4age Recommended trumpets.

Cronixz

Hi everyone,

First of all if there's a thread specifically for 20v trumpets please let know or PM me the link. By all means please remove this thread as well.

Coming to the point:

I've read and did lil of research of trumpets for 4age 20v . There's lots of brands, sizes, diameters. I'm really confused and do not know which would be an appropriate one's with good response. & of coz budget is one of the main thingy. One of my friend recommended getting Weslee trumpets. Don't really know about this brand...:confused::confused::confused:

what would be the suitable trumpet to fit in?

Advantage and disadvantages of fixing it?

If anyone there would be able to advice me would be much appreciated. :adore:

• 4135379295_4e6b30321b_o.jpg
    4135379295_4e6b30321b_o.jpg
    34.2 KB · Views: 2,652
hi...
velocity stack = trumpet
got few in market..
1. imec
2. toda (3 length)
3. tom's (come with carbon type plenum) basically for silvertop
4. OER - 3 piece design

basically the above i have seen it & used it except TODA.
ask yourself first, trumpet want to fit inside plenum or keep it open?
i can say short trumpet is good for pick-up but not..

waslee..i believe that pattern was copy from tom's design.

hey bro..

my advised is better u try 1st and let ur feeling tells you..

i am using DIY made mamak cup as the trumpet put inside the plenum.. feel nothing much gain if with plenum (based on BT engine setup)

tried Toms ORI Trumpet inside CF plenum- feel improve a bit (based on SVT engine setup few years be4)

hope this can help.....

Kepong Ah Choy customer's SVT with TOM's trumpet, MINES ECU and C52 gerabox in a SEG101 chassis, kill BT 6sp in a AE92... :biggrin:
I forgot what exhause that car use, but not priaaang loud type.

Hi everyone,

First of all if there's a thread specifically for 20v trumpets please let know or PM me the link. By all means please remove this thread as well.

Coming to the point:

I've read and did lil of research of trumpets for 4age 20v . There's lots of brands, sizes, diameters. I'm really confused and do not know which would be an appropriate one's with good response. & of coz budget is one of the main thingy. One of my friend recommended getting Weslee trumpets. Don't really know about this brand...:confused::confused::confused:

what would be the suitable trumpet to fit in?

Advantage and disadvantages of fixing it?

If anyone there would be able to advice me would be much appreciated. :adore:

Not pro here, but i've heard that longer length and smaller diameter gives better low end response. Shorter length and bigger diameter gives better top end power. Also, I would advise you to protect your engine. There are mini air filters for trumpets out there by KNN and (forgot another brand). The KNN ones sells for about RM250 each. Quite pricey.

hi...
velocity stack = trumpet
got few in market..
1. imec
2. toda (3 length)
3. tom's (come with carbon type plenum) basically for silvertop
4. OER - 3 piece design

basically the above i have seen it & used it except TODA.
ask yourself first, trumpet want to fit inside plenum or keep it open?
i can say short trumpet is good for pick-up but not..

waslee..i believe that pattern was copy from tom's design.

Hi nappx, can I ask you, what is the use of a plenum? If i'm not mistaken, it's an air box thing like intake manifold right? Why do people want to enclose their trumpets with that since it defeats the purpose of using trumpets??? As I understand, trumpets are used when one wants high speed air flowing into the combustion chamber. So with the plenum enclosing the trumpet, no more free flow air.

Thanks.

Kepong Ah Choy customer's SVT with TOM's trumpet, MINES ECU and C52 gerabox in a SEG101 chassis, kill BT 6sp in a AE92... :biggrin:
I forgot what exhause that car use, but not priaaang loud type.

Waa how come la.... Trumpets can completely rule out an extra ratio???? :adore:

VELOC,
are you play with 4AGE blacktop? if not maybe you can goggle it..lot info..to long story..

VELOC,
are you play with 4AGE blacktop? if not maybe you can goggle it..lot info..to long story..

Oh no lerr... Not so lucky to own a BT. Just curious only about the plenum and trumpet thing...

Hehe. I tried the Tom's , Thailand made and now using Imec. Actually , I dont feel any different after sometime . You will forgot how these trumpet work . Just my comment.

Totally agree with otismummum. Although i did not use any trumpet, but i use open pod filter.
After sometime, forgot already how its feel.

yup after some time use it..forgot already how it feel..agree..but try remove it & put stock what do u feel..

using trumpet - inside plenum + open pod filter/drop in filter - can prevent amount of dust/hot air..etc from suck into throattle body.

totally open trumpet - hot air/dust/sand/water..etc into ur trumpet..

open/short trumpet - good in pick-up but lost on top speed
medium - good pick-up improve a bit on top speed (but can't reach like stock)
long - good pick-up improve a bit from medium length..

i everyday enjoy sound of OER trumpet...good for pick-up but top speed still can't chase stock blacktop..he he

i've read sumwhere.. & it goes like these

short = more power at high rpm
medium = more power at mid rpm
long = more power at low rpm..

and if u wanna put trumpet.. do it like this..

it's not a toyota.. but trumpet = trumpet = trumpet :biggrin:

• 2388e4fa.jpg
    2388e4fa.jpg
    148.5 KB · Views: 1,255
  • e90d0f4e.jpg
    e90d0f4e.jpg
    141.5 KB · Views: 1,703
Trumpet is something that you don't need in your daily street drive. But if you're into racing/ track driving, that's where trumpet makes a difference because in the street, you are not always driving your ride in high rev situation. So don't waste money on the trumpets because they don't come cheap.

For the fun of it, sure is worth it. Going under the Smart tunnel or drag a little for "shiok sendiri" should be ok. Now there are Thailand made for about RM2++. Ok ma.....or like KHWong DIY only from S steel cup.

very nice sound from 7-8k rpm..
once u use it.. u lovin it

hey bro..

my advised is better u try 1st and let ur feeling tells you..

i am using DIY made mamak cup as the trumpet put inside the plenum.. feel nothing much gain if with plenum (based on BT engine setup)

tried Toms ORI Trumpet inside CF plenum- feel improve a bit (based on SVT engine setup few years be4)

hope this can help.....

once had dis idea in my mind...
:biggrin:

d last time i tried the trumpets on, my car performance dropped drastically. Acceleration was like crap, so i removed it immediately. I think you need a bit of tuning after installing the trumpets to get the most out of the 20v?? I know mine performs worse than a 1.0 kelisa..just by installing the trumpet without any tuning.

Hi everyone,

Thanks for the replies and sorry for the delay,

I'm planning to have the trumpets fit inside the plenum. but after reading all the comments, im kinda wurried.... as u guys say there's no much difference unless ur gonna hit the track. Will do research and i might get one for satisfaction... js wanna feel&hear the vtec killer sound...

by the way thanks to everyone for the responds....