Ae101\111 Brake pads

AE111_SEG

Toyota Sifu,
Currently my 98 Seg is installed with Ae101 front disk brake and caliper.
I Think it is AE101 Levin front disc Brake. How do I tell if it is from AE101 or AE111 levin?

My brake pads are quite thin already. When I go the the spare part shop
do I ask for Corolla brake pads?. Do Levin and corolla share the same brake pads?
One more thing My disk brake is very rusty and shitty. It is already vibrating when I step on the brake at high speed and I dont want to skim cos very rusty.

I want to replace the disk.
Anybody here want to let go Levin front disk brake. I asked chop shop in Bukit Kummuning in Shah Alam and they quoted RM 300 for the whole set which
consist of
1) Caliper
2) Disk Brake
3) Knuckle.

Is this resonable. Sounds expensive to me.

Thanks in Advance:regular_smile:

AE101 and AE111 Levin shares the same rotor/caliper unless it's superstrut which comes with twinpot calipers and larger discs and the single pot levin/corolla share the same pads.

The reason people skim is to ensure the disc is flat and in the process of skimming the rust also will be gone not too sure why you don't want to skim unless the disc is below the minimum thickness

And yes chopshop usually asks for about 300 for front levin brakes.

i do have DBA slotted & drilled rotors. May wanna sell it if the price meet. im looking at rm500

Hi Yolk,
Thank you for taking your time to reply my post.
The reason I need to change the rotor cos the disk is badly rusted.
The rust is not a surface rust. It is quite deep. Even after prolong use the disk is
shiny but can see spot on the surface. The top of the disk also have rust creaters.
I think the rotor is very old. So skimming may not help cos the corrosion is too deep.

One more advise. I noticed that while traveling at low speed I can hear
something is touching the disk. I suspect the brake pads did not retract
fully. The calipers have piston which have rubber seal rite. Maybe this
has worn out or dried up thus touching the disk. Have you had the same
problem or heard of other with this problem?

Is the seal same size in the corolla original caliper?

So soory with alot of technical question.

If you know anyone who has the disc only, i dont mind buying.
If i buy form chopshop the whole set .. then the caliper and the knuckle
will be a waste.

Copy : Normality78 : tempting but my car is std 4a-fe only the brakes been upgrade to levin. Thanks.

Mine was also standard 4A-Fe. using Project Mu brake pad now with S15 disc. Urs is twinport or single port? if i was not wrong, even twinport also can be use. Pls correct me if im wrong

im drivin 4afe as well but feel like changin the rear brake into disc brake la, how much would it cost huh?

or if possible the whole set into brembo brake set la,anyone has jalan?

the caliper for 4a-fe n levin single pot is the same......the diff is the levin disc bigger and the bracket holding the caliper is different....normally even you buy spend RM300 brakes from half cut shop.....advice you skim it b4 install and also change new brake pad.......normally the disc from chopshop is uneven can cause vibration to car or steering when brake lightly on high speed..........

i feel like changing mine to DBA too, is it a bigger rotor or the stock size?
anyone of u try the EBC green stuff before? i used the entry level one, the braking performance is not bad for the price n very lil brake dust too. but only thing it last for just a while....
if anyone of u guys driving corolla with 17" rims, i advice u to upgrade the brake, i notice a significant decrease on braking performance with heavier rims.

pakai laa TRD brake pads ... proven by our sifoo TOMS already the HUGE difference ... both in performance and price .. hehehehe

chek_corolla said:
i feel like changing mine to DBA too, is it a bigger rotor or the stock size?
anyone of u try the EBC green stuff before? i used the entry level one, the braking performance is not bad for the price n very lil brake dust too. but only thing it last for just a while....
if anyone of u guys driving corolla with 17" rims, i advice u to upgrade the brake, i notice a significant decrease on braking performance with heavier rims.

Not so sure about the rotor size. i'll take a pic and post it up ASAP.

I have some rotor at home but no idea if it's levin one or corolla one. hahahahaha ... don't have anything to compare it with.

Yes the rubber/seal caliper/piston overhaul kit can use the corolla one (i think) can't really remember but they SHOULD be the same.

Also even though the brake pad between levin/corolla is the same but the rotor diameter for the levin much bigger and also the piston itself in the caliper is bigger on the levin

I also thinking of changing brake pad. 1 fella from 0-100 quoted me mintex rm90 but for original SEG. Can I fit it in my Levin brake? Thanx..cheers..

Its the best you can do is,

1. Get the seller tag along with u to workshop
2. Get the mech to install the pad on the spot (very fast job normally)
3. Fit, thn u pay money. Not fit thn no story. Whahahaah

fai said:
I also thinking of changing brake pad. 1 fella from 0-100 quoted me mintex rm90 but for original SEG. Can I fit it in my Levin brake? Thanx..cheers..

waliauuu ... rm90 for those MINTEX very cheap liauu lorrr .. performance and heat tolerance much better than stock one laaaaa .. i oso using mintex now .. sifoo yolk sifoo GT20v oso .. hehehehhee

Sifu, can be fited or not? That fella said for original SEG. Is the Levin brake pad size same w/ original brake pad? Thanx in advance. Cheers..

QiW said:
waliauuu ... rm90 for those MINTEX very cheap liauu lorrr .. performance and heat tolerance much better than stock one laaaaa .. i oso using mintex now .. sifoo yolk sifoo GT20v oso .. hehehehhee

QiW said:

i m using Mintex oso but on a levin twin pot brake ler. It cost me about RM250 man... it's a good brake pad but super duper dusty lah... sigh...

sifoo TOMS already said size same maaa ... i dont recall changing pads when i was driving ori 4AFE .. but i think should be the same size la the pads ... only the rotor size different ...
but at rm90 ... super cheap laaaaa ... u sure its mintex and not minthye aahh ??? huahahahahahaahhaahaa

Thanx sifu. That fella quoted there Mintex Rm90. Metal king Rm95. Have to call him already. Cheers..

QiW said:
sifoo TOMS already said size same maaa ... i dont recall changing pads when i was driving ori 4AFE .. but i think should be the same size la the pads ... only the rotor size different ...
but at rm90 ... super cheap laaaaa ... u sure its mintex and not minthye aahh ??? huahahahahahaahhaahaa

hey guys, I just changed my brake pad. I found the brake pad from the halfcut is using "SUMITOMO". anybody used it before? how is the price and the performance of it?