328i Lost to A4T

ZeeDr

Just writing to voice my disappointment over losing a drag with an Audi A4Turbo!! Cant believe that my E46 328i could lose to an 2.0 Audi Turbo.. sighhh... btw anybody knows the price for non-ori SMG bumper for E46? Thanks..

???

be more specific....how long was the stretch?...which model of A4 Turbo?

i wud think over longer stretch, your 2.8 N/A shud have enuff juice to outpace the A4

if 400m, turbo still wins. Anything more, higher CC NA will kick ass.

145fan said:
be more specific....how long was the stretch?...which model of A4 Turbo?

i wud think over longer stretch, your 2.8 N/A shud have enuff juice to outpace the A4

2.0 Audi Turbo. There's one only. The B7 2.0 TFSi. Then its whether its a Frontrak or Quattro.

This one

audi2.jpg

It was about 400-500metres only larr... from traffic light to traffic light.. Well, that's exactly the Audi A4T that I lost to Ingolstadt... Looks like it is Dursch Vorsprung Technik -1, Ultimate Driving Machine -0!! haha!

ZeeDr said:
Just writing to voice my disappointment over losing a drag with an Audi A4Turbo!! Cant believe that my E46 328i could lose to an 2.0 Audi Turbo.. sighhh... btw anybody knows the price for non-ori SMG bumper for E46? Thanks..

Whats there to be disappointed about bro?There are many cars on the road that can easily smoke a 328I.So many cars out there which are only 1.8 that can easily eat a BMW 328I/330I without any problems (Honda 1.8 Big Vtec and GSRS to name a few low CC cars).So why get disappointed when you lose to the Audi?What i am trying to say is,if i am driving a car that is faster than MOST cars on the road,i will be disappointed if i get smoked by some random Audi 2.0.But if my car is slower than alot of cars,i dont see whats there to be disappointed about?

Oh ya,are you using big rims btw?When my friend changed his BMW rims to 18",his car could barely move lol !

The torque characteristics of a turbo car is very from an NA car, and if that Audi is a quattro, it would have better traction too. So it is not a surprise the Audi is faster on take-off. Also, you also wouldn't know if the Audi has been chipped, which can easily give them 10-20% extra power and torque since it's a turbo car.

If you want your 328i to go faster off the line, invest in a manual gearbox and soft compound rear tyres. I have seen an E36 328i (M) tapau VW Golf Mk3 2.8 VR6 by at least 3 car lengths............

HanJackaL said:
Whats there to be disappointed about bro?There are many cars on the road that can easily smoke a 328I.So many cars out there which are only 1.8 that can easily eat a BMW 328I/330I without any problems (Honda 1.8 Big Vtec and GSRS to be exact).So why get disappointed when you lose to the Audi?What i am trying to say is,if i am driving a car that is faster than MOST cars on the road,i will be disappointed if i get smoked by some random Audi 2.0.But if my car is slower than alot of cars,i dont see whats there to be disappointed about?

Oh ya,are you using big rims btw?When my friend changed his BMW rims to 18",his car could barely move lol !

The point is, you dont get the point. The two cars he mentioned are of similiar class, and the 2.0T costs almost RM50k cheaper.

BMW 328 is not slow. If the stretch they're dragging is longer, BMW would've catch up and won. All races are like that, it depends on the length and distance the drivers perceived.

One driver would go, i tapau that car!!
Then the other driver would go, that day that xxxxx car, haha first 200 meter (when its actualy 250 or 300) win only, after that i did xxxx and xxxx, in a very short time, i smoked him already.........

err how about johor toll to malacca? 328i, new forester & (?) car? :shocked:
let just say in the end, 2 of the cars concluded in KL in under 2hrs15mins (jb2kl).

but i digress, the audi it's a very nice car

HanJackaL said:
Whats there to be disappointed about bro?There are many cars on the road that can easily smoke a 328I.So many cars out there which are only 1.8 that can easily eat a BMW 328I/330I without any problems (Honda 1.8 Big Vtec and GSRS to be exact).So why get disappointed when you lose to the Audi?What i am trying to say is,if i am driving a car that is faster than MOST cars on the road,i will be disappointed if i get smoked by some random Audi 2.0.But if my car is slower than alot of cars,i dont see whats there to be disappointed about?

