DC5 Advice

Chick magnet car:

BMW E36. Confirmed. Doesnt matter 318i or M3. as long as E36.

DC5 I dont think so. I think girls dont like any cars with recaro inside...like evo, type R.....etc....LOL

wey subcon waiting like an eagle for 400th post is it??

how about E46?

whyla myvi must be brown color?

to all Sifus

I am thinking to get a DC5... saw one unreg 2004 facelifted. Selling about 153k-155k. Do you think is a good buy? I have been a great fan of K20A but at the same time I am also looking at Subaru STi Ver 9. Of course this is more expensive ... about RM193k. Tip top condition for this STi comes together with Vortex full body kit modified in Japan.

I am so confuse now... dunno which one I should go for. some other car I have in mind are

1. Fairlady 350z Manual version RM155k (no money to pay for the road tax and also worry about the fuel consumption)
2. BMW 318ci (2.0 litter) facelifted version RM140k(i think) (good for biz use as it is a continental car)
3. DC5 2004 facelifted RM153k (value for money..... coz i have no money for any repairs... so NA car would be a good choice)
4. Subaru STi Version 9 RM193k (POWER of course)

can any sifu help me to make a decision? I am a bit concern after reading the post here about the 1st and 2nd gear problem....

Hi. toiletroll

last time I also same like u, cant decide. That time, in my list got 350Z, RX8, STI ver8 and BMW 328ci. But end up, I bought my DC5.. hehe

350Z- good looking, but I need extra $ for the road tax. Its about RM348/month. If I add it to my monthly installment can settle my loan faster. I thing that I dun like is the quality build interior.

Rx8- Cheap road tax. 4doors! but when u wana close the door u will notice that, u need to push hard to close it(dun like the feeling) interior was good. It’s a good quality car.
but “heart many ppl said”, the engine need to be extra careful to take care of it.
Car is quality. But not much knowledgeable workshop to repair… cant drive hard..

Subaru STI ver8- nice boxer engine and the sound also good! The FC can be low and can be very high.. haha soo how u drive it lo…and also not much knowledgeable workshop to repair the car. If always fetch ppl, then can think about it.

3 series m-sport coupe- continental car, comfortable, “hi class” look, maintaining n mod will not cost as cheap as JDM car. And the value when u wana sell it.

DC5- I bought it because the vtec sound, handling , NA and easy low maintaining cost. And the body chassis is tough, coz type-r is build for track, it really a weekend track car. So dun think it will comfort like other car above here. Interior very simple
No much button.. haha.

And it got few signature problem in DC5, so far that I knew are:
- gear box (synchromesh)
- water leak in to head light and rear light(most of the face-lift version)
- when driving in raining time, the exzos will hitting ur car body, if you changed your exzos system to after market.(not all exzos but most) coz the pipe is too near the body and heat expansion but can easily fix it by adjusting.
The vibration really annoying u when driving.

(correct me, if im wrong)

when i book my car there got another 04 facelift dc5 with mugen ori body kit mugen ori GT wing and 3 defi it sold at rm155k. unlucky it was sold :banghead::banghead::banghead:

so, good luck bro!

If you want a 2 door sport coupe with low fuel consumption, not expensive, cheap road tax, cheap to mod, chick magnet then DC5 R is definitely for you.

However, you may want to check out the Nissan Silvia S15.

My DC5 R is a 2004 model and it cost me RM 160k. So I think the price they quote you is sensible. Red interior is nice but any stain will be easily noticeable!

hehe.. S15 doesn't have LSD and I don really like that car..
i prefer DC5 than S15 lor..

harlo bb1-man

eh.... hehe... to answer your question... I want a 2 door sport car(not hatchback), manual, nice looking, powerful, low fuel consumption, not expensive, cheap road tax, cheap to mod. Any recommendation? haha

actually i have heard about the 350z FC.. and even the sales person also asked me not to take the car.. oh... i have never consider about a evo9 before.... mainly is because it is a 4 door car.. although STi is also 4 door car, but i have driven it before and the drive is nice.. hehe..

do you think the DC5 unreg 2004 is a good buy? RM153k 47k kms done. black with red seat

Dun believe any salespersons, many of them know nothing. Test drive and spend some time when testing. like start the engine let it run for 15-20 minutes see got any other sound or bring your own mechanic to test. and take down the chassis number check the manufacture year.

chassis number for face lift version is start frm DC5-230XXXX

Definitely DC5R then. other candidates would be the S15 silvia (hard to find unreg) and the RX-8. However, having gone thru the selection process myself id recommend a DC5R anyday between these 3. S15 have more potential for hp, but thats it.

47k done does appear a bit high for an unreg 2004. As on the market is quite normal to find a 2004 with only 20k-30k mileage.

according to the sales person, jap recond car with low milleage is almost impossible except BMW. he said the usual practice by the car dealer is to adjust the meter to lower down the milleage. He also told me that usually they will not adjust the meter if the milleage is below 50k kms. Certain cars like estima and alphard, evo and sti they will usually adjust the meter. he even show me the clearance certificate from jap that shows the real milleage of that car. They will also not adjust BMW because the process is very tedious and very hard.

i told him that i saw 2 other units of DC5 with 15k kms done.. and he said for sure ithe meter has been adjusted.

I went back again this week he also adjusted his DC5 to 21k kms instead of 47k kms.. he said he got to follow the market milleage otherwise he will not be able to sell the car away.. hehe..:banghead:

according to the sales person, jap recond car with low milleage is almost impossible except BMW. he said the usual practice by the car dealer is to adjust the meter to lower down the milleage. He also told me that usually they will not adjust the meter if the milleage is below 50k kms. Certain cars like estima and alphard, evo and sti they will usually adjust the meter. he even show me the clearance certificate from jap that shows the real milleage of that car. They will also not adjust BMW because the process is very tedious and very hard.

i told him that i saw 2 other units of DC5 with 15k kms done.. and he said for sure ithe meter has been adjusted.

