DIY LED brake lights. Need help.

if DIY-ing was that simple it'd be called 'manufacturing' already. keep on trying dude. I didn't learn my DIYs in one day.

ok...my story or 3rd brake like starting like this...

as the original LED becomes older...rotten into bits and pieces as u can see in this pict (lower is older version) being replaced by those flexible LED

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/282957_190802411065213_704923281_n.jpg

later i use 2 row of this flexible LED to make it even brighter

https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/217624_190802377731883_948323486_n.jpg

the result is like this...nice but not for long....i dunnow why but this cheap LED died after few months...

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/227601_190802381065216_253897703_n.jpg

so i replaced with the DRL cum 3rd brake light.. (i'll get the picture later) :adore:

I also have the same findings like you pomen. Seems that does drivers for the LEDs is not very good.

Aih, I just did one miscalculation only, Izso. haha.

As you can see, it works but it just doesnt fit in nicely in my Persona kit.
I need to re solder so I can make it thin.
I had everything figured it out just I'm not good at being creative or artsy.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BNgWMWeCcAA02Oj.jpg:large
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BNgWvUhCMAIxtIv.jpg:large
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BNgXEFkCQAEceCK.jpg:large

Aih, I just did one miscalculation only, Izso. haha.

As you can see, it works but it just doesnt fit in nicely in my Persona kit.
I need to re solder so I can make it thin.
I had everything figured it out just I'm not good at being creative or artsy.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BNgWMWeCcAA02Oj.jpg:large
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BNgWvUhCMAIxtIv.jpg:large
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BNgXEFkCQAEceCK.jpg:large

why dont u just use breadboard like this??

http://www.luciani.org/getting-it-done/assembly-hints/breadboard/breadboard-bottom.jpeg

why dont u just use breadboard like this??

http://www.luciani.org/getting-it-done/assembly-hints/breadboard/breadboard-bottom.jpeg

Minimalizing costs. I can just make my own template anyway.

---------- Post added at 05:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:19 PM ----------

you use glue gun instead of soldering iron?:hmmmm:

Solder first, then to prevent water and loosening things, use silicone.

you can use this can of breadboard for trial and error. no need solder or glue. all parts can be reusable.

Solderless_Breadboard_with_LEDs.jpg

suddenly all the sifus show up! :biggrin:

Stupidcar : ask the question and you'll peak their interest, post some pictures and stuff and you'll get their replies! (the sifus)

suddenly all the sifus show up! :biggrin:

Stupidcar : ask the question and you'll peak their interest, post some pictures and stuff and you'll get their replies! (the sifus)

Ya wor, anyways, just left a few leds to solder then the case only.

Stupid car, correct me if I'm wrong. I'm seeing 2 x positive cable and 2 x negative cable to power you arrays. You using battery to power the test or 12V DC? The LED you use are those normal ones? advisable to use a driver.

I think my colours of wires are wrong. But anyways, I know which is which lah.
I tested it using 9V battery, I'm gonna use it for 12V.

My LEDs specs are flat bed, 2.8v min forward voltage, 5000mcd, 20mA, 120-140 degree viewing angle.

Er, Okay, what I plan to do is.

The first 2 rows of leds are to be light up when I switch on taillights.
The last 2 rows only light up when I brake.

If I were to follow the functions of taillights and brake lights, I have to use driver lah.

I think my colours of wires are wrong. But anyways, I know which is which lah.
I tested it using 9V battery, I'm gonna use it for 12V.

My LEDs specs are flat bed, 2.8v min forward voltage, 5000mcd, 20mA, 120-140 degree viewing angle.

Er, Okay, what I plan to do is.

The first 2 rows of leds are to be light up when I switch on taillights.
The last 2 rows only light up when I brake.

If I were to follow the functions of taillights and brake lights, I have to use driver lah

Aren't you building your 4th tail light with brake light function?:hmmmm: so surely need driver.