wrx sti

Stormvolution 9 said:
crazievitek,

Yo, myself hvnt test drive a WRX b4! But my dad did b4 v decided to go for de STi ver8!!! As what wetsprocket bro said is true, de turbo for WRX spool up faster than de STi version! :_: Yeah oso tht MI r very happy to give u ard of test drive!!! They r very frenly ppl!!! V send out car to MI for servicing too but not modding!!! Knowing from MI, their mgt is trying to bring in more PPP products/upgrade kits to Msia with warranty soon!!! Hurrayyyyyyyyyyy!!! Good newz to all Scooby fans in Msia!!! :regular_smile:

White Scooby looks good too!!! I viewed a white Ver8 STi Spec C in Naza b4 I bought de Silver 1... It was very cool looking!!!

But tht car was total lost (crashed badly - i was being told by another salesperson when i go back for de silver 1) as 1 of Naza salesperson drove de car all de way down to JB for de sales festival there or something... And de worst thing is de salesperson broke both his legs... :sad_smile: I guess de salesperson must b overspeeding insensiby as de car is very easy to go high speed... Too bad!!!

How much does it cost for a normal service at MI? Do you know how much the current cost for the PPP is?

I love white Scooby's. I see a lot of white ones everytime I go down to SG. There are so many Rexes there. Just need to stand beside the street for 5 minutes and you will see at least one passing by.

It's darn nice of your dad to get you the STi. As for me, I'm relying on 3 people to get the car. Me, myself, and I. hahaha....

TOMEI-R said:
Stormvolution 9
Bro....I think I'll heed your advice coz the resale market must be according to the year declared. Anyway, I dont want to have trouble with the Customs ppl next time coz the importer failed to declare the actual value of the car later. Lately there has been lotsa cases involving under declared cars and fake a.ps.

How's your car search going? So far only seen one?

Still looking bro..... have to really find the right one at the right price
my money is really hard earned money u know....all blood, sweat and tears money. What to do..... my daddy cant afford to buy me one. :_: heheh....just joking ok..dont flame me for this
Viewed one used WRX version 7 previously bought from MI. Still Negotiating the price. Dont think I will be getting those WRXs from S.G though.
Anyway...hope to get one soon so that I can join the club.
Oh yeah...how many of u guys are going to the Subaru Gathering this Sunday...if im not mistaken at Naza Showroom in PeeJay?

crazievitek,

Yo bro, damn sorry tht i cant recall exactly how much it cost for a normal service @ MI, but as far as i know their pricing r very reasonable!!! As for PPP, me oso not sure...They mentioned to me once, but i forgot!!! Hehehe... But i do know tht 1 of de MI manager has got this PPP thongy install into his Ver7 come Ver8!!! And de car is always there @ MI, where normally they wil allow u to hv a look too... :_: U can actaully ask de staffs there abt de above Qs when u r heading there for a test drive!!! They r very frenly guys...

Hahaha... As for de Scooby, v bought it actually bcos of my dad lar... Am driving an Evo IX myself now... Then my bozz test drove it n said:' Mmm... I gotta get myself 1 of this car..." Then i told him, if v r to buy another Evo, y not v try on a Scooby... Tht's how v come to Scooby lor... But after buying it, no complaint!!!

Dun ask me what's de different btw Evo IX n de STi Ver8... Hahaha... Been asked by many frens many times liao... :regular_smile: What I can say is both r superb cars!!! Handle well, great pace, well balance, corner KENG!!! Hehehe...

TOMEI-R,

Yo bro, u r right!!! Do not rush into decision... Better tht u get a trouble free car slowly so tht u can enjoy ur ride for de rest of de next few yrs... As everyone know abt de APs thingy lar... Custom ppl r always hard to deal with!!! Happy hunting n hope tht u can get 1 soon too!!!

Hey as for de Subaru club, myself not a member of it... Got quite a no. of Scooby frens oso not belong to de club!!! V jus hang ard ourself... hahaha... But am a member of MLOC for my Evo...

