Questions on upgrading power

Mishima

Hi guys, currently I am driving the Saga (LMST type) but the last batch one with the 4g13p engine. This shit has no power and torque, so I'm thinking of certain afforadble mods on this car. So my question is, what can I do to increase the power and torque without affecting fuel consumption economy. Best if they are less costly and with the stock engine.

And one more question, why did my saga vibrates for 2-3 seconds when I turned the ignitation key off after certain driving period? Anyone can explain to me why? Thx for ur advises in advance yea... :)

No such thing as more power without affecting fuel consumption.

Hi guys, currently I am driving the Saga (LMST type) but the last batch one with the 4g13p engine. This shit has no power and torque, so I'm thinking of certain afforadble mods on this car. So my question is, what can I do to increase the power and torque without affecting fuel consumption economy. Best if they are less costly and with the stock engine.

And one more question, why did my saga vibrates for 2-3 seconds when I turned the ignitation key off after certain driving period? Anyone can explain to me why? Thx for ur advises in advance yea... :)

1st of all, what's ur budget? have a look at the other 4g13/4g15 thread, lotsa good info in there as well :wavey:

No such thing as more power without affecting fuel consumption.

what u say is generally true, but there are some exceptions, e.g. raising compression, u get more power, using the same amount of air/fuel

also, when i upped the cc from 1.3 to 1.5 a coupla yrs back, no increase in fc since the added displacement lets u alter the way u drive slitely, e.g. pressing less throttle to get car moving etc. etc.

[/QUOTE]what u say is generally true, but there are some exceptions, e.g. raising compression, u get more power, using the same amount of air/fuel

also, when i upped the cc from 1.3 to 1.5 a coupla yrs back, no increase in fc since the added displacement lets u alter the way u drive slitely, e.g. pressing less throttle to get car moving etc. etc.[/QUOTE]

Quite true really. How much did you get your stroker kit?

1st of all, what's ur budget? have a look at the other 4g13/4g15 thread, lotsa good info in there as well :wavey:

what u say is generally true, but there are some exceptions, e.g. raising compression, u get more power, using the same amount of air/fuel

also, when i upped the cc from 1.3 to 1.5 a coupla yrs back, no increase in fc since the added displacement lets u alter the way u drive slitely, e.g. pressing less throttle to get car moving etc. etc.

Budget should be less than rm2k bah... But of course, stage by stage lah. But I don't really get what u meant by raising compression and upgrading the cc displacement of the car. Mind explaining?

How about, increase of power but with slightly more FC? What can I do?

haha yea . gettin chip upgraded on Mkv Golf GTi will boost the horspower up to 40 , makes it producing around 240 hp , while having better , yes better fuel cons . they said that , higher boost on lower revs wat makes it possible . :D

for you bro , get head port n polished ? :)

even on heavy modded cars, a good tunner will solve your FC problem but still need to control your right leg la

also, when i upped the cc from 1.3 to 1.5 a coupla yrs back, no increase in fc since the added displacement lets u alter the way u drive slitely, e.g. pressing less throttle to get car moving etc. etc.[/QUOTE]

Quite true really. How much did you get your stroker kit?[/QUOTE]

i swapped to a 4g15 block, then a year or 2 later, i swapped in a 4g18 crank/pistons, so it was upped to 1.6, cant remember the costs involved edi

Budget should be less than rm2k bah... But of course, stage by stage lah. But I don't really get what u meant by raising compression and upgrading the cc displacement of the car. Mind explaining?

How about, increase of power but with slightly more FC? What can I do?

wat i suggest will cost more than that la...but can do one by one

i think...get a nice 4-2-1 header, powerzone ones are nice..rm3xx, may be wrong

then get around 1.7 inch piping and i like a straight through exhaust at the back..rm4xx

find matspeed/powerzone camshafts, and an adjustable cam pulley....about rm14xx b4 tuning/installation

then get a weber dcnf 36 or 40 carburettor hohoho make sure u find the right jettings/chokes...BUT these are hard to find..rm6xx to 7xx

skim engine head slitely to raise compression, rebore block n stuff in 4g15 pistons; i noe some ppl who had no issues at all with this...if u nervous about boring so much of ur 4g13 block, then just get a 4g15 block

Cheers!

