1.6ers Owners (Mitsi/Proton)

:( 4G92P Report in...

Er... actually not 4G92P, I don't know how to call this.

4G92P Hybrid 4G91 DOHC HEAD + 4G91 Auto 4th Speed Gearbox.

Pretty sad with the fuel consumption. Tak ada tekan kuat kuat, drive normally also cannot reach good FC. Normally can reach up to 300 ~ 330KM for RM 50 petrol. What I'm gonna do? Can anyone help?

yo.. pciericagp.. rojak la tat means .. same like me.. hehe maybe we can gi tt some time and discuss.. bout the feul..same problem here.. but did some mods..

Originally posted by pciericagp@Apr 13 2005, 03:59
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif alt='sad.gif' /> 4G92P Report in...

Er... actually not 4G92P, I don't know how to call this.

4G92P Hybrid 4G91 DOHC HEAD + 4G91 Auto 4th Speed Gearbox.

Pretty sad with the fuel consumption. Tak ada tekan kuat kuat, drive normally also cannot reach good FC. Normally can reach up to 300 ~ 330KM for RM 50 petrol. What I'm gonna do? Can anyone help?
[snapback]892239[/snapback]​

suggest you check cam timings/distributor timing b4 anything else. Usually this would add to unnecessary fuel consumption if the settings are wrong. Also remove any unnecessary weight, if you have a pumping ICE in your car with bassbox, etc...it will add about 30kgs of weight...lose the weight elsewhere. Weight also adds kilos.

Lastly, run a slightly higher compression than usual (means - skimming the head)...standard 1.6 sohc is 10:1 cr, skim to around 10.6:1 for a little extra oomph....while youre at it, port n polish it also..dont go for the whole hog and make the ports super big...you'll burn more petrol instead. i still get an avg. figure of 80km per 10rm if my car is properly tuned. Surprisingly, added comp ratio saves fuel.

regards,

4G92plotong satlia here... 1.6xli .. do i have to report police first? then report here?

Hello,
Me having an satria 1.6 4G92
and i'm having an serious problem here.
My 1st gear max and only go 20kmh where my rpma already to the max 5K or 6K.
not more then 30kmh..
Can anyone tell me what is the problem..
My friend car only 1.3 or 1.5 but 1st gear can go more then 30 or 40...

help
muff

softmuffin...
izzit ur satria 1.6 auto? then 1st gear should reach 70km/h max at 6700rpm... i already test it... maybe the time has come for ur gearbox la...

Originally posted by softmuffin@Apr 26 2005, 09:54
Hello,
Me having an satria 1.6 4G92
and i'm having an serious problem here.
My 1st gear max and only go 20kmh where my rpma already to the max 5K or 6K.
not more then 30kmh..
Can anyone tell me what is the problem..
My friend car only 1.3 or 1.5 but 1st gear can go more then 30 or 40...

help
muff
[snapback]928248[/snapback]​

check the following:
1. throttle cable - too loose? get it adjusted but i doubt this is the prob.
2. cam timing/ignition timing, useless setting can cause lethargic engine. get it properly adjusted.
3. if auto, your gearbox isnt shifting properly, could be auto computer box has shorted out or the gearbox itself has shorted out. Time to get either one (or if youre unlucky, both.
4. you could also check the vacumm or pressure hoses around the auto box...sometimes a leak would cause the autobox to think that its shifting at the correct rpm.

regards.

any heavy mod 1.6 here ?

i was thinking to have this kinda mod but dunno how power it will be. pls advice.

1. lighten & balanced
2. 1.8 stroke.

how ah ? good enough ? i was thinking to load in b16a VTEC piston in it.

wow... you really want to play 1.6 sohc ar extrememech...

i never done it, but if u really do it maybe increase a lot of power bro.... cc increase and compression ratio also increase...

not say play lah... just wonder how the performance will be lor... i always wanna do something to makeit hi rev like mivec but need to calculate ur cost.. if get a mivec is cheaper then get mivec straight better... hehe

Extrememech

1. lighten & balanced - About RM600.00 excluding labout to remove the block + fllywheel and
to reinstall it. Add this and alot more...... as firstly when you do this, better add new pistons (+1size), rings, conrods, conrod bearings and get a lightweight aluminium pulley to be balanced also. Cost should be around 2,000.00 for all these parts plus labour. So should be 2,500.00+- for this whole lighten and balanced thingy.

2. 1.8 stroke.
The 1.6 cannot use a 1.8 crankshaft. Most it can go is 50-70cc more from a machined offset crank and slightly bigger pistons.(if your mechanic is smart that is). 1.6 is short stroke compared to 1.8. i.e it's more rev happy but less torquey than the 1.8.

Of course changin the engine is cheaper. But remember when you do this, its like having a completely rebuilt engine that could last longer than a half-cut which has 60k mileage. Power wise...you'd need to add a 1.8 dohc head (nicely ported and skimmed to around 11:1 cr) and some nice fastroad cams, proper fueling to make the 1.6 be really extreme. With all that, you could have a very balanced 7,500rpm 1.6 that's as fast as any 1.6 mivec. cost? add 1k plus for the head and the head job, nearly 2k for cams, 350.00 fuel regulator, better fuel pump (or run it through a relay for better pressure), exhaust system , piggyback ecu for fueling, cold air intake, etc...you'd be making about 160bhp or more if done properly.

I'd honestly not go down this road...i'd get a 1.8 and then start moddin that if i wanted to tweak the bottom end. My 1.6 is almost complete as far as i'm concerned, i'll just go 1.8 (4g93) for more torque. For the road, torque is more important than horses.

regards

Aloooo every one can I join the 4G92 team......
I'm using satria 1.6 SOCH (going to be DOCH soon)
Now how many members does this team have?
Nice to meet U all........

I just owned an used Wira 1.6Xli... need to learn more from you people here

Just after days owning the car (without any much experience from what a stock can perform) it now have 17", low spring, 2.5inch-inlet size muffler.

Performance.. totally sucks out on low end... downshifting (auto) was so terrible... sometimes wont downshift to 2nd gear when exiting corners... most of the time downshift to 3rd gear from 4th. Unless you tekan longer, more than 2-3 seconds.. only then it downshift again from 3rd to 2nd. I think when before fitting the muffler, still ok.

Handling also bad.. even on the stock suspension.. it was rather soft.. and you dont feel any security when driving it. Its a 97' car so is about 8 years old right now. On the other hand.. i had another 99' 1.5 (also auto) Wira.. and the handling I must say i much much better than the 2 years older car.. although the stupid 3-speed is not that amusing.

Anyone here care to share your experince on the handling with me?

edgar_raphael said:
I just owned an used Wira 1.6Xli... need to learn more from you people here

Just after days owning the car (without any much experience from what a stock can perform) it now have 17", low spring, 2.5inch-inlet size muffler.

Performance.. totally sucks out on low end... downshifting (auto) was so terrible... sometimes wont downshift to 2nd gear when exiting corners... most of the time downshift to 3rd gear from 4th. Unless you tekan longer, more than 2-3 seconds.. only then it downshift again from 3rd to 2nd. I think when before fitting the muffler, still ok.

Handling also bad.. even on the stock suspension.. it was rather soft.. and you dont feel any security when driving it. Its a 97' car so is about 8 years old right now. On the other hand.. i had another 99' 1.5 (also auto) Wira.. and the handling I must say i much much better than the 2 years older car.. although the stupid 3-speed is not that amusing.

Anyone here care to share your experince on the handling with me?

Performance will basically feel lousy if you're on 17in wheels....unless you're on something superlight, if you're on those jrd, bsa wheels, you're already screwed. Try enkei, rm, ssr, volk racing, any made in japan rim or some taiwan brands. The heavier the rim, the more rotating mass you got.

The muffler is honestly too large for the engine. Try sourcing a putra muffler or something close to it (marco brand has one similar). Big bore on an auto car isnt very useful as u need the torque, not horsepower to make these cars move.

The auto transmission is slow IF everything else is stock, try advancing the timing..usually this improves it a little. Some felt better shift response when installing ground wires to the autobox and a volt stabilizer.

Handling isnt bad, see, you've compared it to the 99 wira and its better. It'll improve alot if you use upgraded shocks...try sourcing for koni, hwl, and the sort.

regards.