Storm,
you know you're living the life that I can only envision in my wet dreams? Damn man, you have the Evo 9 and STi 8 at your disposal anytime. You are one lucky dawg!

Can't wait to drop by MI when my gf returns to M'sia. I wonder if they are open during CNY week...

So after driving the Evo and the STi, which one do you like to drive more?

crazievitek,

Scooby wil b easier to drive n very comfortable car... As for de Evo, it more racing car like... Stiffer suspension, tighter seats n very responsive (my opinion)!!! But after modding up de Scooby, it bcom a better car to drive... And am in de midst of upgrading de IX... Bought few parts n stil looking for something else, wil instal it all 1 shot...Actually de IX for me mostly wkend car... During working, am driving Mitsu Storm!!!

Not sure when MI wil b open during de CNY... Give them a call n check out!

Anyway, Happy CNY to u n ur family too!!! :_:

Storm,

went to check out the ver 9 STi during the weekend. The car looks really good in real life. I have to admit that I hated the look when I first saw it in magazines. But now, I'm converted already. It's really very nice! Saw an STi Forrester as well with crazy 18" STi rims. Nice nice....

haven't called MI yet, but heard that they will be closed for a few days next week. Hope they are opened end of next week then I can drop by.

One more week to CNY! Hahah... ang pau mari mari... heheh.... Happy CNY to you too (althought still early)!

"Gong Hei Fatt Choi" to all Scooby fans here!!! :_:

How u guys doing during CNY? Hope everyone hv had a good nice break!!! Hehehe...

crazievitek, Yo fren, how u doing man? Been to MI n check out de Ver8 liao? How was it?

TOMEI-R, Hey what abt u man? Any good newz for ur Ver7? Mmm... Didnt go to de Scooby meet up @ Naza PJ, but heard tht it was a nice outing!!! Been to Naza a day b4 CNY, and got some suprised!!! Saw 2 units of Merc SLR!!! Walan eh... this car selling like hot cakes oversea... doesnt really expected to see 1 in Msia... Both r left hand drive... Heard r asking for more than RM 2mil ler!!! :shocked: Besides, saw a Pagani Zonda too... Wah seh man... how come these days Naza can get so many rare super cars ler??? Knowing tht this Zonda actually belong to 1 of de 'Big Big shot's son... Dun play play... Hahaha...

hotspeed, Hey fren, Errr.... really not sure whether do MI sell Ver7 or not... But u can always go to Stars paper or MotorTrader to look for 1, as de pricing for Ver7 is quite reasonable for some cars... Gotta do some research urself b4 buying lar... Especially go test drive n check on de car condition n yr of manufactured!!! Cheers!!!

:regular_smile:

Storm,
Happy CNY man... wah, you took 2 weeks off for the CNY break? Sadly, I've not been able to make it to MI yet. Was too busy visiting friends last week (what to do, got to collect more ang pau to use for my WRX downpayment... hahaha... ). Will try to go there in 2 weeks' time. How's the mod of your Evo9 going? Actually what mods are you doing to it?

Bros.....Saw in the papers .....The Star Classifieds btw....theres a good offer for those looking for A Version 7 STI......Opening Price RM15xk.......very good buy for a version 7 year 2000 UNREGISTERED...anyone checked it out yet?

sti diff from wrx is ain't only the 280hp. a lot of things been upgraded be it the interior to the exterior or even the undercarriage and the powerplant under the hood.

m driving a v7 sti too. is easy to change the outlook to v8 with a cost of around rm10k+

wont regret to pick a sti. ya... 280hp wont make any diff during the massive jam but it will really punches if u r on fast mode when freeway...

havnt driven a wrx b4 but things for sure power and handling sti is rather better..

anyway is a good choice be it wrx or sti is much solid than an evo's... my partner is driving an evo7...just my experience:angel_smile:

