Sport car for fresh grads

Can, you highly tune the 2ZZ can already. Do things like open pod filter (or trumpet if possible), port polish, engine polishing, switch high cam, change lighter cam pulley, change the engine head, change manifold/extractor and etc. Then go challenge Putra with stock 4G93T. Can win. :biggrin:

I like Kancil turbo. I did a suggestion to my family to get one for me to use but my mother told me off that the car might caught fire if the wiring is not done properly in the swapped engine. :banghead:
So, request denied...

Those old mercedes and celsior with 2JZ is possible for fresh grad to buy. I mean to BUY only. Maintenance part sure habis already. :biggrin:

Still a legend la. Without Galant VR-4, what is Evo? Ancestor of Lancer Evolution. Must give credit and show respect. :adore:

CR-Z can count as semi sports car or not? I mean, it has 2 doors, it looks sporty, it comes with 6 speed manual transmission and it is not really that slow compared to common cars out there.

R35 is a highly computerized machine. Maybe that's why 2 pedals suit it more. Everything must be computerized including gear changes. :biggrin:

Get a Kelisa with K3VET :top:
Settle.

But then NA cars are much easier to maintain than turbo cars. Still is tempting to have K3VET in a Kelisa. 1 guy use to own one and he says shiok like mad and handles like a GoKart.

To make things simple, get SEG with 4AGE or new cars without any headache on repairs.

Get a Kelisa with K3VET :top:
Settle.

But then NA cars are much easier to maintain than turbo cars. Still is tempting to have K3VET in a Kelisa. 1 guy use to own one and he says shiok like mad and handles like a GoKart.

To make things simple, get SEG with 4AGE or new cars without any headache on repairs.

I want manual transmission, lol. And I kept telling my family that I only drive manual cars. Maybe I'm a bit crazy because I like manual transmission so much when so many people out there prefers auto.

4A-GE Corolla is a great car to start with. But I need to think of a way to trick my family to get that car if they want to buy me a car. Must think of a way to let them think that the 4A-GE is just an original stock engine. :biggrin:

I want manual transmission, lol. And I kept telling my family that I only drive manual cars. Maybe I'm a bit crazy because I like manual transmission so much when so many people out there prefers auto.

4A-GE Corolla is a great car to start with. But I need to think of a way to trick my family to get that car if they want to buy me a car. Must think of a way to let them think that the 4A-GE is just an original stock engine. :biggrin:

Can, you can go see 2nd hand car 1st. Then pakat with the dealer say u will bring parents to see.
Make sure say is original :rofl:

Either that you can buy from my gf's family. Selling 2nd hand cars but in Sitiawan.
One of the relative bought the Vios seems to be in an awesome condition when I see it.

Can, you can go see 2nd hand car 1st. Then pakat with the dealer say u will bring parents to see.
Make sure say is original :rofl:

Either that you can buy from my gf's family. Selling 2nd hand cars but in Sitiawan.
One of the relative bought the Vios seems to be in an awesome condition when I see it.

Great idea, haha. But I think my family will find someone (or at least someone that is recommended by a friend/relative) that they know if they want to buy 2nd car. Like that difficult to pakat already.

When I ask for a car, what they reply me is, "Buying a car is easy only, but the maintenance like servicing and petrol bill is the problem."

You know what, while I'm here advising people about the cost of maintaining a sports car/performance cars, I got back the same lecture/talk from my family when it comes to buying a car for me. Ironic. :rofl:

Great idea, haha. But I think my family will find someone (or at least someone that is recommended by a friend/relative) that they know if they want to buy 2nd car. Like that difficult to pakat already.

When I ask for a car, what they reply me is, "Buying a car is easy only, but the maintenance like servicing and petrol bill is the problem."

You know what, while I'm here advising people about the cost of maintaining a sports car/performance cars, I got back the same lecture/talk from my family when it comes to buying a car for me. Ironic. :rofl:

Ya, u need to check how much is the tyres and maintenance is roughly few hundred for oil change and etcs. Most important is Fuel Consumption of that car too. How much petrol can u afford a month and how much balance can u save for emergency. If 1 month save RM100, 3 months service once, u have at least RM300 savings for maintenance but then still best if RM200 a month to be safe. Tyres usually last u about 2 years if normal driving or 2 1/2 years. Some reach 3 years.

