Old thread reopened?
Anyways, I've just swapped to 4AGE 20V BT and filled up the engine with Toyo Lube Titanium 7000L 20W-40 Semi Synthetic engine oil. Checked the dipstick and it reads at "F" upon filling up. Now after about 1 week of usage, my engine oil drop to almost "L" level :(
There's no sign of white smoke during normal driving. But I can notice some smoke coming out from the exhaust if I rev between 4-5Krpm and lift-off my right foot. This happens only when the car is in parked position, I never noticed any white smoke even during aggressive driving though.
Any idea what's going on? Am I using the wrong type of engine oil? Any specific engine oil best suited for 4AGE 20V BT?
hahaha...yaa lor...old topic re emerged again...heee...
I already converted to new engine oil already...
CHEMLUBE...
yes chemlube rocks...10W-40 nice...
Yup... very weird.1 week and loss so much?? Although I don't think the viscosity is the cause in your case...perhaps u can try other oil to check for differences. i've been using 10w-40 oil for some time now and never experience drastic drop like yours.
smoke while revving is okay..as long it not bluish in color. have you changed all the oil seals when u transplant your engine recently?
chinozie.... good kaa Chemlube.... not familiar laa with Chemlube... expensive?
Yup... very weird.
As for smoke, no bluish color. The only oil seals I've changed is 3 pcs oil seals when changing the timing belt. Is there any other oil seals?
Also, how to check for decent oil level on the dipstick? I read the Toyota 4AGE 20V BT manual and it states that "The oil level should be between the "L" and "F" marks on the dipstick".
I thought its supposed to be in "F" mark right? :confused_smile:
Yeah, very weird case. So I went back and consulted my mech earlier today and he told me that the current engine oil can't take high temperature. So he suggest me to get Toyota semi synt or Castrol Magnatec.Just right on the F mark will do (measure this after the oil has reside back in the sump). don't pour the whole 4L in. yeap..only that 3 seals. Hmmm..now we have the Mystery of Missing Oil...:)
Totally no leaking bro. Parked the car on the floor for over 12 hours also no leakage. So the engine oil has got to be vaporising due to high temperature.is there any oil leaking between the engine and gearbox? there is a gasket there...
mine got leaking now, usually it will drop on the floor, quite obvious....
"The oil level should be between the "L" and "F" marks on the dipstick".
chinozie.... good kaa Chemlube.... not familiar laa with Chemlube... expensive?