Comparison of Redline, Torco & Motul engine oil

Motul lah.... already recommended by Toyota for Toyota :D
If you notice, you can find "gold color Motul" sticker in your engine bay as recommended oil for Corolla. But not until 300v lah, too expensive already unless engine fully using Toda hardware.

If Motul, which one better is? Turbolight or Synergie? They say Synergie is better than Turbolight... but I'm just begining to use Turbolight. So far clocked almost 7000km with no noticeable loss of engine oil.

Btw, for gearbox I read that Redline is better than Motul. But I'm still using Toyota gear oil. Good enough for daily driving... hehe! But if Torco gearoil is better than Redline and cheaper, I might give it a try pretty soon!

Also, I wouldn't recommend using fully syn on 20V as fully syn oil was limited in production during the time when the engine was designed. Also, it will cause more harm than good to your engine especially if you don't know the engine condition (oil ring). If you insist on getting fully syn, try not to go below 10W40.

Just my 2cents.

be it whatever brand in the market, i maintained my 1jz wid oil at my convinience. if during my service due, i will just grab whatever oil i can get nearby as long as its a fully syn. and its not the same brand most of the time.. from Q8 F1, shell helix fully syn,top1,mobil 1,fuchs, back to mobil 1, and now Q8 F1 again...i swear i couldnt felt a single power differance in all the oils although it came wid differant price tag. maybe it have... but for the slightiest thing on earth i really couldnt understand one could spend so much for that lil diff in HP.

i change my oil every 3500-4500km depends on my work scheduele. my engine had taken far more abuse than most of the street car you see in the city... that include countless times of illegal testing, few years of official drag event, countless of illegal drift session, few times of official hard core whole day drift sessions, long distance and today i clocked 123000km. i suffer some valve leak due to wear and tear and the whole engine is opened up. it is absolutely clean, no dirt, no sign of wear on the main,conrod bearings, not a single scratch nor line on the cylinder wall and the cam journals. what i spent is only one a set of overhaul gasket set,refreshment for the ring set and a set of king's bearing for the conrod. and my car internal is absolutely purely innocently stock but yet taking a lot of stress wid more than 400whp and plenty of overevs ..

so my verdict let it be motul,redline,torco or whatever brand u get in the market as long as its a fully synthetic, it will be more than enough to protect you guy's engine.use whatever you guys are comfortable with as long as your wallet can take it. this is the first time i open up my stock internal 1j after so many miles done to it and it had proved that a well schedueled periodic maintainence is much important than fussing about which oil is better than the other.

Cause it's a Toyota 1JZ,Toyota can stand the abuse more than others i guess...but carefull maintenance is the key

the jz might not break but jz had some similar issue which alot doesnt know... which is the scoring and scratched of the cylinder wall, worn conrod bearing which will still required some pampered maintainence like usual engine does

Am using fully syn 5 40W toyota gold color bottle ever since i transplant my 20v svt which is overhauled first b4 transplanted 7 years ago. So far clocked 250k km already. Changed every 7500 km diligently.....So far combustion chamber still look pretty 'gold' color to me.....Never had an issue of less engine oil b4.....and never put in mineral nor semi syn at all.....
Tried once Mobil 1 gold ...no difference in performance only price diff where toyota is cheaper....
That's from my limited experience of 7 years in using fully syn in my 20v svt....

used q8 engine oil - good, no issue on ej20
try torco sr1 - better and stay put till now. only change vicosity due to engine age getting older

used q8 gbox oil & lsd (with lubegard additive) - good, 30k km no issue
trying redline now.. see how it is. (cheaper than torco and motul lor)

Anyone looking for this oil can pm me. A few bottle left, special price offered.

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 159
be it whatever brand in the market, i maintained my 1jz wid oil at my convinience. if during my service due, i will just grab whatever oil i can get nearby as long as its a fully syn. and its not the same brand most of the time.. from Q8 F1, shell helix fully syn,top1,mobil 1,fuchs, back to mobil 1, and now Q8 F1 again...i swear i couldnt felt a single power differance in all the oils although it came wid differant price tag. maybe it have... but for the slightiest thing on earth i really couldnt understand one could spend so much for that lil diff in HP.

i change my oil every 3500-4500km depends on my work scheduele. my engine had taken far more abuse than most of the street car you see in the city... that include countless times of illegal testing, few years of official drag event, countless of illegal drift session, few times of official hard core whole day drift sessions, long distance and today i clocked 123000km. i suffer some valve leak due to wear and tear and the whole engine is opened up. it is absolutely clean, no dirt, no sign of wear on the main,conrod bearings, not a single scratch nor line on the cylinder wall and the cam journals. what i spent is only one a set of overhaul gasket set,refreshment for the ring set and a set of king's bearing for the conrod. and my car internal is absolutely purely innocently stock but yet taking a lot of stress wid more than 400whp and plenty of overevs ..

so my verdict let it be motul,redline,torco or whatever brand u get in the market as long as its a fully synthetic, it will be more than enough to protect you guy's engine.use whatever you guys are comfortable with as long as your wallet can take it. this is the first time i open up my stock internal 1j after so many miles done to it and it had proved that a well schedueled periodic maintainence is much important than fussing about which oil is better than the other.

Agree with this. As long as it's full synth, from reputable brands, with the right viscosity, and within the budget or got good sales discount, then that's what I'm getting. :) Anyway I've never used those 3 brands before since they're just too damn expensive so don't feel like spending that much, I just settle for Mobil 1 full synth 5W50 at rm140/4ltr when on discount from Tesco! :biggrin: So far so good, no complain but again my car is just a normal sedan.