Thanks of your some ideas, but can u roughly tell me how many % of power increase on each upgrades?

donno how to do that dude, can feel la when u do up the exhaust system...but not like WOAH but with the aftermarket cam, it will feel much better from mid to top

another big diff wud be going from 1.3 to 1.5

what i noe is that u gotta take care of the intake/exhaust first....then cams

i mean....this is what i would do if i were u, so even though say something like the cam is what gives u more horses but u still have to go through the intake / exhaust mod 1st

Really enlightening! But what I heard from most of the people is that changing extractors and exhaust system may cause to a bad fuel economy, is it true?
And how about if I just do either the exhaust or cams first? And, do the clutch give any affect one power?

they are right, it may lead to worse fuel economy is the exhaust system if

1. the piping size is too large
2. u r using a 4-1 header/extractor, generally the 4-1 type gives a narrower powerband, focused at the mid to higher regions, at the expense of the low end (more suited for revvy engines like the 4g92 mivec, b16a, blacktop etc. etc.)

so it can be avoided

do the exhaust / intake then u can utilise the cams better

a racing clutch does not add any power; however it will prevent power loss from clutch slippage, dont need to change this at the current state of engine, if stock clutch is slipping, just replace with another stock clutch

but if die die must have a racing clutch, the exedy 3 puck one is a good buy, it bites, plug n play, clutch pedal is not so stiff...

lol,

i completely agree with you 100%.

Im driving the same car, and a friend of mine from another forum, kept saying how his bro's LMST STOCK can keep up with my lightly modded ride with weber DCNF40's.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Our batch really is a shit batch, i dunno why... earlier batch comes with 4-2-1.

*edit,. btw listen to tofu sifoo, he knows his shit.

lol,

i completely agree with you 100%.

Im driving the same car, and a friend of mine from another forum, kept saying how his bro's LMST STOCK can keep up with my lightly modded ride with weber DCNF40's.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Our batch really is a shit batch, i dunno why... earlier batch comes with 4-2-1.

*edit,. btw listen to tofu sifoo, he knows his shit.

no sifoo la...just dat played with this particular engine a bit

silverstein, many ppl can say many things on d net la haha

eh....u just got ur dcnf40's ka? hehe methinks me noe who u be :biggrin:

Thank you, thank you! I know a little about extractors, but I got no idea about the piping! T.T
Got any idea how it looks like for a 1.7 inch piping? And if the exhaust is big while using 1.7 inch piping, will affect FC badly or not?
If got one or two pictures then I should get the whole idea. Thank you really much, Mr.Tofu!!

its just like ur stock piping, only that it is slitely larger :P

u can opt from 1.7-1.8 inches

mebbe it's just me la but i wud rather get a rear exhaust tong where the inlet diameter is roughly similar to the ori piping size, bigger a bit nvm la; there are plenty of 1.8 inch inlet exhausts around

its just like ur stock piping, only that it is slitely larger :P

u can opt from 1.7-1.8 inches

mebbe it's just me la but i wud rather get a rear exhaust tong where the inlet diameter is roughly similar to the ori piping size, bigger a bit nvm la; there are plenty of 1.8 inch inlet exhausts around

How about changing extractor and piping while using stock exhaust? Can it be done?

can, it will still be better than stock

fyi, powerzone's 14x hp 4g15 iswara is using a stock quiet wira backbox haha

can, it will still be better than stock

fyi, powerzone's 14x hp 4g15 iswara is using a stock quiet wira backbox haha

God... 140hp... That should be very high compared to a stock Saga at 75hp max? I don't know how much hp i can obtain by changing extractors and piping but what's the wira backbox u meant? Sorry ah, damn noob here.

140hp vr high meh??...