Replacement of clutch

wow ... season for changing clutch laa... besides u, Eejart ... i know of at least 2 other MLOC members who experiencing Clutch problems ...

Changing hks twin plate is superb but have some annoying sound,open air-cond,sound more kuat,bukan tekan clutch kling-kling tat sound,other sound,macam kereta gua mahu rosak,hehe.I think all the ppl same,rite?

problem kaa.. I thought this is normal for Evo standard clutch.. wondering this new one will last me how long *scratch head*

on a side note, the workshop I sent the car to so far quote me the cheapest for the OEM clutch and labour also reasonable.. not sure if I can say in public so for those comrades in clutch distress, can PM me if you wanna know where and how much is it :driver:

I recall reading bro azizi say that HKS GD clutch is very unsuitable for urban driving.. dunno la but being a newbie I trust his word since he's the senior around here hahaha!

twin plate is actually very very good at speeding
but town drive bit suffer lor and when on slopes....worst...
and yes, its quite noisy, for those ppl dunno what is twin plate...they will start giggling and whispering that this evo is "bad condition", engine so noisy....etc etc...blur rrrrr

if posibble just change togeter with the crank shaft n drive shaft oil seal......use ori 1 better...no need sakit kepala future......:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

problem kaa.. I thought this is normal for Evo standard clutch.. wondering this new one will last me how long *scratch head*

on a side note, the workshop I sent the car to so far quote me the cheapest for the OEM clutch and labour also reasonable.. not sure if I can say in public so for those comrades in clutch distress, can PM me if you wanna know where and how much is it :driver:

I recall reading bro azizi say that HKS GD clutch is very unsuitable for urban driving.. dunno la but being a newbie I trust his word since he's the senior around here hahaha!

Eejart...that's just my personal opinion but dunno about others...i'll always prefer JDM parts/acc
but 2 products from HKS that I don't like...their clutches and coilovers....if u want to maintain your car as stock as possible...I rec go for OEM clutch...cheaper and hassle free...if you want to upgrade I rec ORC hyper single or OSG R2CD (i like those bcoz they just not too noisy but very grippy thou)...or Carbon series depends on what HP u looking for...:biggrin:

Cheaper alternative ..is Cabonetic ... ask Lanevo6 ... he likes becos stock feel of the pedal ... or OSGiken ... also stock feel of the clutch pedal ... If ORC, then if daily driver ur left leg gets a gym workout everyday ..... :rofl:

i'm using hks twin plate, considered light but i'm being told that it has a tendency to warp compared to ORC or OSG... is this true? if yes, what are the symptoms of the twin plate going to koyak and how much should i set aside for a ORC or OSG twin plate?

OSG Twin shud be around RM 4k ++... ORC Twin shud be abt. 6k ++

I have new HKS GD PRO Twin + new bearing that i'm letting go . Price between the OSG and ORC.

Twin plate going to go? Easy ... difficult to masuk gear, when pushing at higher speeds car feels like it does not want to go ... worse case is Gear tak boleh masuk unless really forced or on a slope, the clutch slips.. No grip ...

Yes, Mizu ... have a set of used ORC Twin with conversion kit + lightened flywheel to let go (without bearing) also ...

OSG Twin shud be around RM 4k ++... ORC Twin shud be abt. 6k ++

I have new HKS GD PRO Twin + new bearing that i'm letting go . Price between the OSG and ORC.

Twin plate going to go? Easy ... difficult to masuk gear, when pushing at higher speeds car feels like it does not want to go ... worse case is Gear tak boleh masuk unless really forced or on a slope, the clutch slips.. No grip ...

bro,
mine gd pro too...at high speed when going into 5th gear bit hard to go in, if i shift up slowly then ok, if i shift up fast then hard to engage...is it sign of worn out

wa... i thought u joking... :banghead::banghead::banghead:

btw, wat is the conversion kit for?

Conversion from push type to pull type lor ...

bro,
mine gd pro too...at high speed when going into 5th gear bit hard to go in, if i shift up slowly then ok, if i shift up fast then hard to engage...is it sign of worn out

Yes Sir ... either that or your pressure plate warped liao ...

Cheaper alternative ..is Cabonetic ... ask Lanevo6 ... he likes becos stock feel of the pedal ... or OSGiken ... also stock feel of the clutch pedal ... If ORC, then if daily driver ur left leg gets a gym workout everyday ..... :rofl:
Cheaper alternative ?? 1carbon disc already sgd1k i got twin plate leh....
Yup the feel and drivability is almost stock like no need to tekan tekan minyak or ram the car lah like other clutch......thats the best thing of it. Oh ya...keep in mind that it last longer than normal twin plates. Use for 2 year,drag race 6x launch at 4krpm, countless of high rpm shifting, 1 track day......still goin strong:adore:

OS is the next thing sure light pedal and also easy to handle unlike ORC. The bad thing about the clutches are the replacement kits.

HKS the cheapest replacement kit avail on the market i think i have discuss about clutch many times already.

Evoz,
If high rpm diff to engage then ur pressure plate got problem :burnout:

Mizu, it's pull-type .... same with the HKS clutches ... ORC & OSGs are push type ..

wa... got 2 types wan ar? i thought all clutches are the same. :hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:

for evo8, the clutch is push type or pull type ar?

http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080926132752AALHgRt

Simple explanation given here .... Exedies also are pull type ..

wat is clutch slip? can anybody explain how it will feel? izzit when u engaging ur gear and release the clutch, the whole car will like shaking all the 4 wheel?