WTA - Any S2000 users????

thanks! yes, i've been talking to one of my friends in sg cos he has an AP2. they own some garage at sin ming but i forget the name.

can't remember, but the guys are chester and kenny

---------- Post added at 03:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:58 PM ----------

just realised that KC Autolink (Kenny & Chester?) ...hmmm

great job j-boy
nice review on the coilovers just wish i got the money for the moton.lolz
J-boy r u joining the rca on the 16 of jan?

great job j-boy
nice review on the coilovers just wish i got the money for the moton.lolz
J-boy r u joining the rca on the 16 of jan?

Thanx dude..well if u look at the materials that are used for the Motons, it all falls into place as aluminium components do cost a fair bit more. I find that it's a set of coilovers that suits quite a lot of s2k owners/enthusiasts who while wanting to track the car, also want to retain the comfort for daily driving or cruising on a weekend with the top down thru some nice winding roads.

Can't make it for RCA on Jan 16 manz...got a good friend's wedding that day to attend. Do watch out fer a friend's moonrock S2K with orange wheels if u're there. Waiting to see wot timing he churns out with his engine and all done.

Ha ha! Where have i been.. I didn't know you guys started a S2K thread..
Give me a heads up for TTs too please..

Mines a Spa AP1 with AP2 Shocks and Rims - I like it stock standard.. Its a daily driver..

---------- Post added at 05:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:19 PM ----------

@Deathrasher, the S2k in Jalan Bangsar wuz me! . your honk wuz louder than mine!

---------- Post added at 05:52 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:25 PM ----------

koolspyda is eveywhere!.. Kool we do S2K and MRS meetup for hypertune magazine.. anyone want to organize and know the right people?

When i was looking for an S2K i found quite a few for sale..
Many were advertised as built in 2003-2005 cars. Unregistered in Malaysia All were bluffing.
They were all AP1, which mostly ceased production end of 2001 model year.
ie Plastic window, AP1 front and rear lights
They cannot bring in cars older than 5 years, due to Malaysian Law and bringing in newer cars are expensive and buyers are scarce. So, naturally being car dealers, they bluff.

Here's how to tell the exact age of the S2Ks you have using your cars VIN or serial number:

http://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=85405

SG cars in Damansara Utama wanted to sell a S2K for 160K, with paperwork that the car was built in 2003.
On Checking the VIN, vt was built in April 2000.

Another way is to look at the seat belt manufacturing date tag which is approximate:

attachment.php

So these car dealers usually claim their cars are newer than it actually is.
Before buying a recon car, please investigate methods of determining age before purchasing.
S2Ks and other rare cars especially, these dealers love to bluff.

• seatbelt.JPG
    seatbelt.JPG
    49.7 KB · Views: 374
Hi Prometheus,

Your pic is over expose...I canT read the VIN num. Care to reupload a clear pic. As currently I looking for AP1 '03. SO this info very useful for me during my search for my AP1. Thanks.

By the way, for the SG case....no wonder when I go c...as u said; paperwork said 2003; however I check on the net. All 2003 model already replace with rear glass on the soft top instead plastic for 99 till 02.

So the spec is different from wat I read n study on the net.

By the way, any "buyer guide" when find a good S2000? What to look for and any common manufacturer faulty for Ap1 or Ap2 which we as potential buyer need to aware?

Hope all those current S2000 owner can shear some light to us. Thanks

Purposely over expose la.. the picture is of the seatbelt.

Thats the seatbelt on my car. Just want to show you how the tag looks. It will be on the lower anchor end of the seatbelt.

AP1 ceased production in 2001. Anything you find AP1 should be at the newest, 2002, ie last batch from the 2001 model production.

Buying guide?
Got.. but very technical. Probably very hard to find a mechanic who knows the S2k Well enough in Malaysia to check it out. Some Singapore friends with S2k got technical and told me to check engine compression etc..

I would suggest to drive it and see how you feel. S2k is rather rare care in Malaysia. Do a backside Dyno. You should be able to hear switchover to vtec at about 4-5k rpm, its very evident. ABS light should come on during startup and then go off after few seconds. If ABS light don't come on, ABS got problem. EPS light should come on and go off during startup also.

Or do what i did.. find a good buy, low mileage, looking pretty, stock standard, and hope for the best.. buy and then fix up later. My AP1 mileage was only 55K when i got it. now about 60+K
Most things "can" be fixed. Malaysia got very few parts. The AP1 half cut in puchong already sold also.

If you kiasu some more.. I also downloaded the entire S2K service manual before i bought the car and looked over it.

Most if not all parts can be sourced in Singapore or Ebay.
Now in this thread, we also know who can install the soft top. (Some guy named lincoln)
Check the car for the ABS
Gear shifts will be rather tight, so you will have the blip throttle at every gear change for smooth changes.
And the usual things for used cars, check for signs of previous crashes.
With this forum going, i think we'll be able to find a good mechanic and bring all our S2ks to the same mechanic.
So far, the S2k hasn't given me any severe problems yet.

No potential manufacturing faults on the AP1 which actually stand out.
AP1s are raw sports cars. No traction control, only the LSD to stop your rear from stepping out.
You have to have good tires. I bought mine with 5 year old toyos.- All hard and deformed. Spun out after 3 days of ownership. Luckily never die.. After that changed to Re001s great grip.

Here's an example pic of a VIN number, in the engine bay.
Compare the serials with the the link in my last post. You'll realize that the year of manufacture is 2000 april.
I've changed the number to a fictional number for the benefit of the owner of the car.

attachment.php

• DSC00408.jpg
    DSC00408.jpg
    90.8 KB · Views: 382
Thanks for the prompt reply. Really appreciate it.

No offence. Actually, AP1 is from 99 to 03. Hence when order some performance parts; u might encounter AP1-130. 130 refer to 03 batch. For JDM model I refering to...since our recon S2000 is mostly from Japan.

Refering to:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_S2000

By the way, your AP1 is which year? Your plastic rear window was replaced by a glass unit incorporating an electric defroster?

sorry.. my mistake..
AP1 till 2003,
Plastic windows till 2001 model year..
"For the 2002 model year, suspension settings were revised and the
plastic rear window was replaced with glass with an electric defroster
added"

S2K changes through the years link

Mine's still plastic window, but going to get a glass window AP1 kit from internet / ebay when i got some extra cash, since from this thread.. found out who can install.

Just curious, is it life will be tough living with S2000 in Malaysia?. Well, it would like driving an endangered species on the road. Rare yet exotics.

Surely driving experience will be very good; however living with it....I really want to read a review from a S2000 owner itself in Malaysia. Any1 care to share? Spare parts, ride quality (u guys know how good is our road condition is...)

Spare parts issue...Prometheus got cover a bit...however S2000 as daily drive? Suitable? or get a kancil as daily drive while S2000 is for weekend car will sound better idea....? haha

my wife said my car is bumpy (even on softer AP2 suspension) compared with her FD2. She's only driven the S2k once cuz not tall enough :wavey:
Be gentle on the throttle at wet corners, lead foot fellows gerente spin out.
I almost have no weekends so your plan would not work for me.
You definitely need covered parking at work if its going to be your daily driver. Clutch not so heavy but be wary of Heatsoak in dense traffic.

BTW you can also respect all the 350z owners for paying about RM4380 in road tax when you're paying RM379

my wife said my car is bumpy (even on softer AP2 suspension) compared with her FD2. She's only driven the S2k once cuz not tall enough :wavey:
Be gentle on the throttle at wet corners, lead foot fellows gerente spin out.
I almost have no weekends so your plan would not work for me.
You definitely need covered parking at work if its going to be your daily driver. Clutch not so heavy but be wary of Heatsoak in dense traffic.

BTW you can also respect all the 350z owners for paying about RM2k in road tax when you're paying RM379

So this mean u drive your AP1 as daily drive? Work; makan & back to home....?

Moton is an excellent choice. read the SCC (US) review on best sus kits (different) available & they used S2K as their base car. nice article.

koolspyda is eveywhere!.. Kool we do S2K and MRS meetup for hypertune magazine.. anyone want to organize and know the right people?

hypertune welcomes articles (get in touch with murali or his people) i'm suppose to contribute my ride but been extremely busy as such.

i know panspeed (william) & met j-boy b4, other than edwin's S2k, not the rest of S2k.
the mr2's are planning a do at ishin foodcumphoto article on 23th Jan.

we should plan a short runabout sometime :driver: did a few small group convoy with CSL's, ITR previously :driver::driver: now only with s2k group

So these car dealers usually claim their cars are newer than it actually is.
Before buying a recon car, please investigate methods of determining age before purchasing.
S2Ks and other rare cars especially, these dealers love to bluff.

well, many of the fellas try to con ignorant buyers & in many of the times they get away.
very few owners like Prometheus who take his investigation online

ps i driven AP1 & probably may prefer its lack-of-assist-tech over AP2

i've been driving my AP1 to work every day since i got it about 2 weeks ago...so far so good (touch wood). I think it's ok to live with as a daily driver but obviously there are the usual worries with the soft top etc.

Comfort wise, there's no real issue unless the road is seriously bumpy. And because it is a soft top, there are the usual rattles and squeeks. My exhaust (apexi) is also a bit loud in my opinion, but overall i can live with it.

It doesn't really like being in jams, but i think that's more because my clutch is feeling a bit tired. I also feel like the clutch gets a bit heavier when stuck in jam for a long time (or that could just be my leg getting tired)...thinking of changing to a steel clutch hose which should in theory not expand/flex as much as my theory is that the hose on my car (assuming it is 10 yrs old) is probably past its best.

Driving with the top down is something i love and i do it in the mornings (8am+) when the weather is not threatening to rain....fantastic

Mechanics - I haven't done anything to the car yet but i intend to get the clutch changed, gearbox and diff oils changed. So far been to talk to one garage in Sunway (they inspected the car before i bought it and did a compression test) & one in glenmarie. I think there aren't any overly complicated things about the S2000 and probably any mechanic who can service a DC5 well could probably handle this car.