1.6ers Owners (Mitsi/Proton)

hey where all poeple gone?
balik kampung already ka? :ph34r: :ph34r:

Originally posted by amad108..@Nov 6 2004, 22:42
thinking to change my timing belt belting and tensioner bearing ar.. plus intallation how much ar? (the time has come lor)
amad...

if u using original MMC set timing belt ( all in one box) around 200rm (+- rm20) .. price no including water pump..

installation around 50-120.. depend to workshop..

i bought a set of timing belt rm214 including belt for aircond/power sterring and alternator.. and installation 50bucks.. total 264...heheh

workshop at seriab ,kangar , perlis :lol: :lol: heheheh

updated on proton track carnival

Dear sir/madam

Date: November 20, 2004

Re: PROTON TRACK CARNIVAL AT SEPANG CIRCUIT ON DEC 5, 2004

With regards to the above, we wish to inform you that PROTON Holdings Berhad will be organising round two of the PROTON Track Carnival at the Sepang International Circuit from December 4-5, 2004.

Activities planned for the two-day event include; the Sprint and Enduro Battles, a Saturday night sprint test, live concert by several popular local artistes, a PROTON auto salon, the PROTON Street Shoot-out, an auto trade and sales exhibition, and many other side activities for the family and children.

It gives us great pleasure to invite your club to participate in the event by way of the following:

1. You are invited to conduct a membership drive for your club, display vehicles, promote and sell your club's merchandise during the event on SUNDAY, Dec 5, 2004 from 9am – 5pm. Our only request is that your products and goods displayed or sold during the event be strictly restricted and related to Proton cars only. You are allowed to display cars (Proton only) and put up any necessary equipment, banners, decoration etc required for your club exhibition and sales area. Your participation is complimentary and free of charge. (limited to a maximum of 10 display cars and 20 people). Additional entries at RM10 per person.

2. We are also inviting the club to register at least 15 cars to participate in a car component test (CCT) at the Sepang track on SUNDAY, Dec 5, 2004 from 9am. This event is not a race but to provide club members with the opportunity to drive their cars around the circuit. Your participation is complimentary and free of charge.

Please find enclosed the details of the event.

Event: PROTON Track Carnival
Date: December 5, 2004 (SUNDAY)
1. Venue for display cars/promotion booth: Welcome Centre Sepang International Circuit (main grandstand area)
Time: 9am – 6pm
Tent measurement: 10 x 20
Facilities available at tents: 2 square tables/4 chairs/1 fan/1 power point/lights

2. Venue for Car Component Test: Sepang track (North track entrance)
Time: 9am (registration)

Please confirm your participation with Harris Iskandar Taib at 016-3944497 or e-mail to [email protected] by Nov 25, 2004.

Harris Iskandar Taib
Managing Director
HIT Communications

(Issued on behalf of PROTON Holdings Berhad by HIT Communications. This is a computer generated letter and does not require any signature)

INFORMATION UPDATE (2)

Dear sir/madam

Date: November 20, 2004

Re: PROTON TRACK CARNIVAL AT SEPANG CIRCUIT ON DEC 5, 2004

It gives us great pleasure to invite your club to participate in the event by way of the following:

1. Your club (for Proton cars only) is invited to conduct a membership drive, display vehicles, promote and sell your club's merchandise during the event on SUNDAY, Dec 5, 2004 from 9am – 5pm. Our only request is that your products and goods displayed or sold during the event be strictly restricted and related to Proton cars only. You are allowed to display cars (Proton only) and put up any necessary equipment, banners, decoration etc required for your club exhibition and sales area. Your participation is complimentary and free of charge (unlimited number of cars/individuals).
Venue/point of registration: Sepang Track main entrance to grandstands/welcome centre
Tent measurement: 10 x 20 ft
Facilities available at tents (free): 2 square tables/4 chairs/1 fan/1 power point/lights
Club requirements: Club need not be registered with Registrar of Societies but can be represented by a pro-tem committee or can be represented by a group with a strong following of members.

