ABS is for stupid people?

actually the guy is just contradicting himself. First of all he said that his car is safer than Mercedes Benz. Mercedes Benz has ABS which made it safe. But his car doesn't have ABS and he's throwing out his theory about ABS for stupid people and racers don't need ABS. How does it make his car safer than Mercedes Benz if his car doesn't have ABS and he doesn't need ABS?. pure bullshit right?

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/member.php?u=722

Thank you so much for the valuable info!

err.. u're welcome? :shy: :D i was pretty sure my post is unbearable to read and sound all bull & shit :p

AE80TypeD... i have to say i agree very much with what u say.. And its true that u say the word he choose is abit wrong.. in a way.. but most of us.. normal drivers on the road are the 99% without the skills to manage the car in case of an emergency.. so I would say if the car comes with an ABS.. its a system that u should keep it on

well, my message is; its up to u. i just want to see ppl in here tolerate opinions better, thats all.

all i want to see is; if someone thinks ABS is the best for him, fine. i would tell him what i feel about ABS, and in case i don like it, tell him why. then he would go ahead and think about my points, and give counter points on why he thinks ABS is worth it in his case. in the end i may still dont feel the need for ABS, and he still loves ABS, and both of us say OK, fine, its been an eye opening exchange of ideas bla bla bla smile smile bye bye. neither of us resorts to name calling and getting worked up, end up calling each other stupid over ABS :lol: its one thing to defend what u believe in, and another to be obsessed or zeallous about it and putting down others just bcoz they dont agree with u.

thats all i want to see. i didnt really give a damn about ABS or no ABS :lol: no offence la. my aim was just different. everyone is entitled to their opinion and everyone should think about all of them, before disagreeing.

Actually i didn't feel that ur post is in anyway unbearable to read, and actually find in very informative and I believe that is the way ZTH should be.. No those bashing and stuff and using words before even using their brains... good write up

kiasu ppl thought his/her kancil is always the best ...
ABS is for stupid ppl ..i think an animal is far more clever than him .

kinki_kidz® said:
I was in this chat room yesterday. Some arguing starts when someone(lets call him/her A) mentioned that a modded kancil can be as steady as a merc.(i guess A drives a souped up kancil that has extensive modifications that could match a track car)
B and C said that no matter how, a kancil cant be modified till it can be as steady as a merc, the chassis balance, suspensions, handling set up, those ABS stuffs bla bla

then A said that, ABS is for stupid people, racers dont need that

i wanna ask the sifus here.. how true is that :D :D :D
(im stupid cuz i drove nissan with ABS b4 :D)

aiyor those chat room all talk cock wan ma...u also join in da fun kah? mauahahahahhahaa:biggrin:

if a kancil can be as steady as a merc, then i think millionaires will drive kancils all over malaysia...ahahhahahahahaa

eddie said:
ABS + EBD +ASC + T + ............... :tee:
you just reminded me a bmw advertisement read by James May in TopGear... :D

agree with prodigy. IMHO a person who use ABS is not stupid, a person who thinks ABS is stupid for a car is not stupid, but a person who thinks ABS user is stupid is stupid (okay i'm blur myself). abs saves lifes in normal driving, even for racers. you usually don't concentrate that well compare to on the track when you are just driving back home from a tired day of work. in emergency situation abs really helps out.

when it come to racing, one might be able to imitates the abs function while tapping on the pedal, but how many uncle or auntie can do that? they are stupid? maybe they are a successful businessman who is damn clever also ler..

oh ya.. anyone watch bmi where last time evo 5 or 6 (forgot) came out with abs and beat the impreza on the snow circuit cuz the impreza dun have abs? soory if anyone already mention this cuz i sleepy liau my eyes blur i might missed them.

In my opinion, ABS only good for brake at the corner.for straight road i prefer non abs.bcoz normally we cant get control during lock break during corner (under still)..its mean abs give more handling while during ur emergency brake.If abs combine wif EBD thts goods.bcoz they distribute standard brake pressure to all four wheel.tis is my opinion la.correct me if im wrong. (if got $$ i will choose 8pot with abs n ebd).. :biggrin:

Kimi raikonnen might have won this year's European GP if he had ABS:biggrin:

And now, you people are telling me that you could modulate a brake pedal better than him? Even in the shittiest circumstances imaginable?
(If you were so great, the ABS wouldnt even activate in the first place)

Heck, I would like to purpose ABS as a mandatory system in any car used on public roads.

yeap, ABS do save lifes.. especially on raining days where the road is wet and easy to lock ur brakes... the ultimate test on ur ABS system is on wet track... coz some not really good ABS system, they still lock up ur wheels on wet road...

The next guy in here who says ABS is pants needs to be banned and probably shot in the face for being stupid.

PS: And before any of you mofos have anything to add, go read up what others have posted, especially AE80TypeD's nice little write up.

there was a time.

when i was driving a 1987 saga, the road was wet and the merc infront of me , suddenly emergency break, i jammed my breaks and tyres was locked. BUT the car swerved to another lane itself and i missed the merc butt. it was a 2 lane hiway

weird la

my car is with ABS with EBD but seems the braking distance is longer than my other car, sometimes feel like slipping...is it tyre problem?? heard sime tyre is crap..... :biggrin:

eddie said:
ABS + EBD +ASC + T + ............... :tee:

i truly agree with the majority here. especially wath speedwanker said.. once u locked all the brakes, ur helpless as u cant steer the the car safely. the idiot (kancil owner) who said that probably never experienced such emergency braking situation. this maybe becoz his car is light (the lighter the easier to stop) and even though his car is fast, but without huge momentum as bigger cars.

i drive wira 1.6 auto with 4 disc setup and i locked my brakes once almost everyday..he he :D damn powerful brakes.

but i wish i have the specs mentioned by eddie...

anti lock brakes, electronic brake force distibution with brake assist, and automatic staility control + traction.... ha ha ha.. dunno when can afford. maybe another 20 years when the E46 325i got really cheap. :lol:

Car manufacturers (like merc, BMW, Volvo and saab) invested heavily in ABS as they have winter season.where the ice surface is slippery, ABS helps a lot and they are not stupid for conducting research and ensuring cars with ABS are better than without.

ABS doest make our braking distance shorter. in order to do fast and short braking, u need ur car to be as light as possible with the biggest brakes and most powerful calipers.

u will locked all tyres easily though...

p/s that's when u need ABS.

speaking about ABS

many ppl said best way to 'immitate' ABS (on non-ABS-equipped car)
is to tap on the brake many time..
but do u think will work?
abs catch n let go the brake very very fast (many times in one second)
can our feet do that??

so personally i think best way is to feel te brake
and press it just before it lock up...
(Please correct me if i wrong)

but rookie like me never can get it right
an din panic situation i do jammed the brake....