Just my rough estimation but have to sendiri calculate base on own affordability

Ya, u need to check how much is the tyres and maintenance is roughly few hundred for oil change and etcs. Most important is Fuel Consumption of that car too. How much petrol can u afford a month and how much balance can u save for emergency. If 1 month save RM100, 3 months service once, u have at least RM300 savings for maintenance but then still best if RM200 a month to be safe. Tyres usually last u about 2 years if normal driving or 2 1/2 years. Some reach 3 years.

Just my rough estimation but have to sendiri calculate base on own affordability

I had a friend who drives a first generation Suzuki Vitara 1.6 Auto. According to him the every week he needs to refill RM60 for petrol. And mind you, he is only travelling around in the small town of Kampar. Not even going anywhere during weekends. Only in kampar area only. Fuel consumption sounds very bad. I certainly don't want a car like that.

You can consider Kelisa, FC is real good. Take 5 years loan then u don't need to pay so long.
As long pay more downpayment monthly installment will be lesser.

You can consider Kelisa, FC is real good. Take 5 years loan then u don't need to pay so long.
As long pay more downpayment monthly installment will be lesser.

Which Kelisa? 1.0 or 850? The thing about Kelisa is, I feel like the design doesn't look as good as Kancil or Viva, haha. Just my opinion only. No offence to your car. :biggrin:

Kasi dislike :damnmate: Kelisa among all K cars, looks the best :biggrin:
Kancil not nice, door also feels more fragile. Dunno man, the whole car look a bit thinner :rofl:

Viva worse man. Heard lots of bad feedback before. 1.0 Kelisa la got 850cc meh? not sure.
I thought only Viva and Kancil have since Viva is more of a replacement for Kancil. But then
actually Both Kelisa and Kancil was discontinued.

Kasi dislike :damnmate: Kelisa among all K cars, looks the best :biggrin:
Kancil not nice, door also feels more fragile. Dunno man, the whole car look a bit thinner :rofl:

Viva worse man. Heard lots of bad feedback before. 1.0 Kelisa la got 850cc meh? not sure.
I thought only Viva and Kancil have since Viva is more of a replacement for Kancil. But then
actually Both Kelisa and Kancil was discontinued.

To me, if Kancil change front to that L500 Mira, it looks better.
Viva how bad? I thought fuel consumption for Viva 660 is better than Kancil 660... Since this is not a car for race or anything, so I'm thinking that fuel efficiency is the top priority.
Kelisa have 850 version. Lowest spec version.

To me, if Kancil change front to that L500 Mira, it looks better.
Viva how bad? I thought fuel consumption for Viva 660 is better than Kancil 660... Since this is not a car for race or anything, so I'm thinking that fuel efficiency is the top priority.
Kelisa have 850 version. Lowest spec version.

If you don't intend to drive fast or anything than Viva it is, but you got to test drive it and see the car
yourself 1st. Body looks thin to me. Don't feel secure in any collision. Well that goes the same
to Kancil and Kelisa. Still love kelisa design more :laugh:

go for 1.0L one so low cc end up u tekan more fuel only :rofl: Then become high FC :biggrin:

But then now have to change title "What Car should fresh grads drive?" LOL

If you don't intend to drive fast or anything than Viva it is, but you got to test drive it and see the car
yourself 1st. Body looks thin to me. Don't feel secure in any collision. Well that goes the same
to Kancil and Kelisa. Still love kelisa design more :laugh:

go for 1.0L one so low cc end up u tekan more fuel only :rofl: Then become high FC :biggrin:

But then now have to change title "What Car should fresh grads drive?" LOL

If drive safely and slowly, you wont collide badly into anything. Except if you say some other fast travelling car collides into you. If like that, that is pure bad luck already, even if you ride BMW or Mercedes also you can die if other people collides into you from the side at high speed. Therefore, I think that if I wanted to drive fast, at first must look at what car I'm driving first. :rofl: And not forgetting traffic condition. I'm not Mr "pot" or that blue R35 GT-R driver.

Kelisa front looks good if change to that Mira look but that is not legal with JPJ I think. The back of
Kelisa reminds me too much of Mini Cooper. :rofl:

The theory low cc underpowered car tekan more fuel become high FC is only applicable to that pro in Myvi 1.3 VS Myvi 1.5 topic. :biggrin:

"What Car should fresh grads drive?" Now that sounds like a more suitable title for newbies to post here. Why don't one of us start a thread like that and we continue over there? :laugh:

If drive safely and slowly, you wont collide badly into anything. Except if you say some other fast travelling car collides into you. If like that, that is pure bad luck already, even if you ride BMW or Mercedes also you can die if other people collides into you from the side at high speed. Therefore, I think that if I wanted to drive fast, at first must look at what car I'm driving first. :rofl: And not forgetting traffic condition. I'm not Mr "pot" or that blue R35 GT-R driver.

