4g93 head on 4g92

hi guys,

this is my very first time in a car forum....

i'd like to seek some advice from you on pistons upgrade for 4g93.

between upgrading to the 83mm ford tx3 1.8 dohc and those forged 81.5mm forged pistons, which one would yield greater power improvement?

look forward to hearing from you guys.

thanks a lot.

If you do it right, 83mm will surely yield more power- bigger cc,
You need to ensure keep good compression ratio also- the generate hp.

81.5mm piston bore = 1857.93cc
83mm piston bore= 1926.95cc

If you want tahan... i recommend max 82mm only, and use 4G92-82mm piston..higher compression ratio...

Tq

---------- Post added at 07:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:53 PM ----------

STD 1.6 MOD 1.6 std 1.8 mod 1.8 mod 1.8
BORE 8.1 8.2 8.1 8.2 8.3
STROKE 7.75 7.75 8.9 8.9 8.9
CC 1598.07 1637.77 1835.21 1880.80 1926.95

Thanks E-Tech. Appreciate it.

Wow you are so precise with your data. Salute!

I was giving it a thought on the cp pistons. there are 2 variants, 1 is 81.5mm and the other is 82mm. somehow, the 81.5mm one is more expensive by more than AUD100.

Still, the pistons alone cost roughly RM3,500. straight away i was looking for a cheaper alternative. then, someone told me about the ford tx3 1.8 dohc 83mm pistons which would cost less than RM1000. But then again, the issue of engine durability sets in.

Anyway, the 82mm 4G92 pistons which you were suggesting, where could i get it from? The spare part shops do them?

Excuse my ignorance if my question is so trivial.

Thanks.

4G92P engine change to 4G93P conrod end up as a 1.8 engine right? Cool mod there i think?

not exactly...you need to mod your crank too...is located below conrods...

---------- Post added at 08:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:57 PM ----------

Thanks E-Tech. Appreciate it.

Wow you are so precise with your data. Salute!

I was giving it a thought on the cp pistons. there are 2 variants, 1 is 81.5mm and the other is 82mm. somehow, the 81.5mm one is more expensive by more than AUD100.

Still, the pistons alone cost roughly RM3,500. straight away i was looking for a cheaper alternative. then, someone told me about the ford tx3 1.8 dohc 83mm pistons which would cost less than RM1000. But then again, the issue of engine durability sets in.

Anyway, the 82mm 4G92 pistons which you were suggesting, where could i get it from? The spare part shops do them?

Excuse my ignorance if my question is so trivial.

Thanks.

4G92 piston can get at any halfcut shop bro...
actually some spare parts shop do carry it also..
as proton got satria 1.6 4G92 single cam engine bro

now i am 4g92dohc
if i want to go 4g93 means i can do is change whole engine right cannot change top only or change bottom only right ?

old topic, but i'm interested in...

93P head are 1.8 heads.

92P are 1.6 heads.

B0th engine share similar static compression with the former having a longer stroke block.

Hence, 93P head's have bigger c/v dome than a 92P head.

Herefore, using a 93P head on a 92P block will lower the static
compression and resulting in loss of power.

Not too mention having bigger ports without the complementing cams and gear ratio will make matters even worst.

i wouldn't be so sure...
did you see the 4G93 DOHC and 4G92 SOHC pistons?
the 4G92 SOHC pistons are more convex
i guess, this is the reason of similar compression:
4G92 lower stroke * biger pistons = 4G93 bigger stroke * smaller pistons
again i guess, the clearance volume of both heads are similar, compression ratio is dependent on pistons size

---------- Post added at 08:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:58 PM ----------

yes indeed fun to play with.
but tak rasa already.
wanna try mivec.
good thing is after you do sohc to dohc.
when you want to put mivec, there no need for you to install others parts

which pistons you used in 4g92 engine with 4G93 DOHC head?
from 4g92 SOHC or 4G93 DOHC?

---------- Post added at 08:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:02 PM ----------

93 rods will not fit in 92 block as the rod is longer and will protrude the piston out of the 92P block.

4g92 and 4G93 conrods are the same lenght
the capacity difference is from crankshaft (and the block of course)

---------- Post added at 08:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:11 PM ----------

what is the compression ratio of engine build from 4G92 SOHC bottom (block, pistons) and 4G93 DOHC head?

i wouldn't be so sure...
again i guess, the clearance volume of both heads are similar, compression ratio is dependent on pistons size

---------- Post added at 08:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:58 PM ----------

which pistons you used in 4g92 engine with 4G93 DOHC head?
from 4g92 SOHC or 4G93 DOHC?

---------- Post added at 08:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:02 PM ----------

C

4g92 and 4G93 conrods are the same lenght
the capacity difference is from crankshaft (and the block of course)

---------- Post added at 08:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:11 PM ----------

what is the compression ratio of engine build from 4G92 SOHC bottom (block, pistons) and 4G93 DOHC head?

OLD Reply but I want to clearify....

4G92 CONRODS ARE NOT THE SAME AS 4G93... 93 HAVE LONGER RODS.....

i wouldn't be so sure...

92 & 93 piston size different ka?

4G91/92 Rods are quiet strong. although the cross sectional is exactly like 4G93. but due to it's short length, the resistant to bending moment is much more higher.... Proven to take 24+WHP on dyno dynamics on a friend's car.

thanx for the info bro...but can 4G91/92 Rods fit in Toyota supecharger piston?

Can.. Mods the pin bore to 20mm. Make sure the piston pin runs on full float.

whats the difference between a 93 sohc block and a dohc block? i wanna put in my 4g91

Can.. Can use. No difference.

---------- Post added at 08:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:33 PM ----------

Forgot... Oil pump and hydraulic tensioner have to use back from 4g91. Other thing same.