, change gear smooth... selling 1l/ per bottle
C160 + 1.5 lsd = using motul..also nice...and selling 2l/per bottle
if u are using full lock better get a proper lsd gear oil cz its differ with the 1.5...my fren using redline for c160 full lock..cz its said on the manual for the used of full lock...
as we all knw lsd is kinda expensive so better usd proper oil for longer lasting usage..

happy motoring :)

wei t-la, share la your movie that shows how/what if the gearbox is equipped with after market final drive here. sure many people would like to see it.
wei...i only make video if i get paid, u wanna pay me ka? i giv u full hd one.. hahaha

yea yea i know final drive can retain...

but often ppl install LSD for motorsport use would likely fit shorter final drive (bigger ratio) for improved acceleration especially in gymkhana/rally/tight circuit......

thus explaining why i said "most"...maybe i shud replace it with "some" :adore:
no doubt. 100% agree. thats what we call 'advance user's :evil:.

no komen, most if the trusted brand is good.

Bought a new Kaaz LSD and replace the stock Helican Torsen in my C160 .. no diff in fuel comsumption ..

Sifu out there, if my understanding is correct, there is no such thing as "full lock" LSD right? I mean no matter what LSD it is, be it 1way, 1.5way or 2way, it will still slip... which is why it is still called "Limited Slip Differential".

AFAIK, only those welded (or custom) differential on RWD drift cars are full lock type.

If this is right, I hope others will understand bout LSD and there's no such thing as full lock LSD. Thanks...

i believe 2way lsd also full lock.... :adore:

So that means 2way LSD is full lock? By right the term "full lock" is referring to a differential that has "no slip". Then it should be called no-slip differential, not limited slip differential... hmmmm ... :hmmmm:

even it was full lock...there was still some allowable slip if not mistaken....in percentage of actual power transfered i think....

if 100% lock like welded diff maybe???? :biggrin:

2way a.k.a full lock means its either u accelerate (power on) or decelerate (power off) the left and right wheel still locked by the LSD....

while 1 way lsd only lock during acceleration..but not during deceleration (returns to normal differential got no lock)...

1.5 way lsd lock during acceleration AND deceleration....but during deceleration the lock "strength" was less compared during acceleration...

and in addition...aftermarket LSD some of those setup can be changed from 2way or 1.5way??

correct me if i'm wrong... :adore:

(*deep in my mind telling me another description about "lock" term in LSD was actually "how much power different that the diff allow to slip between left and right driveshaft/tyre") ...dunnow which one was tru :biggrin:

Bro pomen GTR, I see u understand how the LSD works and if u checked most of the LSD manufacturer's website, they never used the term "full lock" unless its about off-road LSD. If you search in Google for "full lock LSD", you'll understand why most of the results are from Malaysian based website coz mostly us Malaysians use the term full lock LSD. :hmmmm:

Yes, I know that 2way will lock the differential during accel and decel, but should we be calling it "full lock"? Coz for cruising, parking or even reversing, I believe the differential will not be locked. So it doesn't lock up the differential all the time, hence I think it shall not be called "full lock".

Which is why i mentioned earlier that 100% lock aka full lock are those welded diff and off-road diff. Coz these fellas wanted their diffs fully locked 100%, all the time... hehehe

Just my $0.02... =)

thanks for the comment on the choices of fluid....i ve just found out my mech has put in OEM toyota LSD fluid 85w-90 spec. I find it not satisfying, i m thinking of motul competition 75w-140....is there any1 using this spec??will the LSD be more quite when i m cornering on slow speed like in parking lot and u-turn??less juggle??will the gearbox be working more quite???as this what is lacking on the current fluid that i m using..........plz comment....thanks

Dear All toyotarians,

thanks for the all the feedback, as i would like share my final verdict. After some searching, i ve sorted out this issue. I ve putted in Redline lightweight shockproof gear fluid, and my LSD matter has sorted out. Currently, the car runs lighter and no weird noise from my gearbox.

Cheers

Yes, I know that 2way will lock the differential during accel and decel, but should we be calling it "full lock"? Coz for cruising, parking or even reversing, I believe the differential will not be locked. So it doesn't lock up the differential all the time, hence I think it shall not be called "full lock".

Which is why i mentioned earlier that 100% lock aka full lock are those welded diff and off-road diff. Coz these fellas wanted their diffs fully locked 100%, all the time... hehehe

Just my $0.02... =)

I bought a TRD 2way for my AE86, it was totally locked.. no different as welded diff when driving slow beside during high speed taking corner it has less chances of understeering compare to welded diff