2. We are also inviting the club to register at least 15 cars (the more the merrier) to participate in a car component test (CCT) at the Sepang track on SUNDAY, Dec 5, 2004 from 9am. This event is not a race but to provide club members with the opportunity to drive their cars around the circuit. Your participation is complimentary and free of charge.
Venue/point of registration: Sepang Track main paddock/pit access (North track)
NOTE: All participating drivers and passengers must sign an indemnity form. Cars participating in the CCT can later proceed to the exhibition/display area for group parking.

Please confirm your participation with Harris Iskandar Taib at 016-3944497 or e-mail to [email protected] by Nov 25, 2004.

Failure to confirm will be taken as non-participation.

Harris Iskandar Taib
Managing Director
HIT Communications

(Issued on behalf of PROTON Holdings Berhad by HIT Communications. This is a computer generated letter and does not require any signature)

hey 1.6 owners...
i got 1 question here..
what r ur current suspension setup?
i'm thinkin of using tanabe springs+standard shocks
but, there r few types of tanabe- comfort,style, and grip
any of u using it?
or maybe can share ur setup?
tq

my suspension setup currently :
- absorber monroe sensatrac front
- absorber kayaba (gas) rear
- front use GSR sport spring
- rear standard cut 1 spring

comfort and good handling... :D

Please be informed that helmets are compulsory for all those who want to take part in the proton track carnival (CCT) experience at the sepang circuit.
Only those wearing helmets will be allowed into the track.
Motorcycle helmets ok. Construction helmets no.
Cheers!

Originally posted by mandatory88@Nov 23 2004, 11:48
hey 1.6 owners...
i got 1 question here..
any of u using it?
tq
anyone???
where all 1.6 owners gone??? :ph34r: :ph34r:

Ye amad..

I also want to change my suspension. Currently using std at front (donno wat brand) and monroe senstronic at back..Need to change as they r already 2 years old..Saw at accesorry shop-kakimotor HWL adjustable at RM1680..Is that brand ok ka?.. :ph34r:

Currrently I'm using Tein S-tech Spring with stock absorber at the front and monroe shock at rear. Juz bought the spring last month, however... feel the rebound very strong....like bouncing all the way when driving at kesas. Question is..... is it probably due to the absorber cannot match the spring or is it because front and rear diff absorber on the same spring give an uneven rebound or other reason. Wat should i do if i wan to keep the spring? Will changing the absorber helps? Need to change all four?

I'm really an amatuer in suspension, hope u guys can give some comments.
Thanks in advance

muncee..
i think for ur case, the spring still new so that why u got uneven rebound and futhermore the brand is famous... the sport spring usually design to get lower and harder damping so i think that is good thing u got uneven rebound... n also is TEIN ma.. hehe

for along term that spring can take care the absorber so the damping always attack spring first then absorber... ;)

correct me if i'm wrong..

Originally posted by amad108..@Nov 29 2004, 11:09
muncee..
i think for ur case, the spring still new so that why u got uneven rebound and futhermore the brand is famous... the sport spring usually design to get lower and harder damping so i think that is good thing u got uneven rebound... n also is TEIN ma.. hehe

for along term that spring can take care the absorber so the damping always attack spring first then absorber... ;)

correct me if i'm wrong..
Hello,

old springs will sag, but new springs wont make bounce or rebound be uneven. If not no one would bother. Springs DO NOT control damping. Thats what shocks are for. Shocks control the bounce and the rebound. Problem with muncee's car is that the shocks arent a match for the springs. The shocks arent compensating for the rebound. Shocks and springs work hand in hand. something like if you got a lousy amplifier, your subwoofers wont be optimised and vice versa.

