Choice of Project Car

70-100k? How about EK9 or DC2 for a serious NA track car? Price also similar to R3 Neo Clubsport. If you want 4WD with turbo, can get GC8 Impreza WRX STI or earlier GDB Impreza (the round light version or the first facelifted version). Or you can go for Evo. Under 100k can get Evo 7 and below already. If lucky, maybe can find Evo 8 under 100k also. If you want to play with high power, then under 100k can get FD3S RX-7, Supra, R32 Skyline GT-R or R33 Skyline GT-R but these cars are rather old and not easy to find.

Iswara, saga, wira, satria those masuk turbo engine because they are related to Mitsubishi ma. You can call them distinct relatives of Mitsubishi :rofl: Malaysia mechanic boleh :biggrin:

RX-7 not easy to maintain in our hot country. Get heated up fast it seems. Is a nice car though.
Supra, R32 and R33 is indeed rare. But good car to play with if pocket is deep enough. Looks real good too. Their design never seems to go outdated.

For me Clubsport Neo is still worth it no matter it is new or so. Like Izso said, which car can u find
is legal on the road with Roll Cage that no JPJ will kacau? The chassis is stronger too.

If can get one, is a good project car to start with.

It may cost the same as some 2nd hand JDM, but then those dont come with roll cages.

Proton, is either the Clubsport Neo or the Satria GTi R3

crazyyee - the Satria R3 suffers from the same problem all Satrias have - nose heavy. But the reinforced chassis compensates for the nose heaviness. Very pointy-direction-y but very light reared. I still favour the Wira 1.8 C99 chassis setup. But that's probably rarer than the Satria R3.

As for the EJ 4-door and all, I have no idea on the balance but had a chance to drive a stock one around in Singapore for a week. It's pretty light weight and that 1.6 is very well matched with the car weight. No idea about balance because never had the chance to trash the car.

DC2, it's rare right? how to rebuild high or not?

Not sure bro, never driven or rebuild one before. Rare it is but I remember seeing one for sale.

attachment.php

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cars-for-sale/422189-honda-integra-dc2-fast-sale-41k.html

not quite recommended. i dont think the chassis can support. i have seen alot 'twisted' wira.

Mitsu super saloon chassis is strong enough. Mine is with VR4 cyclone turbo. My club mates even have the RS model churning 240bhp....:driver:

how many round of track you wreck before with that car?
and how heavy is it?

how many round of track you wreck before with that car?
and how heavy is it?

I am not into track play. My club mates used to have their fun in Dato Sagoh track in Perak.
Not the more serious stuff in Sepang.....:rolleyes:

If more for track play, then the car too heavy....:banghead:

DC2, it's rare right? how to rebuild high or not?

Since you were the one who brought up cost, a DC2 will cost about RM50k cash and loan is not possible for this old car. Doesn't quite fit the criteria

---------- Post added at 04:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:11 PM ----------

I just realized crazyee is the TS. :biggrin:

Since you were the one who brought up cost, a DC2 will cost about RM50k cash and loan is not possible for this old car. Doesn't quite fit the criteria

---------- Post added at 04:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:11 PM ----------

Oh is it? I didn't notice Crazyee was the TS also :rofl:
Except go for personal loan.

I am not into track play. My club mates used to have their fun in Dato Sagoh track in Perak.
Not the more serious stuff in Sepang.....:rolleyes:

If more for track play, then the car too heavy....:banghead:

dato sagoh is quite twisty as well, lightweight car is always better choice.

that's why weight is important, since it's project car, more weight saving = less power needed to push.

---------- Post added at 05:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:03 PM ----------

old car is also problem as well.......
this is cash game, damn!

Just find one 2nd hand car that you like within your budget will do :smile:

Most 2nd hand JDMs are usually cash terms due to the age of the car. I think Altezza is still able
to get loans if not wrong.

There's one thing that puzzles me. At mudah, I saw DC2 (or even converted DC2) selling at around 40k-60k. But when I searched for EK9, many converted ones are selling more expensive than DC2. Ranging from around 50k-70k. Why? EK9 is better than DC2?

Ho's the weight distribution like?

Dream vanished, ubah tak jadi

---------- Post added at 09:20 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:14 AM ----------

If the car is purposes built to race car spec, it can outrun a lot hot street car, even gtr

Low weight, decent aero, 300bhp power, and most importantly, balance distribution

---------- Post added at 09:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:20 AM ----------

You don't need to mod neo club sport, it was made for the purpose already

to all:
Look back to the aim of this topic
We're exploring the best price/performance potential "toy" to satisfied our driving thrill
Anything on high price point is no go. Now the topic has drag to like 70-100k

Never in anyone concept to buy new car and heavy modify, unless you're in proper Motorsport industry.
Forgot about vios, i have one, my fren one is manual 03 spec as well, know another vios clocked 2:50ish in sepang time attack, but that isn't idea car to star with, the Center of gravity is too high.

---------- Post added at 09:29 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:28 AM ----------

To pay up the car loan for 70-100k, you basically have 1/3 of your money gone, not to say you haven't start tune it yet.

so true...if take a 70-100k loan, thats quite a huge chunk of your income going into the installments and not much left to do the modding unless you have real deep pockets.

---------- Post added at 12:22 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:18 AM ----------

Yes, we all came back to Satria because yellowflash asked which was a better neo to start with.

That's why it depends on what car you're looking at, only stated Satria Neo because u were
asking which is better to mod :biggrin:

Lots of wira, iswara, saga also masuk turbo engine ma :biggrin:
In malaysia anything is possible. :laugh:

Is true RM60K u can get lots of good 2nd Hand JDMs. ST202 itself around RM40 - RM50K.
ST205 around RM50-RM60K

True also, project car aint suppose to aim for new and costly car. Can get any good 2nd hand performance car at that price.

but think satria's shape is nicest among the other proton models being mention and hence i brought up the neo...i guess a good range for project car would be below 40k and preferable with loan so that can save the money for modding instead of paying the car in full cash.

There's one thing that puzzles me. At mudah, I saw DC2 (or even converted DC2) selling at around 40k-60k. But when I searched for EK9, many converted ones are selling more expensive than DC2. Ranging from around 50k-70k. Why? EK9 is better than DC2?

Demand and supply. There are less DC2's on the road compared to EK's. Besides, I think hatchbacks seem to be the 'in' thing among the Honda enthusiasts more than the Integra. Dunno why.

Less should be more expensive, right?:driver:

the price for both of it lebih kurang lahh..if ek 50k++ already done everything..just buy and race je..if dc2 u know u dont have to mod alot to go tracking..put the cash then go prrrrrrrrrrannnnnnnnnnggggg