1.6ers Owners (Mitsi/Proton)

Thanks for the advise. I found a head without valve cover that gonna cost me RM500. Still going to search around for more option. Its a 4G93P. I was planning not to go for the wiring and ecu cuz its gonna cost much more. But will it be a big effect if i convert DOHC without the head's original wiring and ecu? I know the fuel map for 1.6 is probably different than the 1.8. Maybe its a more better choice to change wiring and ecu too ?

Originally posted by K20AEK@Dec 16 2004, 09:09
Thanks for the advise. I found a head without valve cover that gonna cost me RM500. Still going to search around for more option. Its a 4G93P. I was planning not to go for the wiring and ecu cuz its gonna cost much more. But will it be a big effect if i convert DOHC without the head's original wiring and ecu? I know the fuel map for 1.6 is probably different than the 1.8. Maybe its a more better choice to change wiring and ecu too ?
you dont actually need to change the wiring and ecu. Just get the 1.8 fuel rail and a fuel regulator. You'd be surprised on how much the mitsu 1.6 ecu can handle (yours is not the last batch 1.6 with siemens right?).

regards.

yes, mine is not the last batch which comes with siemens ECU. I finally landed one 4G91 DOHC head. My mechanic said that it will need the retention pully and all sort of other stuff related to the 4G91 DOHC head. Can anyone advice me on this? Can my 4G92P retention pully be any use? or do i have to change most of the timing belt pully? Cuz the head i got does not come with it.

Tommorrow i will go and hunt for things like distributor and those pully i mention. Also, for those who ever did this kind of conversion. Do you know the rev limit for the DOHC head? i know mine is an auto thus the rev is being controlled by the ecu and auto gear, but i just want to know as general knowledge. Thanks for most of your help. Much appreciated.

btw, the head that i finally got has no spark plug cover or some sort what you call that plastic cover black in colour one. Yeah i know, its not important but just wanna make it look neat. = P anyone of you have those lying around? cuz those half-cut shop won't let me dismantle it from half-cut or blank engine. Guess they dun keep these kinda things.

ahh 4G91 dun have distributor one !! omg .. what am i gonna do ?

why arent you running the standard 1.6 distributor? its good enuff...and may i suggest you port the 91 head? it may not breathe like it should for a 1.6.

was thinking to port the head cuz it might be dirty inside but mech kow a way to clean it by cooking the hell out of the head

its not that why i am not runing on standard distrobutor. its because the 4G91 one is A DI system. Twin coil distributor like in evo. which require wiring change and ecu. help me find another way thru it. can i some how fit my single coil distributor into the head?

i found someone that did this kinda of conversion. this is his webpage. can anyone help me contact him ?

http://www.autoworld.com.my/photoalbum/listPhoto.asp?AId=390&MID=lobak&CID=78

Originally posted by K20AEK@Dec 18 2004, 13:02
its not that why i am not runing on standard distrobutor. its because the 4G91 one is A DI system. Twin coil distributor like in evo. which require wiring change and ecu. help me find another way thru it. can i some how fit my single coil distributor into the head?

i found someone that did this kinda of conversion. this is his webpage. can anyone help me contact him ?

http://www.autoworld.com.my/photoalbum/listPhoto.asp?AId=390&MID=lobak&CID=78
hmm...its the same as the 4g93 1.8 engine..you dont have to go so far and say that its similar to the evo. My mech can do such a job. He's based in ulu klang. I myself didnt do such a conversion becoz i dont think 8bhp is worth so much hassle. I kept my sohc head and did a port/polish/skim job....as i said earlier.

regards.

am usin stock 1.6 sohc auto. tinkin of adin standard turbo, possible? how much cost involved? prefer 2 remain auto, any danger 2 my gear box? help pls.... :)

bigroom...
if u still using auto n wanna bolt on turbokit... the gearbox sure kong one...
it's cannot take the high tork when boosting lor... n lastly the gearbox kong... hehe

use manual la bro, but if u still prefer auto the change to GSR auto... more cheap..

Originally posted by amad108..@Dec 20 2004, 14:08
bigroom...
if u still using auto n wanna bolt on turbokit... the gearbox sure kong one...
it's cannot take the high tork when boosting lor... n lastly the gearbox kong... hehe

use manual la bro, but if u still prefer auto the change to GSR auto... more cheap..
tanx amad108. hmm....gsr auto.... power how compared 2 my stock? cost involved?

i think GSR auto arround rm4500... if bolt on sure got a lot of prob in future.. ;)

rm4500..hm..got 2 tink bout it la. gsr auto hav how many cc? hav 1.6 or 1.8 wan? Sori am not familiar wit dis...

dude amad.....4g92...reported in b4 1..hehe need some advice.....

wanna mod engine to bolt on...how is it do u reccomend ar....??manual car...

if high cams is it more fuel consuming then turbo??power gfains of the two same ar??