Raptorie

I totally agree with u. I've driven both the STI and WRX before. In terms of performance in power and handling...it sort of feels totally like a Souped Up Version and a Standard version. I mean its totally worth paying the extra rm30 to 40 k for The STI version if u can afford it.
The STI even has a Built in Shift Light On the Meter. The STI even comes with a Defi/STI Boost Meter with Defi Controllers Standard with the Car. Correct me if Im wrong because the one I drove has One.
The Horsepower difference is also very significant.
But it all depends on budget. To me a WRX is DAMN GOOD ENOUGH already coz of my budget.

crazievitek,

Hey fren, I only hv a wk long break for CNY ler... Where got 2 wks sooooo nice ah... Hahaha... But damn bz since started work after de break as lotsa things need to follow up... :confused_smile:

As for my Evo, i got myself HKS exhuast, Ralliart filter, Sard BOV n etc... But all oso belum taruk... Bz ler... hahaha... Wil shop for other parts such as ECU, boost controller, fuel regulator n etc for stage 1 mod... Oh yeah, oso looking ard for rims!!! Then only 1 time taruk everything lor... :_: Really bz abt work lately... and seldom drive my baby too... Wanna to work harder for more $$$ so tht can mod my baby nicely n more powerful lor... Hehehe...

Besides, how's ur CNY results? Got win $$$ ah? Hehe... u must b collecting lotsa angpoa liao lor... Sure enough for de Scooby downpayment liao!!!

As for de rigidity of de car chasis btw Scooby n Evo... Errr... How can u know which 1 is more 'solid' than de other? I means how can/ do v compare both? Am driving both cars, but til date oso i cannot 'conclude' or 'feel' which car do hv more solid car chasis... If u take away the Suspension, de Electronic DCCD or ACD/AYC n de sway bars... I dun think v can get to know which car is more rigid... Soli, jus wanna to share n understand more myself n not trying to prove anything... If v take 'cornering' as judging point, things such as different suspension setting, electronic control system n those sway bars can make different to it... n might not b de car chasis rigidity tht v felt... Mmm... need to do more testing in de future...

Cheers!!!

Crazieitek,
Depending on budget bro....the cheapest I saw for the Sti Ver 7 Rite now in The papers is around Rm15Xk...... Saw a few WRXs too.....so still undecided. Theres one year 2000 Version 7 WRX in MotorTrader asking for RM120k Nego.

Stormvolution 9,
Actually is the feel lar bro. The Scoobys measure up in comfort because of its more European Like Chassis Setup. Means that u wont feel the cricking and clicking sound when u run over bumps or potholes etc. The ride is more controlled and solid compared to the Evos.
But then again.....its fast cars we are looking at....who would mind the a little bit of harshness.

TOMEI-R,

Mmm... Hahaha... Normally ppl wil hv bias towards what they luv n like lar... Cos i heard Evo fans said Evo is de best, n oso did got to know from Scooby fans tht Scooby r second to none!!! Hehehe... Actually everytime i drive both this cars, i'll do a comparison myself too... As a conclusion, both cars r excellent cars n they do hv thier own advantages over each other... Myself a big Evo fans... and kinda anti-Scooby b4... but after dad bought de STi n i start driving de car, i started to luv it as well!!! Hahaha... How things can change 360 degree!!! :_:

As i find tht, de STi do hv different setting from Evo... De ride r more comfort, gear change r easier, softer clutch, better interior n etc... Whereas Evo do hv better respone, easier to upgrade (parts availability) n etc... :regular_smile:

It is good tht if 1 day v can hv a meet up btw Scooby fans n Evo fans to share up ideas n experiences in their respective cars... What u guys think huh? Haha...

hi guys,
i'm a newbie here...
i wonder if there any version 8 or 9 wrx/sti comes with sunroof??

Storm,
didn't get your reply in this thread for 2 weeks, so I thought you took 2 weeks off. Hehe... btw, what are you working as?

Which model of HKS exhaust are you using? I'm using the HKS Super Drager now. I like it coz it's really quiet during normal driving and it really screams during high rev VTEC runs.

Sounds like you plan to mod quite a bit on your car. How far are you planning to go on the mods?

My CNY ang pau collection is still enough for the down payment lah. Hahaha.... have to work harder.