gsr to vr4 intercooler

xinghonh

currently im using gsr intercooler with stainless steel piping
i wanna upgrade to vr4 intercooler with piping
wonder how much would it cost?
and how long it can be completed?
any shop to recommend?

well, if you are using the side mount intercooler i guess u have to change the whole system except for the straight pipe... If done in JIAN HANG, cost maybe RM800-RM1K kua. But need to contact uncle FStrader lor... Or else if you go there walk in... Hehe... :)

Or you can use Evo piping and do some modification... But cannot use the straight pipe. Why not go to EVO ic..?

xinghonh: me using gsr with vr4 i/c, the power quite lagg compare to the side mount i/c...the bigger the i/c, the more lagg it will be...so avoid using evo's i/c if u r using stock gsr engine..

as for me , i have tested 4g61t with evo intercooler ,
lag is just a small issue la bro, u get more performance with very minimal sacrifice on lag

without lag the car have mch better respond , but then again traction will be an issue

many gsr users are afraid to plonk in the evo intercooler and td05 turbo
i tasted them b4, its just a myth, diffrence is minimal

try contact mell_amir, he is on evo intercooler 4g61 only
try contact silver_knight , he is on gsr with bar n plate evo size cooler
try contact converge he was also on td05 4g61t ,

if ur going high boost, just get the evo ic once n for all
vr4rs ic is also not bad

jin: how many hp can i gain if i use td05+vr4 injectors+1 bar of boost..ppl told me td05 more lagg ler..

btw jin, i'm curious how will gsr on SGTI fare against B18C-type R on eg 2 door/eg 4 door...let say both use the same size of rims and tires and everything stock except for the air filter+exhaust..

jin: how many hp can i gain if i use td05+vr4 injectors+1 bar of boost..ppl told me td05 more lagg ler..

last my car setup..afc noe,tdo5 evo 3,extra fuel pump,standart gsr injectors,1.8 cam,wastegate 38mm,vr4 ic.boost 1.3 i get 275.8hp at joshua..

ayul: 275.8 on wheel?..now using wat set up pulak?..care to share?..me using afc neo+boost 1bar+2.5" straight flow piping..the rest all stock..x bleh pi punya gua punya keta..muahahaha

on wheel bro...on dyno jo want pull to 1.5bar..got 261 hp because boost spike...i think about my wastegate prblem cause i use cap ayam punye..after that i change piping ic and custom ic..after that tune on the road..boost stay 1.5..now my car still in workshop..piston 83mm,tdo5 20g,matspeed cam,management..hope get 3++hp...

boost 1.5 bar with stock pistons and conrods?..i've tried boosting 1.2bar with my stock gsr and only manage to get 220++ whp cos running too lean..later i decided to lower the boost to 1bar cos everything, scared later pistons and conrods blow..hehe..ayul, u sendiri pakai gsr kan, pernah x test dgn eg with b18c..camne result nya?

u use what turbo bro..extra fuel pump u got ke...1.5 with stock pistons and conrods....i just refer from my pomen..ZAKI PRODRAG...eg with b18c tk pnah trylaaa bro...but last year drag event at putrajaya..with good traction n luck i got second podium...hehehehe..lpas seminggu.ade game.valve putus sbb gune valve spareparts time timing belt putus dlu..u stay mane bro...

stock gsr turbo..nope, fuel just recently changed cos stock gsr's fuel pump faulty..dunno wat fuel pump i'm using, din ask my mech..hehe..i'm from penang..

as for me , i have tested 4g61t with evo intercooler ,
lag is just a small issue la bro, u get more performance with very minimal sacrifice on lag

without lag the car have mch better respond , but then again traction will be an issue

many gsr users are afraid to plonk in the evo intercooler and td05 turbo
i tasted them b4, its just a myth, diffrence is minimal

try contact mell_amir, he is on evo intercooler 4g61 only
try contact silver_knight , he is on gsr with bar n plate evo size cooler
try contact converge he was also on td05 4g61t ,

if ur going high boost, just get the evo ic once n for all
vr4rs ic is also not bad

Bro....
silver_knight is using kelisa lar....
fuselage is the one on gsr with bar n plate evo size cooler

Bump: just an information... A lot of ppl is sensitive with the word lag. When this word is being mention, do you mean turbo lag...