HanJackal,

Have u driven a 330i before??? U should have read and studied the actual facts or experience driving the 328i/330i before writing such a statement that shows that your knowledge about BMW is at the very minimum level.

Cheers.

Sometimes ignorance is bliss for some ppl.. Of cos there r many cars out there which are capable of smoking my ass... Everything is relative.. No I havent changed my rims yet.. Thinking of changing but dont want it to affect my acceleration.. Thanks for the support Garrett.. They dont call it the Ultimate Driving Machine for nothing...

for a short distance drag... of course turbo car is quicker....

but i havent personally seen a 3 series race on the streets with other cars.... most beemer owner seem 2 drive moderately... Why is that huh?? fuel consumption very high arr??

Or scared engine give problem if hard driving.... coz i heard the parts very expensive...

Garrett said:
HanJackal,

Have u driven a 330i before??? U should have read and studied the actual facts or experience driving the 328i/330i before writing such a statement that shows that your knowledge about BMW is at the very minimum level.

Cheers.

I drove a 328I,325I,318I(friend's..underpowered like mad),X5,X3,Z4 and many generations of 7 series before because my dad use to buy BMWS since 1980s.But we stopped buying BMWS because we found that it is not value for money.3 series always have error message on computer saying "check coolant level" or something,and the engine is not very reliable,drinks fuel like mad.X5 doors is WAY too heavy and very uncomfortable to open on a slope or when carrying stuff.Z4 is too tight and narrow inside and very uncomfortable for everyday driving,too uncomfortable and expensive for a average perfomance car. (It was the 3.5 L Z4 convertible btw)

BMW has style and comfort..no doubt about that.Thats why BMW owners should never compare their car performance wise.Because BMWS are MORE for style and comfort than raw performance.Example : Someone who wants a high performance car for everyday driving with style and decent comfort,they would get the BMW M5.If someone who wants a car for only weekend track driving,they would get a Ferrari. Get what i mean?

And to all those people who think a higher CC car will outperform a lower CC car in high end,i beg to differ.Its not always the CC that matters,its also the engine design,gearbox,car weight..etc.

Personal experience : I had my dad drive the Z4 and i drove a souped up Honda Civic 1997 converted to B18C(1.8).We were on highway going to PD.From the PD toll,First and second gear,BMW Z4 was around side by side with the Honda,after third,4th and 5th gear the Z4 was slowly left behind.Gear ratio and gear box plays a very big difference...the Honda reached 200+ KMH way faster than the Z4 due to the close ratio gear box.And that is a Z4!What more if we are talking about the 3 Series Sedans ?

So how can you guys be so sure the 328I will overtake the Audi A4T at high end?Maybe the Audi engine was also designed to be smooth and torquey at high end driving?I dont know about Audis,but just saying there is a possibility.

What i dont understand is,why do BMW 3 series sedan drivers care about performance?If want to be faster than other cars,why not buy a performance car?If not,who cares if Audi,Mercedes C class or whatever "similar" class cars are faster ?If want to compare speed,why not compare with Japanese cars with half your displacement but faster ?Because i dont see the point in comparing speed with only a certain "class" of cars because 3 series is not about comparing speed anyway.

Sorry if i insulted anyone..didnt mean to.Just confused about the reason people compare speed of their "comfort" car to other cars.

Marketing and "teh tarik" stories does wonders for BMWs "ze Ultimate Driving Machine" folklore.

Not that I'm knocking BMW as a whole, they make many great cars. But some folks think anything out of Munich must be God's chariot of somekind. I still remember that ridiculous piece in Autocar about the M5. Bloody joke.

alo, hardly "teh tarik" stories la, ada standard sikit, its "starbucks" egotrip stories, pleaze. :shades_smile: