WTA: Evo8 or Evo8 MR?

bro azizi, my new engine still in the workshop not fixed yet... a bit busy, still busy doing renovation recently.. :(

i just tendered a new number from JPJ. need to change number plate first now. do you know what the Puspakom going to check for "tukar number pendaftaran" inspection ?

coz now i have exhaust and tinted (not dark) including front screen. dunno need to remove or not ? any advice very welcome .

I would like to have some advice/suggestion for my ride.
Model: EVO 8 MR
Mod status: Stock
My driving style in 3 days.
 Maximum speeds reach: 110km/hr
 Maximum boost: 1.0 bar
 Maximum RPM: 5k

1st day: Boost meter, boost controller & timer installation.
After ride for 1 hour seems felt something not right.
Problem 1: My ACD (on the panel showing all selected - TARMAC - GRAVEL - SNOW & ABS signal appear). All the sudden happened during driving time.

Then return to workshop to rectify.
The mechanic used the computer (MUT) to rectify it.
He say nothing wrong the he restart again.... the problem gone... restart again... nothing happened.... assume problem solve.

2nd day: Problem 2: The engine gives some weird sound in the morning during warming up or restart after long break/stop. The sound came around timing belt area ... the sound like faulty/rusted bearing (some said like fried nuts). After I drive the sound gone (let say 5km).
FYI, all lubricant and water has been checked before start the engine in the morning. All in good level…

Installation for alarm system begins….
During my travel back the problem happened again appear on my ACD panel.

3rd day: same happen… the engine give the sound and very unpleasant for me.
Now the car returns to continue the alarm installation. Then will be back to rectify any problem.

Might be I can have some idea to prevent kena tipu/kencing....

Thanks in advance….

Regards,
pangyau

Pangyau,

1. Did u use Apex'i turbo timer pen type??? If yes...that's normal...u have to be more patient when starting your engine...

2. Check in the engine engine bay...where the sound comes from??? for evo.. tensioner bearing worn out is normal...just cost you RM25...if the problem still persist so have to check 1 by 1...area to check...normal problem...tensioner pulley bearing worn out ...Main pulley crack....Balance pulley (brass colour) under power steering pump can change 1 unit...Last one air cond compressor clutch worn out...

hi azizi.aziz,

thanks for the info:-

1. Problem 1:
yes, i use the APEXI pen type timer.
so this product doesn't fit/recommended to use on EVO.
do i need to change to other brand? any suggestion?
or, i have to restart my engine when the signal on ACD appear until its gone?
all ready requested the mechanic to check using MUT...

2. Problem 2:
the sound came from deep down timing area.
at the moment security systems still in installation progress.
so the problem still not be clarify by the engine mechanic.

3. request info:
i want to remove my speed cut. any idea/recommended gadget/tools to use?

appreciate your help/idea...

regards,
pangyau

pangyau,

Problem 1...don't worry...still can use that Apex'i timer...but you have to wait all the sensor light i.e ACD, Check engine and ABS settle (off) then only you can start your engine...sometimes it's normal suddenly the 3 light 'ON' again...what u need to do...turn the key to ACC (wait until only 1 light appear) and turn the key back to ON...

But U have to remember the 3 ACD light 'ON' also a symptom of something wrong with your AYC system...but you no need to worry as long no sound like "kek..kek..kek" while cornering...

As to remove your speed limiter...a lot in the market...apex'i RSM , HKS SLD, Pivot...reflashed ecu,
piggyback ECU or stand alone ECU...but the cheapest option is Pivot...the 'cantik' one apex'i RSM for me...:biggrin:

hi azizi.aziz,

i just spoke with the shop son owner (Impreza WRX STI)
he recommended the HKS gadget, Speed Limit Defender (SLD)
he told me that the APEXI RSM will remove the cut-off but on the dash board still the meter cannot go over 180kmh...but the SLD will do the job and make rooms the dash board.

i already contact the mechanic and request rectify the problems
and to change any worn bearing in the engine.
hopefully my ride will be on good stock condition.

but at this moment the speed cut off my priority...
just thinking about the ACD and the sound came from the timing belt area (deep down)

regards,
pangyau

All 3 ACD light show up during ur driving time, normally is ayc gear box problem. I'm using apexi pen type turbo timer.. no problem even when i start up in the morning.
I'm using Pivot. the meter at dash board there can go up to 220 also... no problem ah..

im using the apexi rsm and the speedometer still moved past 180km/h.