My car 4g92 with TD04L + Evo intercooler + piping. Spools in at 2800rpm. Which is standard for a 4G92 even if using small intercooler. Dun believe..? Another friend of mine is using almost the same set up but with bigger TD04HL + GSR side mount intercooler + piping. His set up spools in at about 3100rpm.

As to me... I wouldn;t call it a turbo lag when u use bigger intercooler. It'll spool in abt the same time. However, it'll take longer time to achieve full boost. that's all.This is all due to bigger compression volume in the intercooler.

Well, if Evo intercooler on gsr is going to be lag, then Mitsubishi must have made a mistake putting a big intercooler on a GSR libero GT that have slightly higher CR. Still within the 1:8+ range.

Well, no offence. just base on engineering fact and personal experience...

cz currently i jz bought a new taiwan vr4 size intercooler so need to know the pricing 1st
hehe...
my current setup is basically all stock 4g93p bot...jz chg the metal gasket to 1.5mm...now boosting 0.9 bar at 214hp....

cz currently i jz bought a new taiwan vr4 size intercooler so need to know the pricing 1st
hehe...
my current setup is basically all stock 4g93p bot...jz chg the metal gasket to 1.5mm...now boosting 0.9 bar at 214hp....

Oh ok. btw... Son;t worry about the intercooler. No big deal when u are talking about lag. Having shorter pipe length will improve in this.

mind me asking. what injectors u using..? Stock 4G93P head..? TD04L?

hehe...

Wow... niceee... Quite high hp on wheel if you talkin about stock GSR - and what more, yours is bot, 0.9 bar!...
Which Dyno? Dynojet or DynoDynamics?
I had a friend Dyno-ed his stock GSR on DynoDynamics and got about 160hp on wheel. :confused:

Also don't worry about the 'lag' with bigger intercooler/ TD05.... thats a little... errr... "rubbish?" hehe.... or maybe I just don't mind that 'lag' with my mods... I'm sure alot will agree with me...
I myself using TD05 with infinate Evo 7/8 size i/c on my GSR..... :biggrin:

gsr only got 160whp ah..dat's kinda little than i expected lo..

oh sharks i forgot i traded my gti head wid gsr head that had gone pnp...currently using gsr injectors ni...did my dyno on a dynojet...after chging to frnt mount...boost 1 bar i can get 220hp i guess:love:
hehe...well im not really worried bout the lag...cz i jz wanna know the pricing to do the piping, location and the duration to do it....

Stock GSR only rated 18+ bhp. So, 160whp is kinda consider high...

oh sharks i forgot i traded my gti head wid gsr head that had gone pnp...currently using gsr injectors ni...did my dyno on a dynojet...after chging to frnt mount...boost 1 bar i can get 220hp i guess:love:
hehe...well im not really worried bout the lag...cz i jz wanna know the pricing to do the piping, location and the duration to do it....

Regarding the pricing.. as stated.. there are lot of places to do. But as I mention, the cheapest way is modifying EVO ori piping. Instead od having the piping from turbo-> intercooler going above the IC, can go bottom actually. For the IC to TB, instead of taking a long route, can just go in from the hole under the driver's side lamp. May sound complicated, but just a little bit of cut and weld... Should cost u like RM350-RM400.

Its true buddy. This guy got 155whp with Dyno Dynamics. Stock Standard.
Like speed2horizon mentioned, GSR rated 180+ bhp. :burnout:

Oh, DynoJet.... but still hmm.... you've got quite good power there....

Basically, allow 2 days or more for them to complete the pipings.
The price varies, depends on the route and your car etc..... remember you need hoses too... silicon being the more expensive ones of course :biggrin:... :burnout: