Engine Oil from Tesco

mileage is 120k km and it looks like that with 10k oci..what do you guys think abt the pic?

attachment.php

Dude, that's not clean. Lots of varnish. Last time for my Wira I never let it get this dirty. Whenever I opened the rocker cover, everything was still silver or grey no brown/gold like yours. Varnish usually means the oil overheated or exceeded the operating temperatures and formed acidic substances. My suggestion is to either change oils or shorten the OCI

attachment.php

Dude, that's not clean. Lots of varnish. Last time for my Wira I never let it get this dirty. Whenever I opened the rocker cover, everything was still silver or grey no brown/gold like yours. Varnish usually means the oil overheated or exceeded the operating temperatures and formed acidic substances. My suggestion is to either change oils or shorten the OCI

i guess i should shorten the oci then.
last time the car is driven hard...very hard.
now,city driving only.
will change earlier...that is if tesco got sale lah..hehe

i guess i should shorten the oci then.
last time the car is driven hard...very hard.
now,city driving only.
will change earlier...that is if tesco got sale lah..hehe

Buy more when on offer. Keep some stock then can do change more often.....:driver:

I probably got 2 to 3 years supply already. Offer buy, warehouse sales buy, better cheap offer buy some more......hahhahhahah:biggrin:

Buy more when on offer. Keep some stock then can do change more often.....:driver:

I probably got 2 to 3 years supply already. Offer buy, warehouse sales buy, better cheap offer buy some more......hahhahhahah:biggrin:

Maybe I should buy from you then! :biggrin:

I bought another Shell Ultra 5w40 from Tesco at RM149.00
Saw in the newspaper that Giant also selling at RM129.00 only !

---------- Post added at 11:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:52 AM ----------

Even if using those expensive high end ester based FS like Motul 300v, HKS, Amsoil?

what about Royal Purple ?
Someone recommended AMSOIL and Royal Purple to me, claiming that these 2 are much better than Shell Ultra Full Syn

There are Royal Purple and AMSOIL (and other popular brands) imitation products out there......Be careful.
Pandai pandai choose and use the oil....

Someone recommended AMSOIL and Royal Purple to me, claiming that these 2 are much better than Shell Ultra Full Syn

I have no idea about Amsoil but for Royal Purple it's a very good oil that has excellent detergent additives. Once used your engine internally will guarantee be super clean with zero deposits. But that means if your engine is really dirty to begin with the lifespan of RP oil will be really short.

I know someone who uses RP as a flushing oil and final fill something else. Super rich fella.

I also mau try Royal Purple and see. Price cheaper than Prince also iinm

I bought another Shell Ultra 5w40 from Tesco at RM149.00
Saw in the newspaper that Giant also selling at RM129.00 only !

---------- Post added at 11:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:52 AM ----------

I have no idea about Amsoil but for Royal Purple it's a very good oil that has excellent detergent additives. Once used your engine internally will guarantee be super clean with zero deposits. But that means if your engine is really dirty to begin with the lifespan of RP oil will be really short.

I know someone who uses RP as a flushing oil and final fill something else. Super rich fella.

RP is also way too expensive for my shallow pocket so never tried and most likely will never try no matter how good it is.

Same here. To me if driving nice expensive car then can afford to use, but then I have seen people use good expensive oil in their Kancil engine also. Maybe is just us.....hhahahhahahha:biggrin:

Just bought Tesco FS engine oil last week. At promotional price of RM85 or RM 89 again.
Preparing for my BLM.
This month salary will buy the Total mc 3 for my waja next.

Just bought Tesco FS engine oil last week. At promotional price of RM85 or RM 89 again.
Preparing for my BLM.

Tesco FS that day no sale is like RM130 woh!
I used to use their SS 10w-40, those days offer time really cheap. Nowadays not that cheap already....:smokin:

Preparing for my BLM.

TOTAL MC3 can use in petrol engine ?
I thought INEO is for Diesel engine

If Rated API SN/CF, so can use in petrol and diesel engines....

This again :thefinger:

Jedi : there are 2 camps. 1 camp says INEO can be used for petrol engines and the other camp says there's high concentration of detergents in INEO and lack certain additives that make the oil unsuitable for petrol engines.

But then camp 1 will say they've been using INEO for years and no problem.

Camp 2 will say you open it up and see and do a UOA.

etc etc. It's never ending.

This again :thefinger:

Jedi : there are 2 camps. 1 camp says INEO can be used for petrol engines and the other camp says there's high concentration of detergents in INEO and lack certain additives that make the oil unsuitable for petrol engines.

But then camp 1 will say they've been using INEO for years and no problem.

Camp 2 will say you open it up and see and do a UOA.

etc etc. It's never ending.

Then Total still dare to rate SN/CF. Most diesel oil for diesel use only will be rated CF only without the S rating for petrol woh!

Yup, I know a die hard Caltex diesel oil users using in his petrol engine for years and still using, Some more buy 17L drum for cheaper buy.....:biggrin:

me....in current state will use just about any oil diesel or petrol equivalent as long as it wasnt recycled oil.... :biggrin: :driver:

BUT only on daily driver car....for race use i'll just stick to proven racing oil.....