Choice of Project Car

The clubsport is rare. The GTI R3 is not. Look in the cars for sale section and you'll find both. Just don't know if the clubsport is still for sale or not!

Clubsport, I can say I see non for sale, not even once before come across any on sale

Deyyy... Satria GTI R3 is the best R3 ever created. Spot welded chassis that was road legal, Recaros, Momo, exhaust, ECU, the whole works. Nothing comes close to that. I'm wondering why no one considered the GTI R3. Bloody awesome car and has more power than the clubsport!

Sifu my ass. Sifu says give him RM100,000. Do it now!

:thefinger:

And realistically speaking, tell me where you'll find a road legal car that has a roll cage, and kosong interior with bucket seats that JPJ won't kacau?

Porsche 911 GT3 RS? But that one is way too expensive already. But 2nd hand GTI R3 won't come cheap.

so would u think buying a second hand older CPS version or getting the new Neo r3 is better? the new Neo r3 is essentially a CPS with r3 bodykit though i'd have to admit its styling is very nice.

i noted there were quite a few variants of the Satria Neo...the first Neo with 110bhp...then they launch neo cps which comes with 125bhp using campro engine...after which they came out with the first batch of limited edition r3 which has 135bhp with pricing of 80-90k. followed by lotus racing edition with 145bhp.
in 2011, they launch another r3 which im unsure the specs...and this year 2013, the latest r3.

so from all the above models, which ones would be good base for modding. prices on mudah for campro engine is about 40-50...newest r3 is about 62k. which one would you buy and why?

This is the R3 you should be aiming for. Limited models available :biggrin:

http://img.rnudah.com/images/32/3211817640.jpg

http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Satria+Neo+M+R3-21497461.htm

Supfan : You slow la.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cars-for-sale/376254-proton-satria-r3-neo-s1-clubsport.html
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...-limited-edition-satria-neo-r3-clubsport.html
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...-limited-edition-r3-satria-neo-clubsport.html

3 clubsports were sold in ZTH sometime back. Dunno if still avail or not.

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:31 PM ----------

Also, the Satria R3 I saw in ZTH for sale were all going for less than RM70k. Almost all the R3 Satrias I have come across in ZTH are bone stock except for different rims and one had uprated cams. That was it.

Supfan : You slow la.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cars-for-sale/376254-proton-satria-r3-neo-s1-clubsport.html
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...-limited-edition-satria-neo-r3-clubsport.html
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...-limited-edition-r3-satria-neo-clubsport.html

3 clubsports were sold in ZTH sometime back. Dunno if still avail or not.

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:31 PM ----------

Also, the Satria R3 I saw in ZTH for sale were all going for less than RM70k. Almost all the R3 Satrias I have come across in ZTH are bone stock except for different rims and one had uprated cams. That was it.

Memang outdated liao me :rofl:
But yes, so far most R3 Neo selling at RM70K below and mostly stock.

i came a cross EG + KA24 hybrid with Type R Head this car setup was clocking best time for FF series....

This is the R3 you should be aiming for. Limited models available :biggrin:

http://img.rnudah.com/images/32/3211817640.jpg

http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Satria+Neo+M+R3-21497461.htm

these models all quite ex le...60k+...with 40k can get a eg but gotta full cash though... hmm, if looking at 170-200bhp with force induction, wouldnt it be a waste to get a rare r3 or clubsport cause it'd affect the balance as it was meant for NA.

Haha, the old GTi is nice. Bodykit and bumper looks well with the car too. The only thing I'm not too fond of is the rear lamp design. I prefer the original Mirage/Colt style rear lamps more :biggrin:
The lotus handling thing seemed to be over advertised in the neo.
Yeah, after transplant, you need upgrade lots of things of else the car's performance would not be balanced.
From Izso's point, Neo Clubsport seemed to be the most suitable Neo to mod. Sifu has given his advice :adore:

Old GTI? got many Satria 1.3 fit the body kit to look like that.....:rofl:

---------- Post added at 08:17 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:13 AM ----------

Memang outdated liao me :rofl:
But yes, so far most R3 Neo selling at RM70K below and mostly stock.

My friend who is track kaki and have Scooby ver.8, also bought a R3. He loves it even though power is different from his Scooby but the drive is different even for track and different style of driving.

The Satria R3 is a rev happy little monster. And daaaaaaaamn does it sound nice when revving to kingdom come.

Sigh.

Wish I had shitloads of cash so I can start a Rotary project car. I <3 rotary even though I know next to nothing about it.

The Satria R3 is a rev happy little monster. And daaaaaaaamn does it sound nice when revving to kingdom come.

Sigh.

