1.6 Auto against 1.5 Manual

zan

forgive me if topic sounds stupid. i am wondering, and therefore need some answers. whether its theoretical, or practically proven.

given 2 proton wira sedan, which one will win 0-100 acceleration from standstill? or let's say traffic light drag? consider both drivers are equally good and all cars are non modified.

1. wira 1.6A against wira 1.5M carbie with standard 13" wheels.

2. wira 1.6A against wira 1.5M EFI (either ECU = MMC/siemens/proton EMS400). standard 13" wheels.

3. as above but wira 1.5 using 15" wheels.

4. wira 1.6A against Wira 1.5M GLi SE with proton's ECU EMS 700 and 16" wheels.

any chances wira 1.5M will out-accelerate 1.6A? i dont wanna ask Jeremy Clarkson though but all other opinions are welcome. thank you..

The Wira 1.5M EFI versions come with 14inch wheels already. 13inch were only used for a short while during the 1.5GL (carb) auto/manual cars about 15 years ago. After that Proton upgraded already.

I believe 1.5GLi Manual with 14inch can out accelerate a 1.6 auto la. Maybe low end can la. but top end the 1.6 should win coz it's running DOHC 16v.

Btw, the reason why I think the 1.5M will win in pick up is because proton wira's auto gearboxes have very laggy torque converters.

there's no "Proton" 1.6 dohc engine as stock...

cyclonite said:
The Wira 1.5M EFI versions come with 14inch wheels already. 13inch were only used for a short while during the 1.5GL (carb) auto/manual cars about 15 years ago. After that Proton upgraded already.

I believe 1.5GLi Manual with 14inch can out accelerate a 1.6 auto la. Maybe low end can la. but top end the 1.6 should win coz it's running DOHC 16v.
dude.. my 1.5 EFI came wit 13" la.. hahahah. By the way.. there isnt 1.6 dohc.. get your facts right... dont just go barking.

hmm.. never tried with any 1.6A .. coz i just feel its a waste of time.. stock vs stock at traffic light? hmmmm.... i'll skip.

But i just have a tot, maybe the 1.5 has an edge on the first 100 or 200 meters due to the manual tranny... i guess... then the other 200m, the 1.6 with a higher torque, could come close...

i'll give it an equal fight.. gonna be a close one.

all assumptions... any real experience?

off the starting line..the 1.5 will smoke the 1.6 coz of the tranny..

im quite sure the manual tranny will have an advantage over the auto tranny. :albertein

The Wira 1.6XLi is no longer in production and the engine used wasn't a DOHC but a 16V SOHC. What was the model again? Was it the 4G92P or the 4G93P? I forgot which is the 1.6L engine. Someone, please clarify this for me. :)

astalavista_baby said:
The Wira 1.6XLi is no longer in production and the engine used wasn't a DOHC but a 16V SOHC. What was the model again? Was it the 4G92P or the 4G93P? I forgot which is the 1.6L engine. Someone, please clarify this for me. :)
itz 92P ... 93P is 1.8

1.6 is from 4G92p which is 16v SOHC.

if this engine drag with switching power mode ; Gear 2 then to D with out over drive mode,
I dun think 1.5 have a chance to over take 1.6.

autogear have a lot of method to drive, just depand on how do u want to play it. :D

boyzone said:
1.6 is from 4G92p which is 16v SOHC.

if this engine drag with switching power mode ; Gear 2 then to D with out over drive mode,
I dun think 1.5 have a chance to over take 1.6.

autogear have a lot of method to drive, just depand on how do u want to play it. :D
well.. thatz one way.. which is also pretty much similar to putting a bullet into the gearbox.... if u know what i mean. heh heh heh.

zephyr3d said:
well.. thatz one way.. which is also pretty much similar to putting a bullet into the gearbox.... if u know what i mean. heh heh heh.
Hmm, don't get what you mean. LOL. :D

there will be no chances of 1.5M to out-accelerate 1.6A on a trafficlight drag (given both driver and traffic are constant)..1.6A, just floor the throttle and you'll see..winner , i'm not sure but it'll be a close one..

done it with wira 1.6A stock vs 1.5A light mod..1.5 cannot out-accelerate 1.6..ask roy fatboy..i did drag with him

thanx for all responses. i am talking about real life situations here. he he

my wira 1.6A is all standard in looks dept as well as technical side. but so many times other wira drivers asking for pace setting...y'all know how.

these include standard and lightly modified wira, even a 1.3 with 16" wheels.
the best a 1.5M with 14" wheels can catch up is up to 2nd gear, he lost 2 metres during 3rd gearchange. i was pedal to metal all the way.

some may say i sound like moron but believe me there's nothing more than satisfaction. LOL and mind you, no animals were harmed during such practise. :lol:

and others may ask why i bother so much? the answer is : juz wondering is the 1.6 SOHC coupled with auto tranny really that fast??

btw, only wira CE comes with 14" wheels and that after announcement that it would be the last Wira off the assembly line. erm, 3 years ago. meaning the whole 10 years before - all wira 1.5 came with stock standard 13" wheels.

* CE = collector's edition

congratulations to you... but u better take care of your transmission, unless u have an intention to short live it to change to manual. ;)

astalavista,

popping an auto transmission like tat will shortlive the lifespan of the torque converter of the auto tranny...

i bought the wira 4 mths ago. already the OD has developed clutch problem. dunno whether the electronics or other things koyak already.
check new part price was RM850++.
complete rebuilt about 1,400.

anyway, have to bear with it loh, car now in its 10th year running. presntly i am using 3 gears only. at 180kph, its about 6,000rpm :(

any other response or thoughts??

zephyr3d said:
congratulations to you... but u better take care of your transmission, unless u have an intention to short live it to change to manual. ;)

astalavista,

popping an auto transmission like tat will shortlive the lifespan of the torque converter of the auto tranny...
icic.... but when dragging at the 3rd gear and after achieving the speed, having no more power and speed at that gear, we can always turn on overdrive to gain the extra ratio for fuel consumption and slight speed increase, no? Correct me if I am wrong here. :D

actually overdrive is for cruising and save f/c..for overtaking/climbing/twisting road, shud turn od off for more power..but this im not sure cos i used to do that and end up my car in workshop, overheating, head bengkok..n the mechanics said i shud just turn the od on everytime so no unnecessary stress to the engine..turn it off for overtaking/ need extra power..so right now just turn the od on and when need some push, just tekan habes..

zan - really can reach 180? mine 140 onli..rpm near 5k

My previoused slightly modified 4G13 manual using 15" rims pick up can overtake 1.6(A) stock anytime but only up to 3rd gear (110km/h) caused top speed is only 140km/h.