Kelisa front looks good if change to that Mira look but that is not legal with JPJ I think. The back of
Kelisa reminds me too much of Mini Cooper. :rofl:

The theory low cc underpowered car tekan more fuel become high FC is only applicable to that pro in Myvi 1.3 VS Myvi 1.5 topic. :biggrin:

"What Car should fresh grads drive?" Now that sounds like a more suitable title for newbies to post here. Why don't one of us start a thread like that and we continue over there? :laugh:

Lol! I'm far seasoned to start that thread. :rofl:
For me I like the Mira look as well but girls prefer the original Mira look instead.

Low cc more FC is only applicable if a person is driving a 1.0 and expect it to perform like a 1.3L. Example. :biggrin:

True, on collision if it was people's mistake, but then chances of death will be lower depending on how strong is the protection of your car. That's what I felt. There is this real story of a Lancer flip a few rounds, but then driver was unhurt. Due to a full stabilizer bars from ultra racing, his car still in 1 piece, but then if it was kelisa, I doubt even with stabilizer bars, it will surely be more severe than a lancer. Chassis not as tough ma...:listen:

Actually, the shorter the start-stop time of the car, the worse the petrol. My other Myvi only goes to the market and back with occasional run to the bank. The full tank can only go a max of 300km. But if driven to work and back (that's about 55km minimally) it can give me close to 400km or more depending on traffic conditions.

Lol! I'm far seasoned to start that thread. :rofl:
For me I like the Mira look as well but girls prefer the original Mira look instead.

Low cc more FC is only applicable if a person is driving a 1.0 and expect it to perform like a 1.3L. Example. :biggrin:

True, on collision if it was people's mistake, but then chances of death will be lower depending on how strong is the protection of your car. That's what I felt. There is this real story of a Lancer flip a few rounds, but then driver was unhurt. Due to a full stabilizer bars from ultra racing, his car still in 1 piece, but then if it was kelisa, I doubt even with stabilizer bars, it will surely be more severe than a lancer. Chassis not as tough ma...:listen:

What do you mean you like Mira look but girls prefer original Mira look instead. You mean you like Mira look and girls like it too?

I understand about the car's crash protection level but at low price budget cars, the difference of protection level won't really be that much to make much of a change.
BTW, which Lancer is that?

Actually, the shorter the start-stop time of the car, the worse the petrol. My other Myvi only goes to the market and back with occasional run to the bank. The full tank can only go a max of 300km. But if driven to work and back (that's about 55km minimally) it can give me close to 400km or more depending on traffic conditions.

Then I guess that every time the engine ignites, it needs more fuel to start it up?

For the thread starter, well all i can say is go for it, and just make sure you are not using more than 30% of your salary to maintain/modify the car, always save up for a rainy day.
And once you get your dream car. First thing is to make sure you install all those high tech security alarms, and of course never park your car in a non guarded place.
Try to be low profile as possible, try not to show off your car too much as it might get a lot of attention. A lot of attention= bad, as lot of envious people out there might come up with some bad bad things. Also, always educate your self with knowledge before choosing the car, get a forman to inspect the car before buying it, and after when you suspect problems with your car, try to do your own research so you might have an idea to pin point the problem yourself.

The sport car I suggest , well since most other users posted good suggestions such as silvia/fd2r
how about this? something rare?
http://www.infinitiinthenews.net/infiniti-g-line-adds-performance-coupe-g25-sedan/
the g37 roadtax would be an overkill, so thats why i suggest the 2.5, but of course i doubt it would be more powerfull than a standard s15/fd2r

Start-stop is fuel guzzling. Damn traffics.

Mercedes lah, 2JZ lah, Supra la. WOI, you all off topic leh. Sport car for fresh grad, where got so much money.

Time to get serious, I recommend My First Lotus. The Proton Savvy Manual 1.2L. Used prices range from RM8k-10k. It will out handling everything in its class for sure.

Fuel consumption, its a 1.2L how thirsty can it get. Maintenance, its a manual, known problems are coil problem for the old models, the TDC @ flywheel sensor, power steering sensor, aircond switch and dead speedometers. Most which can be checked when you are buying the car.

The car is 2005~06, relatively new. Satrias are damn old, from the 90s.

If I'm in a pinch and I need a city vehicle. Savvy is one of the top picks.