Wish I had shitloads of cash so I can start a Rotary project car. I quote]

Ho's the weight distribution like?

Dream vanished, ubah tak jadi

---------- Post added at 09:20 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:14 AM ----------

Ya, i remember most shouting even Satria can tapau Skyline. I was like, unless u r using all proton
parts and engine then u can say that again. :rofl:

If the car is purposes built to race car spec, it can outrun a lot hot street car, even gtr

Low weight, decent aero, 300bhp power, and most importantly, balance distribution

---------- Post added at 09:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:20 AM ----------

Satria GTi R3 also damn rare wei, but having one is indeed gonna be worried all the time whether
your car will be stolen or broken into...while you are watching movie, shopping or watever :banghead:

Crime rate will never reduce under the same corrupted leader...

So only 2 Satria worth modding, GTi R3 and Neo Clubsport

You don't need to mod neo club sport, it was made for the purpose already

to all:
Look back to the aim of this topic
We're exploring the best price/performance potential "toy" to satisfied our driving thrill
Anything on high price point is no go. Now the topic has drag to like 70-100k

Never in anyone concept to buy new car and heavy modify, unless you're in proper Motorsport industry.
Forgot about vios, i have one, my fren one is manual 03 spec as well, know another vios clocked 2:50ish in sepang time attack, but that isn't idea car to star with, the Center of gravity is too high.

---------- Post added at 09:29 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:28 AM ----------

To pay up the car loan for 70-100k, you basically have 1/3 of your money gone, not to say you haven't start tune it yet.

The car looks good but for such price, can get some other performance japanese cars already but they are older than this Neo though.
Yes, we all came back to Satria because yellowflash asked which was a better neo to start with.

these models all quite ex le...60k+...with 40k can get a eg but gotta full cash though... hmm, if looking at 170-200bhp with force induction, wouldnt it be a waste to get a rare r3 or clubsport cause it'd affect the balance as it was meant for NA.
That's why it depends on what car you're looking at, only stated Satria Neo because u were
asking which is better to mod :biggrin:

Lots of wira, iswara, saga also masuk turbo engine ma :biggrin:
In malaysia anything is possible. :laugh:

Is true RM60K u can get lots of good 2nd Hand JDMs. ST202 itself around RM40 - RM50K.
ST205 around RM50-RM60K

Ho's the weight distribution like?

Dream vanished, ubah tak jadi
If the car is purposes built to race car spec, it can outrun a lot hot street car, even gtr

Low weight, decent aero, 300bhp power, and most importantly, balance distribution

You don't need to mod neo club sport, it was made for the purpose already

to all:
We're exploring the best price/performance potential "toy" to satisfied our driving thrill

Never in anyone concept to buy new car and heavy modify, unless you're in proper Motorsport industry.
Forgot about vios, i have one, my fren one is manual 03 spec as well, know another vios clocked 2:50ish in sepang time attack, but that isn't idea car to star with, the Center of gravity is too high.

---------- Post added at 09:29 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:28 AM ----------

To pay up the car loan for 70-100k, you basically have 1/3 of your money gone, not to say you haven't start tune it yet.

True also, project car aint suppose to aim for new and costly car. Can get any good 2nd hand performance car at that price.

Anyone can comment on Honda Civic EJ (4 doors)
Since EK3,4,9 (3 Doors) are quite expensive for that kind of age.

how is the weight distribution?

to all:

70-100k? How about EK9 or DC2 for a serious NA track car? Price also similar to R3 Neo Clubsport. If you want 4WD with turbo, can get GC8 Impreza WRX STI or earlier GDB Impreza (the round light version or the first facelifted version). Or you can go for Evo. Under 100k can get Evo 7 and below already. If lucky, maybe can find Evo 8 under 100k also. If you want to play with high power, then under 100k can get FD3S RX-7, Supra, R32 Skyline GT-R or R33 Skyline GT-R but these cars are rather old and not easy to find.

Yes, we all came back to Satria because yellowflash asked which was a better neo to start with.

That's why it depends on what car you're looking at, only stated Satria Neo because u were
asking which is better to mod :biggrin:

Lots of wira, iswara, saga also masuk turbo engine ma :biggrin:
In malaysia anything is possible. :laugh:

Is true RM60K u can get lots of good 2nd Hand JDMs. ST202 itself around RM40 - RM50K.
ST205 around RM50-RM60K

True also, project car aint suppose to aim for new and costly car. Can get any good 2nd hand performance car at that price.

Iswara, saga, wira, satria those masuk turbo engine because they are related to Mitsubishi ma. You can call them distinct relatives of Mitsubishi :rofl: Malaysia mechanic boleh :biggrin: