airbag or no airbag

kher said:
I would say it's destined...

My uncle passed away in 2002 in Singapore when he crashed onto a coconut tree wif his brand new VOLVO....

Reason of death: Airbag was not deployed n his internal organs were all crushed when he hit the steering wheels... Major internal bleeding...

hey bro, condolence to ur uncle......but i wonder y sometimes d airbag cannot deploy when the car is seriously damaged in front part of d car...

i think is d sensor problems......got error........rite?

coz las week i went to a workshop n saw one brand new toyota hilux..damn serious....but d steering airbag oso din deploy....i wondery why...........juz for display huh? no function?

sometimes it depends where the sensor is located, but over the years.. it's better to check on the sensor and functionality of the airbags.. (is there any place for this to be done?)

first off, condolences to the Gen2 driver and kher's uncle.

yeah, checking if the airbag still functions properly is important. I've heard of incidents where the airbag deploy then the car crash, not the other way round. Sounds funny, but deadly serious. Apparently cause by road vibration. Might be an urban legend(didn't hear from Malaysia)

the dealer for your make of car should be able to able to check your airbag. Or try some workshops with an ex-'your brand of car' mechanic.

acbc said:
Actually... it all depends. Myself involved in 2 major accidents last 5 years.

1. Car flew into the monsoon drain, no airbags, front major damage, cannot tow, need to use crane to lift car up.

2. Car flew on opposite lane and landed on 4 tires, tires punctured, rims cracked, undercarriage gone, drive shafts snapped, oil sump cracked and steering system snapped.

In both incidents, I walked out alive, no injuries or whatsoever... except for whiplash after 2-3 hours. Medical check revealed nothing.

So, huakenny is right in a way... depending on the car, airbags may or may not be necessary.

BTW, in both accidents, 2 different cars are involved. Mitsubishi Galant E55A (Eterna) and E33A. Both cars were not equipped with airbags.

acbc, i would say you are 1 very very lucky person, and not everyone have such a good luck.

btw are you part-time stuntman? or full-time street racer? :D I better stay away from Kota Damansara :D

i think relationship for airbags and accident is like condom and sex. :D
If you want to have safe sex, you better wear that extra plastic. if not,2 months later your 18 years-old gal friend tell you she is pregnant, you will curse yourself not having that small plastic cap during sex.

like what boggysv said,
when you need it, you need that badly. :D

PS: same thing like ABS...

since airbag n accident is like condom n sex...

so wat is d relationship betwen accident with and without airbag?

accident with airbag but din explode is like wearing a leaking condom when having sex....so acccidentaly causing pregnant

accident without airbag..is 99.9% guaranteed pregnant....

my 2 cents

BlackSamurai said:
acbc, i would say you are 1 very very lucky person, and not everyone have such a good luck.

btw are you part-time stuntman? or full-time street racer? :D I better stay away from Kota Damansara :D

i think relationship for airbags and accident is like condom and sex. :D
If you want to have safe sex, you better wear that extra plastic. if not,2 months later your 18 years-old gal friend tell you she is pregnant, you will curse yourself not having that small plastic cap during sex.

like what boggysv said,
when you need it, you need that badly. :D

PS: same thing like ABS...

Hhmm... the only car at home with airbag is the Kia Carnival... the rest nope... then again, the Carnival is huge... if ram into a Saga or Savvy... chances of survival is like 50%.

I will say... the smaller the car, the lesser chance of survival. To overcome this, it has to have better safety features. Front & side airbags, side impact protection, collapsable steering, crumple zones and etc. I'm sure the SmartForTwo has all these features. But, I've not seen any accident involving this cute little car yet...

But then again... this may not be true. Take Princess D's Merc S280 in 1997 doubted as one of the safest luxury car in the world. She didn't make it either. All died except for the bodyguard. Why?

Most likely a car design plays an important factor in safety too. Too strong, it will not absorb the impact well but channels it to the passenger cabin instead, resulting death. Too weak, it can absorb the impact but other factors can contribute to death. This issue is very subjective.

To make it simple... it is like sex as mentioned bu huakenny and BlackSamurai. Just my 2 cents.

take mini coper for example..d latest model one....i think its very tough...got airbag...n powerful engine...1.6 turbo intercooler man....so cool......bout rm200k sellingg at kl for new.....normal NA oso bout rm150k......

the Smart has a safety cell, but I think that mostly provide protection during rollovers. Should provide some extra protection on head-on collision le.

But small car with lotsa airbag would be the new Nissan Micra/March. Apparently 4. That's even more than most compact sedan can manage.

yup, like what huakenny said, unless your ECU comes with airbag features.
You will need to change to 4 spoke steering wheel for the airbag (any 3-spoke steering wheel with airbag?). :D

huakenny said:
take mini coper for example..d latest model one....i think its very tough...got airbag...n powerful engine...1.6 turbo intercooler man....so cool......bout rm200k sellingg at kl for new.....normal NA oso bout rm150k......
Mini Cooper S is turbo meh? Not supercharger?