I went back again this week he also adjusted his DC5 to 21k kms instead of 47k kms.. he said he got to follow the market milleage otherwise he will not be able to sell the car away.. hehe..:banghead:

u can see the condition of the car, the steering wheel if low milleage it will look new n not shinning. and other condition like paddle, brembo windscreen/window rubber interior fitting n other part....
check it out! HONDA INTEGRA - Japan car import and Japanese used cars exports [ tradecarview ]

well arent these salespeople a bunch of mutherf*ckers then... heh heh

yeah to a certain extent you cant really tell for sure if the mileage is real. maybe its a good idea to just see the car's condition, its wear/tear parts and see for yourself whether the mileage is reasonable or believable.

bro,... nice nick,...
buy paper, not air,... hehehe!!!

buy unregistered NSX!!!

Hi. toiletroll

last time I also same like u, cant decide. That time, in my list got 350Z, RX8, STI ver8 and BMW 328ci. But end up, I bought my DC5.. hehe

350Z- good looking, but I need extra $ for the road tax. Its about RM348/month. If I add it to my monthly installment can settle my loan faster. I thing that I dun like is the quality build interior.

Rx8- Cheap road tax. 4doors! but when u wana close the door u will notice that, u need to push hard to close it(dun like the feeling) interior was good. It’s a good quality car.
but “heart many ppl said”, the engine need to be extra careful to take care of it.
Car is quality. But not much knowledgeable workshop to repair… cant drive hard..

Subaru STI ver8- nice boxer engine and the sound also good! The FC can be low and can be very high.. haha soo how u drive it lo…and also not much knowledgeable workshop to repair the car. If always fetch ppl, then can think about it.

3 series m-sport coupe- continental car, comfortable, “hi class” look, maintaining n mod will not cost as cheap as JDM car. And the value when u wana sell it.

DC5- I bought it because the vtec sound, handling , NA and easy low maintaining cost. And the body chassis is tough, coz type-r is build for track, it really a weekend track car. So dun think it will comfort like other car above here. Interior very simple
No much button.. haha.

And it got few signature problem in DC5, so far that I knew are:
- gear box (synchromesh)
- water leak in to head light and rear light(most of the face-lift version)
- when driving in raining time, the exzos will hitting ur car body, if you changed your exzos system to after market.(not all exzos but most) coz the pipe is too near the body and heat expansion but can easily fix it by adjusting.
The vibration really annoying u when driving.

(correct me, if im wrong)

when i book my car there got another 04 facelift dc5 with mugen ori body kit mugen ori GT wing and 3 defi it sold at rm155k. unlucky it was sold :banghead::banghead::banghead:

so, good luck bro!

wow... thanks for all these info.. i didn't know DC5 got these problems .... and now i am getting more confuse... whether i should get it or not...:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

lucky i dont have those problems....except for the water leak in the rear light! :banghead:

subcon- ya man got class till end of nov or somewhere there....

Raja- join pegi mana? confuse man.....:hmmmm:

btw, guys what happen to the hill climb this weekend? any progress or plan abundant....

subcon- ya man got class till end of nov or somewhere there....

Raja- join pegi mana? confuse man.....:hmmmm:

btw, guys what happen to the hill climb this weekend? any progress or plan abundant....

this month i can't join! ask vagabond! confirm or not genting trip. but definately i'm not going.

so bro subcon what engine oil u decided to use? change ready? my turn coming up next....btw do you guys change fuel filter before? cost? thanks.

toiletroll- dc5 seems to meet ur expectation. maintenance wise is fine. rx8 and 350z famous for FC. 318 can't be listed into ur comparison. anyway ur choice. :biggrin:

so bro subcon what engine oil u decided to use? change ready? my turn coming up next....btw do you guys change fuel filter before? cost? thanks.

toiletroll- dc5 seems to meet ur expectation. maintenance wise is fine. rx8 and 350z famous for FC. 318 can't be listed into ur comparison. anyway ur choice. :biggrin:

vagabond poison me eneos 0w-50 racing oil! RM 248 plus honda oil filter! i bought it at eneos 1 utama.

haven't try it though! i was thinking this saturday i'm going to change the engine oil!

Subcon:

don't know why myvi must be brown colour, but survey conducted over 1 year shows that myvi with brown colour attracts the most number of women !!!!!

if you're still not convinced, have a look yourself , even BMW cannot fight with Myvi Brown colour!

YKS228:

mate, here's a BIG secret .......... all aftermarket exhaust for DC5 needs to have aftermarket holder/bush called "down muffler ring" :biggrin:

that way, the rear tip and the center (slightly) doesnt hit against the bumper or chassis!

alot alot alot of people dont know this, EVEN some experienced workshops!

but if you know inside people at links or N1 or amoil ...... try to ask them and see.

Honda has also mostly corrected the synchro issue in the post-facelift version of the DC5.

subcon :

I hope you bought 8 liters .......... cause 4 liters definately not enough :biggrin:

Prasath:

Fuel filters are not necessary on the DC5, as our Fuel Tanks are constructed from a certain plastic polymer, if not mistaken, therefore does not have the traditional ferum oxide (rust) discharge from the contact surface as steel tanks.

so, there is very very (if any at all) need to change the fuel filter.

on another topic, original Honda OEM oil filters have a recommended lifespan duration of 10,000 km from contact with oil, but most people change at 5,000. should there be anybody on a serious budget and want to save RM 20.00, they can probably delay one change in every 2 services :biggrin: