4age Recommended trumpets.

Just to share, for those whom plan to DIY the trumpets using stainless steel cups you can get the flange from exhaust shops. Get 4 of them and weld the cups to the flanges and you have your very own el' cheapo trumpets ;)

I've also noticed that open trumpets are often used in racetracks overseas, but in Malaysia (prolly due to hot weather) I noticed MME track cars with 20v retains back its original plenum (and also air box) and still able to come out top in the race. However, most drift cars with 20v prefer to use open trumpet because the plenum is usually too big to fit in and also RWD setup with open trumpet will have colder air intake compared to FWD with open trumpet.

Interesting. Estimate budget to do it DIY style? Haven't seen aftermarket SVT trumpets that can fit into stock plenum.

i think this setup is more powerful..

now what makes think that?

For anyone wanting to do it the DIY way I used 2" exhuast pipe and had the place put a flared end on, then using a die grinder I ground the inside to be a more progressive bell type shape, this is why the edges are sharp

where to get all these velocity stacks/trumpets in kl/pj area?

kepong area got one shop..

search in Mudah.my .. the shop alwayz advertise there.. also got a few people selling their trumpets in Mudah..

as for the powerful setup.. it's just my opinion.. coz fresh air from the front of the car directly go into the engine with little obstacles..

:biggrin:

Interesting. Estimate budget to do it DIY style? Haven't seen aftermarket SVT trumpets that can fit into stock plenum.
Estimated for the stainless steel cups, RM30-40 for 4pcs. Then for the flange (from exhaust shop) RM30-40 as well for 4pcs. Welding & workmanship maybe RM50. Total roughly around RM50.

As for aftermarket SVT trumpets, there are quite a few including the Tom's trumpet that usually comes with the CF plenum and also the Jasma purple trumpets.

Estimated for the stainless steel cups, RM30-40 for 4pcs. Then for the flange (from exhaust shop) RM30-40 as well for 4pcs. Welding & workmanship maybe RM50. Total roughly around RM50.

As for aftermarket SVT trumpets, there are quite a few including the Tom's trumpet that usually comes with the CF plenum and also the Jasma purple trumpets.

Hmmm so home-made style will roughly cost RM150 lah! =) If I remember correctly, the Jasma ones are too tall to fit into the SVT plenum.