RSM cannot buang speed-cut?. That one really sounded like 'kencing' one!! hehehehe

All 3 ACD light show up during ur driving time, normally is ayc gear box problem. I'm using apexi pen type turbo timer.. no problem even when i start up in the morning.
I'm using Pivot. the meter at dash board there can go up to 220 also... no problem ah..

But U have to remember the 3 ACD light 'ON' also a symptom of something wrong with your AYC system...but you no need to worry as long no sound like "kek..kek..kek" while cornering...

thanks guys,

now make me worries if something happen to the AYC/Gear box.
it will cost me a lot to repair and no car to work....:banghead::banghead::banghead:

regards,
pangyau

PY, i don't think u hv to worry la...all the lights come to light after the installation of the gadgets. so i pretty much guess thats the main culprit. i have the same case when i installed the alarm system. the SRS light is on. then send to workshop for MUTII checkup n just reset the ECU. no prob after that.

and i think d shop owner's son kencing u la...if the APEX'i rsm is able to remove d speed cut, why cant ur meter go past 180km/h? pure lies...unless u hv a 180km meter n a needle stopper...

you can try change the AYC fluid by a good mechanic. must blend properly to avoid bubble inside the fluid.

actually i think there are some evo7~8 (not sure about evo9) having the 3 lights up problem. not easy to solve.

thanks guys,

now make me worries if something happen to the AYC/Gear box.
it will cost me a lot to repair and no car to work....:banghead::banghead::banghead:

regards,
pangyau

Pangyau, no need to worry as long no sound like I've mentioned...and it's advisable that u change/service oil your AYC, Rear Differential, Transfer case and Gear Box...maybe it expired already...don't cost you much...

As for Apex'i RSM, for sure it will pass the 180 mark...:biggrin:

For the Apex'i Pen turbo timer, I do agree with morpheus...not all unit got this problem...BUT got some unit got this kind of problem...sometimes it's just an electronic thingy delay...

Update us on the progress...we are always here to help what we can...:wavey:

thanks guys,

i will update any further information i collect from this problem.
security system installation complete...
now they try to find where the unpleasant sound coming from...

regards,

hehe... looks like me, the first few weeks just after i get my evo, so many question. so many thing to scare. pray god not ur ayc la.. second hand recond need ... ehh.. 2k ah?? not sure la.. around that la.

hi guys,

the problem on my AYC panel and sound coming from the timing belt area("niose") still mysterious for the mechanic. even they use the fancy diagnostic systems, they cant find the sources/reason.
the "noise" seems disappear after warming up/start about an hours plus or driving about 6km.
then rest/break for 30min.... restart... the "niose" came again...

AYC panel: i have to restart the engine once again if 3 light show(TARMAC-GRAVEL-SNOW)
then it goes back to normal.... don't know how.... seems weird...

"niose" :then i have sent to another workshop (appointed by the dealer)

yeap....99% done..just the rear bearing now...havent got the time to fix it...part is with the used car...feels gr8 to hv finally solved most of the probs...nothin serious but taxing on time n my wallet...:(
dont think i ll do anymore upgrade for quite sometimes although already got poison by a Garret ball bearing turbo...:P

yeap....99% done..just the rear bearing now...havent got the time to fix it...part is with the used car...feels gr8 to hv finally solved most of the probs...nothin serious but taxing on time n my wallet...:(
dont think i ll do anymore upgrade for quite sometimes although already got poison by a Garret ball bearing turbo...:P

if you dont mind..how much is the bearings?