4AGE bhp figures from dyno

bro plzlaa, that's kinda low for a BT 20V, be it 6spd or 5spd. Could be your timing set to very low or maybe the dyno is putting out lower reading. Have you tried Dynojet or Dyno Dynamics?

The reason why power drop between 6000-7000rpm is because VVT will cut off at about 6500-6800rpm. So that's why the power drop a bit, but if you notice.. it will start to pickup again.

Btw, how much did ST Wangan charge you for dyno? I dynoed mine last saturday at Millennium and got 126hp only, previously got 133hp.

bro pcmodding, true also la that its kinda low output, i was also kinda surprised to see that small figures but what to do except asking for advices from sifus whats wrong lor..

didnt try out other brands yet as this is my first time dyno-ing, maybe next time will try dynojet kua... They charged me Rm100 lorr for those few runs.. hahaa.. kinda expensive thou.. :P

ooohh, rupanya vvt activates till

bro linkeong, you think not enuff fuel kua.. hmmm, thinking to install emange soon la.. but certainly not at these hard times lor.. thanks for your advice bro.. :D

ada apa2 suggestion bro2 sekalian..? haha

bro plzlaa, that's kinda low for a BT 20V, be it 6spd or 5spd. Could be your timing set to very low or maybe the dyno is putting out lower reading. Have you tried Dynojet or Dyno Dynamics?

The reason why power drop between 6000-7000rpm is because VVT will cut off at about 6500-6800rpm. So that's why the power drop a bit, but if you notice.. it will start to pickup again.

Btw, how much did ST Wangan charge you for dyno? I dynoed mine last saturday at Millennium and got 126hp only, previously got 133hp.
bro pcmod, mine also drop hp..why ah? is that becos of engine condition getting worse? mine also kene overhaul dah, makn minyak itam kaw2 punya hehe..

Actually a lot of factors can cause power drop... fuel, timing, engine condition, compression, etc etc... I think sifus will be able to advice on this.
Btw, how did u check for the power drop? Dyno at the same place? Or just feeling?
If already makan minyak, try thicker oil or go back to toyota oil. If possible, try toyota mineral oil and do compression check. Later if not enough oil, a lot of parts will be damaged inside the engine when u pushing it to the redline.

Dear all great sifu here... I was wondering how much we can gain from port and polish. AFAIK, port polish is a method to get more air into combustion chamber. But for BT20V with such high compression, will it or will it not cause knocking problem? I'm running standard now but already suffering from knocking.

This is my AE101 BT 6spd dyno results, both the wheel HP and engine HP using Hyper Power Dynanometer. Top speed according to my speed meter was 220kmh @ 6xxx rpm then speedcut jorr..

So what do you all sifus think of my engine.? got problem ka..? Why there's sudden power drop around 6000-7000rpm range. apasal ya..? My torque graph also kinda cacat.. haha..

Quite stock to the bone except that it runs on 2.3'' paiping + muffler and without air filter.
Any comments guys/girls..?

Wheel HP Dyno Sheet shown here;
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/8651/wheel22.th.jpg

Engine HP Dyno Sheet shown here;
http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/4697/eng22.th.jpg

base on the chart, on wheel lost about 30%, that a lot...is 4age lost some much from engine to wheel?

wah ....ur Graph show unhealthy engine ler ...4AGE engine must show HP up until 7.8k - 8k rpm .....then the HP will start drop .....

maybe A/F problem ......or bad engine compression ( eat engine oil ? ) .....

juz my RM 0.02 .....:listen:

Actually a lot of factors can cause power drop... fuel, timing, engine condition, compression, etc etc... I think sifus will be able to advice on this.
Btw, how did u check for the power drop? Dyno at the same place? Or just feeling?
If already makan minyak, try thicker oil or go back to toyota oil. If possible, try toyota mineral oil and do compression check. Later if not enough oil, a lot of parts will be damaged inside the engine when u pushing it to the redline.
yap,dynoed at the same place. now i use toyota 15w50..where can i check my compression?