Most probably the rear Monroe shocks are for OE springs, and these do not work with shorter sports springs. Get those uprated shocks - in other words, spend money, buy koni, improve, tein, gab, shocks MADE for sports springs (or those that are at least 30% firmer). Furthermore, monroes tend to work great for standard cars on stock springs. Too much comfort too little performance.

Regards

Today i went back to the place where i bought my TEIN. I tell them my problem and ask for solution. After confirming they springs are installed correctly, they test drive my car. They said the problem is due to the absorber. Front absorber is "about to" kong, thus cannot handle the spring damping and rebound. Dunno true or not lar.

And also, they said my car is actually not that bad, sport spring is like that... rebound faster than stock spring, thus better cornering. But i still feel not comfortable enuf.

Btw, wat is the diff between monroe reflex and sensatrac? which one is better?

Originally posted by mandatory88@Nov 23 2004, 11:48
hey 1.6 owners...
i got 1 question here..
any of u using it?
tq
when i brought my cars.. fit wif std kayaba gas + 1.8 stock spring

- after dad i change to KIMEX wif stock kayaba gas.. using around 1 year.. my car too lowered( less 1 finger gap0 .. and inbound rate between all abs are different( after 8 month) ...

- after that i change wif KAYABA RS + APM spring (black) .. not too good combination .. coz my car is a/back(rear to heavy).. using around 1 year..

- change to APM adj hi/lo .. best maa...

- now using KONI adj hi/lo /soft/hard.. i can adjust what ever lowered i want..

next plan... trade in.. or buy TEIN type RA

Dear all 4G92P user,

Congrats you all on this thread. Infomation overwhelming and centralize on 1.6 Wira. I have a question to ask. I am about to go for a top overhaul on my Wira 1.6 because the head gasket is leacking out oil from my engine. I was thinking about the DOHC head conversion as discuss in zerotohundred.com few month ago i think. I just want to find out what do i need for the conversion. My list is

4G91 1.5 DOHC head or 4G93P DOHC head ( have not go into search for it yet )
Gasket ( what gasket to use )
Timinig Belt ( ??? which one )
the rest of stuff i have no idea what else... that is how confused i am.

My mechannic is not familair with this kind of conversion so need advise from you guys whom has experience in this conversion. If possible tell me what part is needed for it. Btw, my car is a Auto. If possible, PM me with your recommendation. or even post it here for future archive

Cheers and thanks

Dear all 4G92P user,

4G91 1.5 DOHC head or 4G93P DOHC head ( have not go into search for it yet )

-Get the 93 head, - bigger ports (like porting), however, you may need to find a mechanic/machine shop to skim it and get the correct compression ratio. to at least 10.6:1

Gasket ( what gasket to use )

- use one that doesn't leak :D
okay, anything original will suffice.

Timinig Belt ( ??? which one )

- as above - however, the cost for the new head will cost you a diff belt, which costs about rm100 more than the single cam.

the rest of stuff i have no idea what else... that is how confused i am.

- Technically its possible to run the single distributor from the 1.6, with some shimming to the distributor mounting, (the dohc runs twin coils). but its okay to run withthe 1.6 ones.

Being an auto (like mine) is not a problem. However, i've only ported my head as i feel its not worth the extra cost for now (a dohc head can cost up to 800.00 w/o the workmanship for now). not to mention the extra cost upon changing timing belts. However, the TC head does release up to 8bhp as its more efficient. why more efficient? basically one cam works on opening, one on closing, the timing is more precise, and there is weight saving on the rotating parts - no extra rocker arms to work (a 50g weight saving on rotating mass is actually more important than 50g saved elsewhere)

regards/

my freind really know about this kind of conversion, he really expert in 4G9x series coz he do it by himself... if u interested i will give his phone number for u..

i also try already but not power as my original one, but if u want use 4G91 or 4G93 head injection must using thier wiring+ecu coz both engine distributerless... more cost when involving wiring man...

n futhermore, i have done use 4G91 carb head but cannot fit the distributter from my original one coz 1.6 distributer not same....