Stumbled on a fb post on 28Jan 15, i think this driver has to be the most shameless idiot driver of the month. What happened? Here we go:
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/1549294_10152731472075674_667672231079587090_n.jpg?oh=aeca8c811e26ff4e991b50d1207133ee&oe=5564B789&__gda__=1431534080_03e721a606b9f1c9f2d331d80dfddbd9
Posted by:
Jolene HuiMien
Yesterday · Edited ·
Dear Mr. NCL7326,
The food we give out is for the homeless people living on the streets only. If you can afford to drive a car, it means you can afford to feed yourself. Don't be a freeloader, please. By taking that packet of food, you are denying a genuine hungry person a meal. Shame on you.
Some more take already, nicely got into the Viva. When we finally spotted him and confronted him, he said - you guys are giving out free food mah. Why cannot take? And then, he pushed back his half eaten food to us - take lah, give it to the homeless then. Tak malu betul. Thick skin.
Some of our street buddies are working people but with very low salaries. Their finances are stretched to the limit already. So they look forward to seeing us for their (usually) one full meal of the day. We do feed a few security guards, parking attendants, and people like that.
The homeless buddies themselves, if they have eaten, will tell us to pass the packet of food to the next hungry person. They know how to think. This idiot don't.
For the people who are questioning us - This is our take. We are mostly seasoned volunteers by now. We are out a few nights a week working with these homeless people. Some of us have been working with the homeless for years. The homeless community know many of us volunteers, and sometimes even the homeless people will help point out to us who they think the freeloaders are. Because they themselves know who sleeps with them in their "community".
We usually have team members stationed at the food line to spot people who queue twice for handouts, and to spot people like him - not exactly penniless, with vehicles, but queue to receive free food.
We have limited funds, raised among our own friends, to buy food for the homeless people. We would rather give that packet of food to the homeless people genuinely SLEEPING ON THE STREETS, than to someone whom you guys may think is homeless, but sleeps in his car. So what if he sleeps in his car? He still has a car. And that is an asset. Those who genuinely sleep on the streets have NOTHING.
And with his selfish deed, we ran out of food (because that was our last stop), and 2 of our real homeless buddies who really sleep on the walkway 10 feet from where he parked had to go without a hot meal last night. All we had left to give the two of them were some biscuits and water.