Engine Oil...

hahaha...yaa lor...old topic re emerged again...heee...

I already converted to new engine oil already...
CHEMLUBE...

yes chemlube rocks...10W-40 nice...

yeah bro chinozie...chemlube rocks!
im using it too!

Old thread reopened?
Anyways, I've just swapped to 4AGE 20V BT and filled up the engine with Toyo Lube Titanium 7000L 20W-40 Semi Synthetic engine oil. Checked the dipstick and it reads at "F" upon filling up. Now after about 1 week of usage, my engine oil drop to almost "L" level :(

There's no sign of white smoke during normal driving. But I can notice some smoke coming out from the exhaust if I rev between 4-5Krpm and lift-off my right foot. This happens only when the car is in parked position, I never noticed any white smoke even during aggressive driving though.

Any idea what's going on? Am I using the wrong type of engine oil? Any specific engine oil best suited for 4AGE 20V BT?

1 week and loss so much?? Although I don't think the viscosity is the cause in your case...perhaps u can try other oil to check for differences. i've been using 10w-40 oil for some time now and never experience drastic drop like yours.

smoke while revving is okay..as long it not bluish in color. have you changed all the oil seals when u transplant your engine recently?

hahaha...yaa lor...old topic re emerged again...heee...

I already converted to new engine oil already...
CHEMLUBE...

yes chemlube rocks...10W-40 nice...

chinozie.... good kaa Chemlube.... not familiar laa with Chemlube... expensive?

1 week and loss so much?? Although I don't think the viscosity is the cause in your case...perhaps u can try other oil to check for differences. i've been using 10w-40 oil for some time now and never experience drastic drop like yours.

smoke while revving is okay..as long it not bluish in color. have you changed all the oil seals when u transplant your engine recently?
Yup... very weird.
As for smoke, no bluish color. The only oil seals I've changed is 3 pcs oil seals when changing the timing belt. Is there any other oil seals?

Also, how to check for decent oil level on the dipstick? I read the Toyota 4AGE 20V BT manual and it states that "The oil level should be between the "L" and "F" marks on the dipstick".

I thought its supposed to be in "F" mark right? :confused_smile:

Just right on the F mark will do (measure this after the oil has reside back in the sump). don't pour the whole 4L in. yeap..only that 3 seals. Hmmm..now we have the Mystery of Missing Oil...:)

chinozie.... good kaa Chemlube.... not familiar laa with Chemlube... expensive?

last check rm85 per 4litre for 10w40 semi..i also using it for the last 6-7 years

Yup... very weird.
As for smoke, no bluish color. The only oil seals I've changed is 3 pcs oil seals when changing the timing belt. Is there any other oil seals?

Also, how to check for decent oil level on the dipstick? I read the Toyota 4AGE 20V BT manual and it states that "The oil level should be between the "L" and "F" marks on the dipstick".

I thought its supposed to be in "F" mark right? :confused_smile:

is there any oil leaking between the engine and gearbox? there is a gasket there...

mine got leaking now, usually it will drop on the floor, quite obvious....

Just right on the F mark will do (measure this after the oil has reside back in the sump). don't pour the whole 4L in. yeap..only that 3 seals. Hmmm..now we have the Mystery of Missing Oil...:)
Yeah, very weird case. So I went back and consulted my mech earlier today and he told me that the current engine oil can't take high temperature. So he suggest me to get Toyota semi synt or Castrol Magnatec.

is there any oil leaking between the engine and gearbox? there is a gasket there...

mine got leaking now, usually it will drop on the floor, quite obvious....
Totally no leaking bro. Parked the car on the floor for over 12 hours also no leakage. So the engine oil has got to be vaporising due to high temperature.

"The oil level should be between the "L" and "F" marks on the dipstick".

This one is when the engine is just turned off. When the oil is still in the passages and in the the head. Which is correct. In other terms when the engine is hot. If it is cold, the level should be at F.

It looks like you are burning oil. But first off, you use a very weird viscocity range. 20-40. Starts off thick and only till 40? Usually we get high performace oils in 10-50 or 15-60. And mid range ones 10/15-40 and low daily driver 20-50. I suspect the oil isn't that good. You should stick to 10/15-40. If you think your engine is still good. If over 5 years without overhaul, then should use 20-60.

Engine oil doesn't go missing without a reason. Usually leaks or from the pistons. Low smoke at idle doesn't mean there is no leaks. When you high rev, assuming the stock engine is running lean, then engine oil leak is hardly visible. Unless you have bad spark plugs then you can see the white smoke easily. Maybe you want to do a compression test and see if there are leaks in the piston rings.

Seals and gasket leaks are usually easy to spot. Usually there is residue or dust that sticks to it.

FYi there are newer generation engine oils either mineral or synthetic that reduces smoke. I can tell you that i actually found one that does that.

Sifu netmatrix, thanks for your explanation.
Yup, I was using some cheapo engine oil as I wanted to run in the engine first before getting a good oil.
Anyways, my mech told me to get Toyota Semi Syn (10W-40) oil and fill it up. This should eliminate any issues caused by the oil and if the oil level still drops, it has got to be the engine (I hope not).

I'll update within a few days...

anyshop in kepong area carry this Chemlube?? i'd just change my engine oil to HyperRev semi, its kinda disappointed.... at least i feel Q8 semi is better and Delphi semi also not bad...