XLi and GLi?

PedalToTheMetal

hie guys...i've browse tru few satrias 1.6..and found out these diffs...whats the diff between the XLi and GLi version?
and notice tht few satrias the number plater is located between the rear lights and some of them is located on the rear bumper? whats the diff? thanks loads... :tee:

err.. XLi is auto? GLi is manual? i dunno man coz my satria is GLi and it's manual.. sifu correct me if im wrong

I also dunno... But mostly I see that 1.6 and above is XLi, Below 1.6 is GLi

if i remember right, XLi is carbie GLi is injection, correct me if im wrong though...
and for the number plate between the rear lamp and on the bumper, its based on which year that car was launched. i'm not sure the year either, but the older ones are those on the bumper.

i maybe wrong though... correct me =)

arrowhead said:
if i remember right, XLi is carbie GLi is injection, correct me if im wrong though...
and for the number plate between the rear lamp and on the bumper, its based on which year that car was launched. i'm not sure the year either, but the older ones are those on the bumper.

You are wrong.. XLi is still fuel injected.. the difference between GLi and XLi i'm not to sure.. but if the car is a carbie.. if won't have the "i" at the back..

there is no proton 1.6 carbie. :)
if im not mistaken, what xZ said is correct. GLi is for manual and XLi is for auto. not too sure about it though :)

xli n gli is to diffentiate manual n auto. ez n gli or xli on other local manufacturer car.

if number plate located on rear bumper, thats a mivec tail, they change it. satria original number plate is located on the rear bonnet.

satria rear plate was originally on the bumper. they changed it to the boot in 1996 following the new wira/satria face lift. :biggrin:

arrowhead said:

for 1.6 version, xli is auto, gli is manual. and for 1.6 there is no carbie for satrias, its on 92p's :smile:

walau... 4g9xx is XLI
4g1xx is GLi
both also injection... hahahaa....

original satria (known internally as CC0) is just a colt hatchback with wira face. it was developed by DRB thru its company USPD (usahasama proton drb or now known as Proton Edar). it was launched in november 1994.

later in 1996, proton designed a new look to differentiate satria with colt (for sale purposes in export market) and its known internally as CC1. plate number is relocated into the tailgate. new taillamp and bumper. the rest is all same.

when proton 1st launched the wira back in 1993, they sole the wira as 1.6XLi for both auto and manual. later they differentiate manual and auto by using different trim badges. XLi for auto, GLi for manual. but later on Proton also got confused. in 1997 the 1.5GL came available in 1.6 trim (4 power windows, center console) but they still call it 1.5GL.

and for those who still has original Satria 1.3 back from 94-96 pls check your registration card ..its stated the car model is actually Satria 1.3GLI even though no EFI. he he...

err one more thing...cars from DRB factory in Pekan always has its engine capacity stated in reg card as 1299cc. cars from Shah Alam factory show 1298cc.

how to know ur car from shah alam or pekan?? see chassis number...if begins with B its shah alam (better quality). if starts with C, he he its assemled manually in Pekan alongside Citroen BX/ZX, Isuzu Troopers and Pajeros.

eg.
PLIC96MNRSC123456 - pekan
PLIC96MNRSB123456 - shah alam

yiheng85 said:
thanks for the nfo zan :)

btw, off topic a little...do u have any info on proton saga?
thanks!

saga? he he..

roots from Mitsubishi Lancer Fiore, not available in malaysia as we have Tredia instead but Singapore has similar model back in early 80s.

2 sedan models upon launched, 1.3S (C21) with Orion series 4G13 while the 1.5S (C22) has 4G15 engine from Mitsubishi. to differentiate proton engines from mitsu, a letter P was suffixed to it.

in 86, proton launched the the special edition saga known as 1.5I (istimewa). the model has power steering, front power window, electric side mirrors and semi bucket front seats among others.

in 87 the 1.5I comes available as an automatic which was optional.
mid 87, Orion engines were replaced by Magma, claimed to have more power. I think Magma maybe similar to Cyclone but no proof.
in end 87 also, Proton launched the sporty sedan version known as Aeroback.

in 89 Proton launched a limited version of the Aeroback, the all black Knight 1.5S. best thing about Knight was it has a front airdam, and a rear spoiler that mimic the one fitted to early Porsche 911.

in mid 1990, 3rd generation Saga came into market. new is of coz the famous Megavalve engine, with variable venturi carburettor.saga also gained from a cosmetic makeover. among them were the headlights (more flushed), the radiator grille (bigger air scoop; suspect due to overheating problems), full length body moulding and few other changes.

in 1992, the Saga was revamped. helped by a British institute the new model had new front and rear face and thus called Saga Iswara. both sedan and aeroback benefitted from this.
one limited version of Iswara was also sold to malaysian market. it was known as CARES and uses an EFI on the 4G15P engine instead of a carburettor. it also uses similar dashboard with Mitsubishi Lancer.
CARES = Clean Air Regulated Emission System

Iswara remained unchanged for 10 years. come 2002, one limited model was revealed to the public. it was known as Saga LMSS and only available in silver and in aeroback spec. headlamp is diamond type while rear ones were quite uptodate with rounded theme.
steering wheel is similar to waja launched in year 2000.

not too long after that comes the last model to present = Saga LMST.
still no EFI or DOHC or 16V or rear disc brakes but the new look freshened up sales. new front and rear bumpers complete the new headlamp and taillamp.
also completely designed was the dashboard with digital odometer and fuel gauge.

hope this hes..

wira/satria 1.3/1.5/1.6/1.8(auto)/perdana SEi all are SOHC. GTi/Putra all DOHC. but if im not mistaken, '99 batch of wira 1.8 auto are DOHC.

zan ,
i thought that 1.6 is call XLi and the GLi is actually those wira with injection , non injection wira is GL only .

zan bro...thanks a lot for the info..cleared some of my doubt which i cant figure out after numerous research such as two orion 1.5I plate BCN year 1987 spotted which is with orion body.. i tot istimewa only exist after the magma came out..haha...

btw, since iswara design was assisted by british institute, how bout the very first orion? did malaysian did the redesign from fiore or by others..hehe..:)

sorry for hogging the satria 1.6 thread...will move out after this...

thanks!