Potong Sawi uses Renault engine. :biggrin:
Such a waste. Actually I like the rear honeycomb lights.

When I was at uni, my dad got me a Honda Civic! But it was the 15+ year old two-door civic, first generation, I think. Attracted a fair bit of attention because it was a retro car and well-maintained, and a lot of people thought I was Penang lang because of the Penang license plate.

My dad got me a car not a bike because he felt bike not safe. Accident a bit, fall down, deep cuts, bones break, skull pecah, etc, etc.

Omg, yes, motorcycle, try to avoid it if can. But it is too cheap too resist. :\
Btw, the pic of the Civic please? I don't know which one are u talking about. :p

For the thread starter, well all i can say is go for it, and just make sure you are not using more than 30% of your salary to maintain/modify the car, always save up for a rainy day.
And once you get your dream car. First thing is to make sure you install all those high tech security alarms, and of course never park your car in a non guarded place.
Try to be low profile as possible, try not to show off your car too much as it might get a lot of attention. A lot of attention= bad, as lot of envious people out there might come up with some bad bad things. Also, always educate your self with knowledge before choosing the car, get a forman to inspect the car before buying it, and after when you suspect problems with your car, try to do your own research so you might have an idea to pin point the problem yourself.

The sport car I suggest , well since most other users posted good suggestions such as silvia/fd2r
how about this? something rare?
http://www.infinitiinthenews.net/infiniti-g-line-adds-performance-coupe-g25-sedan/
the g37 roadtax would be an overkill, so thats why i suggest the 2.5, but of course i doubt it would be more powerfull than a standard s15/fd2r

Isn't that a bit....expensive than the rest?

Wah this thread is still so active ka? Can a fresh grad really afford a sports car? With 2.5k ~ 3k per month? I believe he can, with the condition that his salary will only be used on the car. Others bapa mama tapau. Or he has a side income of 5k per month.

Hmm..lets say Im a fresh grad. I'm earning 4k per month (yes, I know companies that pay this much. But unfortunately I am not an employee). Then I have some side income from maybe selling T shirt, phone casing, insurance agent, direct selling, etc which gives me extra 3k per month. So I have a total of 7k. In cash, I will only have around 6.5k.

So now the assumptions...RM300 / month for makan, RM600 for petrol (assume its a sports car that can run on RON95), RM200 for insurance, RM200 for entertainment, RM100 for phone bill, RM200 for safety factor of overuse. So total = RM1,600. Thus 6.5-1.6 = 4.9k

Lets say I buy a 2nd hand sports car which price is around 100k. Every month I have to repay 1.7k (lets say). So I have 3.2k left. Lets say on average, the cost to maintain the car is RM700/month. Thus I will have 2.5k to save every month. So yeah...I can afford a 2nd hand sports car.

What if I dont have side income? Only 4k/month? Still can...makan roti, take LRT, cinema only once in a month, cheaper personal insurance, use less mobile phone, etc. It's do-able

So sports car for fresh grad = Less than 100k, can run on RON95, and reliable. My blind assumption.

Wah this thread is still so active ka? Can a fresh grad really afford a sports car? With 2.5k ~ 3k per month? I believe he can, with the condition that his salary will only be used on the car. Others bapa mama tapau. Or he has a side income of 5k per month.

Hmm..lets say Im a fresh grad. I'm earning 4k per month (yes, I know companies that pay this much. But unfortunately I am not an employee). Then I have some side income from maybe selling T shirt, phone casing, insurance agent, direct selling, etc which gives me extra 3k per month. So I have a total of 7k. In cash, I will only have around 6.5k.

So now the assumptions...RM300 / month for makan, RM600 for petrol (assume its a sports car that can run on RON95), RM200 for insurance, RM200 for entertainment, RM100 for phone bill, RM200 for safety factor of overuse. So total = RM1,600. Thus 6.5-1.6 = 4.9k

Lets say I buy a 2nd hand sports car which price is around 100k. Every month I have to repay 1.7k (lets say). So I have 3.2k left. Lets say on average, the cost to maintain the car is RM700/month. Thus I will have 2.5k to save every month. So yeah...I can afford a 2nd hand sports car.

What if I dont have side income? Only 4k/month? Still can...makan roti, take LRT, cinema only once in a month, cheaper personal insurance, use less mobile phone, etc. It's do-able

So sports car for fresh grad = Less than 100k, can run on RON95, and reliable. My blind assumption.

To make it short, for a fresh grad to really buy a sports car is too ambitious unless that person is earning like almost 10k or over 10k per month. :biggrin: