WTA:BT 20V engine noise

Yes, it can be done... but only a few experienced mechanics are doing it. Price range will be around RM500 with warranty (depending on VVT pulley condition).
If you're interested, PM me and I'll hook you up. :biggrin:

thanks bro for the info...:proud:

ps://how is the best way to determine that the vvt pulley in need of servicing...

I heard from someone, maybe next year the fuel price will increase.. At that moment I only drive my car only on weekend hu..hu...Arghh.. adjustable pulley!!

thanks bro for the info...:proud:

ps://how is the best way to determine that the vvt pulley in need of servicing...

The easiest way to determine is when you hear the diesel engine sound from your 20v. Also, in some cases there will be oil leaking from the VVT pulley and sluggishness when VVT kicks in.

wat if the sound loudest at 1500 rpm? VVT haven't kick in at that time.

When VVT kicks in, the noise is less noticeable because the OCV will allow more oil to run into the VVT pulley. So usually the noise is only noticeable when below 3000rpm (slowing down) and when idling. Basically there are wear & tear parts inside the VVT pulley which tends to rattle when spinning.

i hve 1 question..
if vvt disable, it come from ecu prob or vvt pulley prob?
coz when i try drive bt of my fren, i dont feel tht vvt.. not like mine bt
then i ask him about tht..he told me it happen after he modified the ecu..
any sifu can help my fren???

1) service your VVT pulley...will eliminate the diesel sound...FYI new VVT pulley cost around RM800++ ...

2) Check water pump healthiness, Service your radiator...if using toyota coolant or other coolant do change after runnin few hundred thousands km...

Good luck...

Where to get new VVT pulley? Sick of changing it with halfcut item. Sometime worse than the previous pulley. Now my check engine light turn on. Power very sluggish if driven under 4k rpm.

question : after transplant my idle rpm is about 1100. lately the engine has been getting a little louder and the idle is now @ 1400+. any ideas? anything to do with pulley,etc? using stock bt ecu btw

thanks for any sifu reply :D

try to service throttle body 1st..then use some engine treatment oil..it may help..

if ur mileage more than 120k..better use mineral base oil..use toyota oil oso ok..

mine BT oso same like diesel taxi sound..its 20v trademark sound.

Put in some engine flusher.....run for 100km whack 2-3 time then change oil....
I did it last time eliminate my crouk cruks sound
But mine is 4A-F ler.....

if want to maintain vvt, juz swap the vvt pulley, and i got 1unit, taken out from low mileage half cut..
if want to disable vvt, juz put the adjustable vvt..
suggestion:
use better engine oil, preferred semi syn, no need go for fully syn if in stock setting