jtys said:Hey riggy, u mentioned earlier in dis thread bout running 45psi on d fpr in ur set up...
My set up pretty close 2 urs. Hot bits ext, 2" piping all d way, 1 ctr box n a 'S' muffler at my tail (entirely fr Everco), except 4 hot bits. HKS drop in n d rest stock.
But my fpr i'm still experimenting. Problem is....wen set at 45psi=2 draggy....i mean reeeeally draggy. So i went up bit by bit up 2 50 psi n was fine bout a day or so n it starts 2 pink. Even went up 2 60 psi oso eventually it pinks. Cant go below 50 psi otherwise it'll b 2 rich. So i'm stuck btween 50 n 60 psi.
But wen i rev hard a few times(on d road), pinking stops but comes back after a while. Any idea wats wrong??
lost.......lost........:retarded: :confused_smile:
i think you got it upsidedown...going above 50psi means you got very high pressure in the line. Imagine your garden hose, you open the tap half - imagine this to be your fuel pump , you use your thumb to cover half the hole - imagine this to be your regulator. see that the water shoots out stronger but if you cover the hole too much with your thumb, all that comes out is a small little (while strong) spray of water - meaning you got pressure but NO VOLUME. thats whats happening to your ride. What you need is more fuel, too high a pressure will actually give you less. UNLESS, you try opening the tap on full (means an upgraded fuel pump) but still, i found out that i still dont need the high pressure, less is somehow more. you get it? for example, i run 240cc injectors and use a pressure much-much lower than the stock 36psi.
You will NOT be too rich using your regulator below 50psi as firstly, the only mods you got are the exhaust and air filter mods. Stock pressure is around 36psi - so i dont think you'll be running rich. Try the lower pressures, dont always think that higher pressure means more power, unlearn what you have learnt.
your pinking could be that you've got tons of carbon in your combustion chamber due to running too high pressures (or too much fuel making all the unburnt petrol turn to carbon and sit in the chamber - i dont really know - just a wild guess). When you floor the accelrator, the pressure created by the high rpms temporarily clear the chamber of all the soot. hence no more pinking for the moment.
suggest:
1. use lower pressures - try 40psi
2. get your ignition timing adjusted
3. use 97ron petrol as your engine runs best above 95ron - i say this becoz some ppl do use the 92 ron due to high petrol prices nowadays.
regards