you can do it in any work shop that have compression gauge, very simple steps, juz remove the spark plug, lock the needle into the spark plug area, remove current from master coil, crank the engine and check for the compression for all 4 cylinders.. if at 193psi / 1330kPa and above consider very healthy already.. minimum is 156psi / 1080 kPa ..

wah ....ur Graph show unhealthy engine ler ...4AGE engine must show HP up until 7.8k - 8k rpm .....then the HP will start drop .....

maybe A/F problem ......or bad engine compression ( eat engine oil ? ) .....

juz my RM 0.02 .....:listen:

haha, thanks for your advice, shuld be my AF problem lorr i think.. haihs, my engine so cham.. but makan engine oil mmg tiada la... maybe shuld also do compression check like those other sifus said..

bro scottwrx, which workshop exactly could i get my compression check.? do you know any nearby klangvalley..? sunway..? klang..?

haha, thanks for your advice, shuld be my AF problem lorr i think.. haihs, my engine so cham.. but makan engine oil mmg tiada la... maybe shuld also do compression check like those other sifus said..

bro scottwrx, which workshop exactly could i get my compression check.? do you know any nearby klangvalley..? sunway..? klang..?

hehehe... this one i dunno, i usually go to my mech, ask him to gimme the compression and i do it myself one... u gotta ask other sifus already..

Hi all sifu
im thinking to convert my 4AFE to BT20V but i worry hard to find RON97 petrol now.
anyone of you try Ron95 in your BT with no problem?

btw anyone can advice how much it will cost (agar agar) for this kind of conversion at Penang region ?

Hi all sifu
im thinking to convert my 4AFE to BT20V but i worry hard to find RON97 petrol now.
anyone of you try Ron95 in your BT with no problem?

btw anyone can advice how much it will cost (agar agar) for this kind of conversion at Penang region ?

Hi, be prepare RM6K to RM7K for a complete and healty engine transplant run in your engine bay. :smokin:

Just dynoed today...hope this is healthy one...

Engine:
BLT with 6sp
NGK Plug cables
K&N Open Pod Filter
TRD Metal Gasket
Apexi N1 piping with RSR Invidia S-Flow Muffler

The rest stock.

Is it normal that the max torque in RPM range 5-5.5k???

Cheers...

• Image224a.jpg
    Image224a.jpg
    136.6 KB · Views: 529
Hi all master sifu out there need you sifu leading. what is the max & min tolerance compression between 4 cylinder for the Bt20v?

I just check mine, for the 1st & 2nd piston compression it’s about 190++psi nearly 200psi btw cylinder 3rd and 4th its about 200++psi nearly 210psi. There its 10psi lesser for 1st & 2nd cylinder compare to 3rd & 4th cylinder its that ok?

Hi all sifu
i though the stock BT hp is ~163hp? why from the dyno result it < 160hp ...

From wikipedia:
------------------------
Fifth Generation "Black-Top"
The fifth-generation 4A-GE engine produced from 1995 to 1998 is the final version of the 4A-GE engine and has black cam covers. This engine is fondly known as the "black top", and yet again features an even higher compression ratio (11:1), the air flow sensor is replaced with a MAP sensor, the diameter of the four individual throttle bodies was increased from 42 mm to 45 mm, the exhaust port diameter was increased, the intake cam lift was increased from 7.9 mm to 8.2 mm and the intake ports were significantly improved in shape, contour and also the width at opening at the head was increased. This revision increased the power to 165 PS (121 kW; 163 hp) at 7800 rpm with 162 N·m (119 ft·lbf) at 5200 rpm of torque.

most forumer dyno their stock bt will get on wheel around 120-130...mean factory 165hp - 25% loss..around 120hp.... it mean factory 165hp is rate on flywheel...

u will get 160hp on wheel if heary mod....