oops, never pulled the lower pipe b4, mine only the top piece started leaking....
On your V6? Your engine looks damn complicated to do any self DIY....
oops, never pulled the lower pipe b4, mine only the top piece started leaking....
Everybody is on and on about head gasket. Let me throw another spanner in. Is the car an automatic? It could be an internal leak of the radiator between the ATF and coolant.
On your V6? Your engine looks damn complicated to do any self DIY....

oops, never pulled the lower pipe b4, mine only the top piece started leaking.... so i have only tried taking that off...

radiator piping and all that oklah still normal....
but some things aiyoh
-the aux belts i have also removed myself before (horribly cramp)
-the stepper motor, wana take out and clean... haven't dont it cause... its annoying, stabilizer bar must come off, battery come off, intake pipe, come off
-spark plugs ^ all the above + the throttle body + intake manifold (apparently i also need an extra long tool to take the plugs off, which i dont have)
-wana replace alternator, drive shaft must come off (perdana the same i guess? not sure)

Check the thermostat, maybe not opening fully.....![]()
Did you try off aircon? See the temperature can maintain. Just to confirm.
Water pump was changed, right? Then next to check should be thermostat
Are you also another DIY enthusiast like Izso, Johnsonlam? Hahaha. I think your spark plugs on the inner side head will be difficult to take out since facing firewall. Also, is your alternator located deep below, which is why you need to remove drive shaft first?
Anyway, regarding my car... I drove to Kampar and reached there safely now. But just now while driving, at a long straight, I tested the car by going quite fast around 120-130kmh. Was doing around 4000rpm. Not even a minute after doing that, my temperature rose up quickly. I need to release the throttle to let the rpm goes back down. Later on, I tried cruising 2 more times at 4000rpm and the temperature goes up very quickly again.
After I reached, I came down from the car and opened the hood with the engine still running. No leakage or anything. Everything looks normal.
This is how high my temperature went on until I release the throttle. Don't dare to press on the throttle further in case it spoils my engine.
![]()

haha i try diy as much as i can... since i already have the tools. Only thing i didn't do myself so far is change the timing belt and steering hose. Also can learn about how this stuff work mah, i find all this quite fun actually... only that im abit of a slowpoke haha take a long time to do stuff :sleep:
One mirror also cannot fold already, took it off and 'glued' a gear back in place... i think the glue gave way again cause its not folding again
as for your heating issue, i wonder if feeling up both the upper and lower hoses would tell you anything about the thermostat.... but if its not opening fully, probably cannot tell also...
Now it feels worse because can't identify what is the issue...Changing timing belt for V6 is a very complicated job. Even mechanics says that. Is a good thing that you are into all these hands on experience. Really can learn and understand more about your car. Glued the gear for the automatic folding mirror?
I can't get this overheating thing off my mind. Every time my car has any problems, I will keep thinking about it or talking about it at home.Now it feels worse because can't identify what is the issue...
as for your heating issue, i wonder if feeling up both the upper and lower hoses would tell you anything about the thermostat.... but if its not opening fully, probably cannot tell also...

chill bro, keep everything checked. Soon you'll find out the root cause.
when i at your age, my old sentra give me years of overheat. Hahahaha....
Sifu here will keep you on track.
same!! but after a while, some of the issues cause no harm and you will accept it and it just becomes part of the car.:proud:
there's this one gear attached to the motor, it sort of split in the middle so the motor spins but the gear is loose and stays in place.

Thermostat don't open easier to locate problem. If suka open, suka don't open or open halfway,sure difficult to find the problem.....lol![]()
I really dislike this overheat problem in old cars. Some people will come and tell me, is an old car, sure got overheat problems. For me, I refuse to leave the problem there and I want to break out from the misconception that old engines cannot work as well as a new engine.
Old car lifestyle.
Speaking of gear, I know my throttle body is faulty recently too. When the engine is not warmed up yet, idling is fine. After warming up, RPM just jumps from 1k to 1.5k up and down. My mechanic told me it could be the gear inside the throttle body broke down which could be replaced. If not because of that, the whole thing needs replacement. I think the gear is part of the idle speed control (ISC) unit right? Or what they call as IAC or FICD.
Now very hard to tell what is the problem except that know I know how to make the problem appear. Make the engine run at around 4k rpm, temperature straight away shoot up.
i still believe that most old car engines are more reliable/hardy than most of these modern electronic engines....
ahh and about that throttle body, common issue. Its one of the common issues on my car too. The damned stepper motor is sometimes giving me some issues in the cold as well. If its just the gears, there is a replacement gears kit out there. If im not wrong my dad had lots of issues with this last time. First time tukar everything, 2nd time just the gears, then third time gave up and converted it to a ficd setup... from what i paham, with the mitsubishi's stepper motor, the idle is very stable but never ending problem punya~ toyota's ficd is simpler, but the idle isnt as stable, it can fluctuate alittlebit
*not sure if true, but accordingly, sometimes the gears get stuck with gunk, so cleaning might help. other sources say that, noway gunk gets stuck there... i duno