Weird substance inside radiator

You're really determined during your younger days. Your mechanic is young also at that time? Sounds like you and your mechanic can be good friends back then. My mechanic now is like 60 years old, similar to your age. He said normally he will do until 6pm plus then he will stop.

Know my mechanic many years already. Some how we got along well, even became family friends, meaning my family knows their family too.
Those days many cars to play with. Also got some other members so we tune and test after his workshop off. Of course we still pay him for work done or parts used......lol:rofl:

i prefer doing it myself....be it car or food...

i repair all vehicle myself...

so wife should cook herself for our family....

eating outside/restaurant then thats where the money goes like waterfall....eat this eat that expensive...and today just 2nd of dec. she already borrow my credit card to fill he car petrol... :banghead:

Your name also called pomen, of course you are the one to repair the car, hahahaha.

For me, things I can DIY of course I'll do them, saves tons of money which is important especially nowadays. But as I'm getting older, things I can DIY get lesser and lesser. :(

As for cooking, we'll I'd rather keep it to myself or else my wife will whack me! :rofl:

You're good at cooking?

Know my mechanic many years already. Some how we got along well, even became family friends, meaning my family knows their family too.
Those days many cars to play with. Also got some other members so we tune and test after his workshop off. Of course we still pay him for work done or parts used......lol:rofl:

You still help out at your mechanic place now?

I know my mechanic from my grandfather. My grandfather knows him for more than a decade already. Now is my turn to always visit him instead of my grandfather. :rofl:

You're good at cooking?

I meant I better keep my thoughts to myself! :biggrin:
No, I'm not good at cooking. The only thing I can cook are rice, instant noodles, some spaghetti, fried eggs, bacon, sausages, french fries, and grill steaks.

I meant I better keep my thoughts to myself! :biggrin:
No, I'm not good at cooking. The only thing I can cook are rice, instant noodles, some spaghetti, fried eggs, bacon, sausages, french fries, and grill steaks.

Hahahaha, you don't want to oppose your wife when it comes to cooking.

Well, that is quite a number of things that you can cook. Grilling steaks seems not easy.

Hahahaha, you don't want to oppose your wife when it comes to cooking.

Well, that is quite a number of things that you can cook. Grilling steaks seems not easy.

If beef then easier, you just have to keep track of the time, often flipping and test pressing the meat. Somewhere between medium to medium well cooked can do already for beef.
If pork then more difficult and longer coz cannot eat pork still a bit raw so have to be more precise at medium well cooked which is fully cooked but not yet dry, very easy to overcook until dry though.
I'm not saying I'm good at it though, just good enough to eat lah. :biggrin:

If beef then easier, you just have to keep track of the time, often flipping and test pressing the meat. Somewhere between medium to medium well cooked can do already for beef.
If pork then more difficult and longer coz cannot eat pork still a bit raw so have to be more precise at medium well cooked which is fully cooked but not yet dry, very easy to overcook until dry though.
I'm not saying I'm good at it though, just good enough to eat lah. :biggrin:

Hahahaha, looks like you do have a lot of hands on skill with things. Cars, food maybe a lot more that you haven't revealed yet. I can't cook anything though.

I'll be driving my car for 40km later. Will see if the temperature is okay or not. Will also drive another 40km tomorrow afternoon when going back to Ipoh.

Your name also called pomen, of course you are the one to repair the car, hahahaha.

You still help out at your mechanic place now?

I know my mechanic from my grandfather. My grandfather knows him for more than a decade already. Now is my turn to always visit him instead of my grandfather. :rofl:

You did notice his id pomen. Yup, he repairs his own cars and something for others too....:driver:

Yah! If I am there and if he needs help. But nowadays much less dy....

I'll be driving my car for 40km later. Will see if the temperature is okay or not. Will also drive another 40km tomorrow afternoon when going back to Ipoh.

Looking at old thermostat, that should be at fault. If so, you should not have any more problems....:smokin:

You did notice his id pomen. Yup, he repairs his own cars and something for others too....:driver:

Yah! If I am there and if he needs help. But nowadays much less dy....

So, he is a real mechanic.

You and your mechanic are both old. :biggrin:

Looking at old thermostat, that should be at fault. If so, you should not have any more problems....:smokin:

Problem solved already. Tested just now. Reached at Kampar safely. Drove at 130-140 at 4000rpm at a long straight. No changes at all to the temperature. The other day, driving at 120 already can see the temperature going up. Thanks for the earlier suggestion uncle VR2. Also need to thank my mechanic for the fix. :biggrin:

This is the place where I fix my car. Really is what they call it as bengkel bawah pokok. But going to be demolished very soon. :banghead:

• DSC01195.jpg
    DSC01195.jpg
    154.2 KB · Views: 89
So, he is a real mechanic.

