• Kia Rio 1.4 (NEW)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Proton Waja 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

zan

this is the 3rd segment involving cars between 50-70K.

vote for the best!

Split between the Getz and the Aveo. Both quite similar. Good looking and fun to drive. Best Korean cars and best cars for that matter in this price range. If I had to choose I'd go for the Getz. Smaller engine but about 8000 cheaper. Not sure about equipment levels.

what the criteria for this particular survey??

i'm tempted to click Aveo or Getz, but they don't score high for practicality, coz my kids stroller won't fit in the boot. So I'm tempted to go for Waja or Spectra...

btw, which is better?? Waja or Spectra?? Accent no rear leg room for big guy like me...

All the categories are for Car of the Year. Which usually means the best overall car. Cover as many bases as you can when considering which car to award.

About the Waja and Spectra. Both have quality issues as far as I'm concerned. In fact given the 2 evils I'd go for the Waja. Shock Horror! Cheaper to maintain and better residue. Better engine as well....wait...Campro...hmmm...

minivan said:
what the criteria for this particular survey??

i'm tempted to click Aveo or Getz, but they don't score high for practicality, coz my kids stroller won't fit in the boot. So I'm tempted to go for Waja or Spectra...

btw, which is better?? Waja or Spectra?? Accent no rear leg room for big guy like me...

thanx silverfish for answering it. put it simply, the best money can buy in such category.

spectra and waja is the bigger car but too old. waja is 6 yrs old, spectra is based on sephia which is 9 years old.

aveo and getz is smaller but looks good. but are they worth speding that kind of money? by doing this, i believe it may help anyone of us thinking of buying a new car.

I would choose none of the above, but if forcingly, I will get the AVEO if these were the last few cars left on earth....

getz is underpowered with the 1.3 lump..
lacks a airbag as it only comes with the 1.6
and the new facelift model is coming out..
so it mite make it look a bit dated..
tech wise.. it's definitely dated.. no variable valve timing.. watsoever..
small boot compared to the rivals here..
cheap looking plastics.. yes, worst than those from wajas..
poor second hand value..

on the good side,
it has tis airy cabin.. lot's of headroom.. legroom both front and rear are suffecient..
looks the best out of the bunch..
european design, according the hyundai..
if u ask me, i'll definitely choose the getz.. coz..
the rest are juz...erm.. boring =p

but u guys are talkin bout COTY..
i think waja wud probably be the one..
silver said it's cheaper to maintain, better residues..
which i agree too.. on top of tat..
it has seats 4 comfortably maybe 5 we being malaysians.. =p
if im not mistaken it comes w airbag and abs.. thus making it better equiped..
has a proper boot...
...it's a conventional car with everything most ppl want..

then again.. the quality control.. ahem...

alien said:
then again.. the quality control.. ahem...
That's always the catch with Proton cars isn't it...hehehe.

Anyway, about the Getz. Top Gear actually reviewed it and for those of you who know how Clarkson feels about cars from the Pacific rim (Korea and Malaysia), you'll probably guess he doesn't like it. And you'll be right. But, he chose the Getz out of all the cars they had from Korea and Malaysia (which was 20 - 30 cars) to be the best of the lot. And that I believe, says a lot about the Getz. Unless the Getz they get is different from ours...which is possible.

getz had just been facelifted. or is it all new model? i dunno, it looks similar to the present on we have in malaysia. excpet its more rounded.

anyway, aveo has the most votes! quite surprisingly considering its roots...

its originally a Daewoo Kalos, made in 2002 before GM acquired Daewoo.

for more info

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chevrolet_Aveo

Yeah, its a Daewoo all right...shock! horror!

Actually its ok. Even has Giugiaro design. That has to count for something.

The same can't be said about the Hyundai Matrix, which is hideous, although it says Pininfarina on the side.

si|verfish said:
Yeah, its a Daewoo all right...shock! horror!

Actually its ok. Even has Giugiaro design. That has to count for something.

The same can't be said about the Hyundai Matrix, which is hideous, although it says Pininfarina on the side.

i find matrix is beautiful on the inside. same thing cant be said on its outside though.

hmmm i heard korean cars has the highest depreciation rate and lowest 2nd hand sale value ? ( from top gear-JC i think ? ) how true is this ?

infernaL said:
hmmm i heard korean cars has the highest depreciation rate and lowest 2nd hand sale value ? ( from top gear-JC i think ? ) how true is this ?

actually, when a certain car makes has not build up its reputation their product's face value is at risk of abnormal depreciation.

proton car is facing same in the UK. and in an open car market like UK, such criteria will determine whether the business will grow or collapsed.

that happened to Rover cars, Land Rover even Lotus. Daewoo cars failed altogether and had been aquired by GM. Seat & Skoda had gone through similar situatuion before salvaged by VW group.

a 10 years old wira 1.6 in malaysia still fetches about 25K but same car with ABS and airbag wont sell more than 1,000 pound sterling; equivalent of not more than RM8,000 ringgit.