XP Sp2 question

what kinda hardware compatibility issues you got?
i don't have any?
i just reinstalled windows today
windows xp sp2 straight from the cd no problems
comes with WMP 10, DX 9, etc.

I find Windows XP SP2 not as responsive when compared to Windows 2000... nothing fancy about it.

i was wondering
y if u install xp on one computer
and use it on a diff computer it wont work.
very very funny

its a security thinggy.
thats why modders don't really like XP.
coz once it is installed it will recognized a few hardware components like your motherboard and processor.
if u take ur hdd out and install on another computer it won't work
have to format and reinstall again.

there is where w2000 and x98 shine.
lets say the host computer has no cdrom or diskette.
just a lan connection and keyboard for surfing and office work.
you can install it onto the hdd then plug it into the host computer later.
windows will detect everything, reboot once and everything is setup nicely.

the sp2 has new security features like eating up more rams........y? the auto help update thingy lah

i dam tulan all these background backside mini programs jz sucking up resources from my precious ram pool

the moment i finished upgrading to sp2, I cant even wait to click 'remove'....it jz suxx

Plain n simple... XP is for newbies!

The pros will stick with Linux or Windows 2000...

Who wants a Mac-clone desktop? Buy a real Mac instead!

Originally posted by acbc@Oct 14 2004, 13:08
Plain n simple... XP is for newbies!

The pros will stick with Linux or Windows 2000...

Who wants a Mac-clone desktop? Buy a real Mac instead!
linux fedora kinda sux too haih....old skool linux redhat is far better :lol:

i just NewBies so i using XP with SP2 .....
Hehehehhe....
Working well and perfect, no complaint even better then some after market FireWall ....

xp lots of nice graphics but in the same time sucking a lots of rams. im running on 512 ddr+256ddr on p4 2.4g still thinking it makes no difference when i use win98se with 256 ddr.

guys

how to run 2 OS in the same time? any specific sofware? coz i have lots of oldies games like wolfstein 3d and constructor which cant run on XP. thanks for the input

U can install VMWare to run both OS together... I've VMWare running Windows 2003 Server on a Windows 2000 Pro desktop OS. Speed-wise - damn slow!

fedora sucks ? hmmm i wonder why ? can give me 10 reason's why fedora sucks ?. ;) . how good is redhat 9 compare to fedora ? anyway im using fedora on my servers , so far so good .

its just like XP too graphical and userfriendly :lol:
which means ram eater although it does eat as much ram as xp it still does can't install on a 64mb machine :o this is not the linux i know.
when i upgraded from my 486 to a pentium 2 machine my pentium machine had problems playing mp3, not enough memory and crap like that during days of 64mb. and my 486 with 16mb ram running linux slackware (forgot which version the old and hard to install ones i suppose :P ) was running mp3, internet, vcd all at once no problem ;)

aiyo borother , when it comes to linux you can choose to use the text base or graphic user interface , unlike windows which uses graphic user interface all the time . thats why servers are more likely to run on linux , freebsd rather then windows .

I ran a Windows server with a longest uptime of 180 days (held my company's mail server running on Merak Mail Server) once. Err... had to reboot due to Windows Update (sux!).

Another longest running server is my own Sun Cobalt RaQ 4i (ran on Cobalt Linux) with an uptime of 250 days.

Nowadays, we (some of my sysadmin friends) love to compare n compete on how long we can maintain / keep the longest running server.

Also, a properly patched / hardened Windows 2000 Server is virtually bulletproof.

the thing is the problem is when you start to do maintainence and patching all the problems start coming out. better to leave it running without a patch sometimes as the patch is general and may cause compatibility or conflicts :angry:

there is also a loophole which is yet to be exploited is the automated updating windows is trying to incorporate. what if the files downloaded is not update files but virus? sooner or later it will happen.

i know linux and two modes, what you take me for? my qualm is fedora is too bloated imho, for first time users i'm sure its a blast but i usually install linux on my old hardware when i upgrade. usually whatever it is linux will always run as smooth on new or old hardware but fedora, don't think i can run it on anything less than 1ghz celeron with 128mb <_<

That's why u also need a personal firewall (such as 8Signs) to only allow the automated patch system to connect to the Windows Update server (based on IP).

That way, the firewall will block all attempts to access IPs not listed in the rules.

well it depends on what application your going to use it , you can always custom the installation and disable some service that you don't use . if your installing it for a home pc then , stuff like apache , webmail , ftp service should not be installed togather . anyway i get what you mean , but just that i was shock to see you critic fedora , cause im runing it on the server , so i also would like to know why it suck , but since you mention cause of the heavy gui load , then that doesn't bother me , cause its not runing on gui . :lol:

well my last experience before installing fedora was a 486DX66 + 16mb ram running slackware was just as fast as my newer pentium 2 + 64mb machine running windows 95.

once was recompiling the kernel and power out. hdd died. so linux never got installed on any of my pc's until fedora :P

felt it was abit heavy for a celeron 1ghz with 192mb ram ran xwindows on top of slackware for the 486 it didn't felt so heavy.