You and your mechanic are both old. :biggrin:

Problem solved already. Tested just now. Reached at Kampar safely. Drove at 130-140 at 4000rpm at a long straight. No changes at all to the temperature. The other day, driving at 120 already can see the temperature going up. Thanks for the earlier suggestion uncle VR2. Also need to thank my mechanic for the fix. :biggrin:

This is the place where I fix my car. Really is what they call it as bengkel bawah pokok. But going to be demolished very soon. :banghead:

But not his main profession.....lol

My mechanic older than me.....lol

I thought he shifted already?

But not his main profession.....lol

My mechanic older than me.....lol

I thought he shifted already?

Mechanic also can upgrade job what.

Your mechanic even older than you? Slightly is it?

Haven't shifted. The new place not ready yet, still doing renovation work. This place he rented for like 20 years already. Now changed new owner, want to sell off the land.

For him to shift and start at new place at 60, he still got the oomph....:biggrin:

He needs to. His younger son still got a year more to go studying in government uni. Older son just started to work not long ago. Plus, he lives in the house beside his workplace. Now he need to shift to another house with enough place in front for him to work. Live and work there. Although he got 2 more new houses, he said he don't stay there.

Tried again when going back to Ipoh at 4000rpm. No problem at all. Looks like problem really solved. Although the weird substance mystery is still unsolved. But now, the water on radiator no longer develops into that thin layer of film/skin anymore. The accumulation of those substance is also lesser. Could it be that the damaged thermostat somehow caused it?

Need to call Agent Mulder from X files......hhahhahahahhahahhahahah:biggrin:

At least for now, these substances are not interfering with anything. So, I'll just leave it like that for now. They look like very small biscuit crumbs now.

Today, a friend told me about her Wira got temperature rising problem when stopping with air cond on. Not so sure what is causing it so I say check if the radiator is clogged or not, is the fan running and check the thermostat too. It is a much older Wira compared to mine. 1993 model. 4G15 carb.

besides the coke flush... maybe u could try putting water bottle on the radiator like video below

http://www.imgrum.net/media/1013686296677426583_507932280

i did this before flushing the coke.. can see a tonne of gunk coming out.
http://i.pictr.com/22dxztvk8q.jpg

but its an extremely slow process if u intend on getting all the gunk out. the picture above was after i've done it with multiple amounts of bottles over a period of few days... still damn alot. only after the coke flush my rad was clear.

maybe can give it a try with 4-5 bottles and see wat comes out.

EDIT: i forgot to mention in my previous post though... before i did the coke flush, i had a different engine (that has gone kapow).... which was facing overheating issues due to a stuck thermostat. i did a flush during that time....shoving a hose in for long periods did not clear the gunk...water was brown as hell...and i think the hose was shoved in for a good 30min-1 hour. n yet still no clear water.. only brown.

i changed engine and still has gunk from the radiator. coke settled that... so i highly recommend it.

Today, a friend told me about her Wira got temperature rising problem when stopping with air cond on. Not so sure what is causing it so I say check if the radiator is clogged or not, is the fan running and check the thermostat too. It is a much older Wira compared to mine. 1993 model. 4G15 carb.

Hers having different symptoms. Your at 4k rpm high speed running. Hers at stop traffic with air con on, so I suspect the fan not working or not running fast enough. Radiator I don't think is clogged because while driving, means car moving no issues.......lol

besides the coke flush... maybe u could try putting water bottle on the radiator like video below

http://www.imgrum.net/media/1013686296677426583_507932280

i did this before flushing the coke.. can see a tonne of gunk coming out.
http://i.pictr.com/22dxztvk8q.jpg

but its an extremely slow process if u intend on getting all the gunk out. the picture above was after i've done it with multiple amounts of bottles over a period of few days... still damn alot. only after the coke flush my rad was clear.

maybe can give it a try with 4-5 bottles and see wat comes out.

EDIT: i forgot to mention in my previous post though... before i did the coke flush, i had a different engine (that has gone kapow).... which was facing overheating issues due to a stuck thermostat. i did a flush during that time....shoving a hose in for long periods did not clear the gunk...water was brown as hell...and i think the hose was shoved in for a good 30min-1 hour. n yet still no clear water.. only brown.

i changed engine and still has gunk from the radiator. coke settled that... so i highly recommend it.

You din't bring your radiator to any shop to get it opened and flushed?

Your old engine got kapow is because of this temperature issue or other problem?

Hers having different symptoms. Your at 4k rpm high speed running. Hers at stop traffic with air con on, so I suspect the fan not working or not running fast enough. Radiator I don't think is clogged because while driving, means car moving no issues.......lol

She told me about the car condition already after sending it to mechanic. Mechanic said her gasket spoiled. Need around RM1k to fix. I assume that is top overhaul. So, I told her about roughly what top overhaul is.

Gain experience become sifu now......:driver: