airbag or no airbag

I dunno what's the "S" stand for Mini Cooper S, but it's Supercharged, not Turbo-charged.

http://www.sportcompactcarweb.com/features/0301scc_20gsmini/

BlackSamurai said:
I dunno what's the "S" stand for Mini Cooper S, but it's Supercharged, not Turbo-charged.

bro, it doesnt matter..let u buy it then u let me know....ok? i cant buy it...too expensive.... :)

no matter turbo-charged or super-charged...it is a very fast car...1.6cc in a small compact car....

For those who buy second hand car which supposed equipped with airbag, please becareful, check whether there is still airbag inside! My friend's brothers who bought a second hand E class, dead in an accident. The airbag did not deploy when accident, why? there was no airbag. The car met at accident before, the airbag was used/taken away already.

BlackSamurai said:
just curious, how do we check for the airbag?

do ecu diagnostic can checks it? coz if there is no airbag inside...the 'airbag' indicator light in d meter will light up.....the only way they make d light disappear is send to ecu diagnostic n reset it....

so if send the car to ecu diagnose...can check it maybe..coz all the erors of the car can bee sense thru d machine...my 2 cent

Besides airbags, there is a new problem which is being researched by safety experts in Europe. "Compatibility", that's what it's called. One of the recent Fifth Gear episodes highlighted this.

Compatibility is basically the effects of how one car reacts with another. Generally, it is assumed that larger vehicles are safer, but sometimes this depends a lot on how the vehicle is designed. One major problem is the height of the vehicles. A taller vehicle will always fare better than a lower one. That's why even the latest small cars and microminis are built taller or have a higher front end than last time. This will allow the front part of the car to absorb more impact, than allow the taller vehicle to smash right into the passenger compartment.

On the other hand, taller vehicles run the risk of roll-overs, causing many deaths as well.

For more info, check out this report: http://www.atsb.gov.au/road/pdf/cr181.pdf

BlackSamurai said:
yup, like what huakenny said, unless your ECU comes with airbag features.
You will need to change to 4 spoke steering wheel for the airbag (any 3-spoke steering wheel with airbag?). :D

my civic type-r steering with 3 spoke got airbag... :D

btw,

anyone here know how the srs sensor working?

this sensor is standalone or connected direct to the ecu?

http://codewizard.dnsalias.com/uploaded/srssensor.jpg

hi again, sorry long quiet.

There are many designs of SRS airbags systems. The most common is a single ECU controlling an airbag. This has sensor/s normally located at the front chassis. This is important as if the sensor is located on the fender @ mudguard then it will easily activated upon being hit even by a cyclist. By locating it on the chassis member then only upon very strong impact will it be deployed. The sensor will pick up signals from vibration (the only way it can sense an impact) and send it through the ECU to activate the airbag. This happens within 0.05 sec.

More modern cars have the sensor intgrated with ECU itself. Not anymore necessary one ECU per airbag but all airbags controlled by one ECU is possible nowadays.

No doubt airbag is not cheap (Satria GTI steering wheel complete with airbag costs RM6,160!!), and it would be a waste if all the airbags burst even though there is only a driver inside as of accident time. Manufacturers were not too late to address this problem. It started with a switchable passenger airbag, u just need to switch it on when u have passenger riding in the front seat. Cars like E39 BMW 5 series have sensors below the front seats to detect whether there are passengers or not.

The sensors also will detect whether the seat occupant is an adult or a child. Airbags are not designed to protect infant children as the blow are severe and may result serious injuries instead (or worst still death). Some manufacturers have come up with 2 stage airbag deployment system to reduce such risk.

Nowadays all BMWs and Mercs, to say the least come with seatbelts pre tensioners and built in seatbelt sensors to sense driver/passenger during an impact. You will find that it may cost you a bomb to repair (you need to replace other than airbag kit, the ECU (necessary), the sensors, steering wheel (if centre boss is not separated from it), dashboard (or crashpad) if airbag is not separated from it and it may be necessary to replace the seatbelt reel unit and buckle itself in case of an accident.

I came across one case where the driver of this Merc C class W202 did not wear his seatbelt thus ECU sensed there is no need to deploy airbag. But the accident did happen and the driver was thrown into the windscreen and died immediately.

As far as I am concern, airbags need to be checked and replaced (if necessary) every 10 years. In case of Princess Diana, she died because of excesive high speed impact which was reported about 190km/h. She wasnt wearing seatbelt, nor did Dodi al fayed, nor the bodyguard nor the driver. The car lost control at speed almost 200km/h without having the chance to slow down or brake and at such speed...nothing will spare your life, unless maybe armoured vehicle.

with the speed of 200 km/h....u gotta put d airbag surround u..let no thing can harm u....ahaha

airbag or no airbag actualy we dunno which is better....but d most important thing is our driving skills....dun speeding....140 km.h enuf...joking

huakenny said:
with the speed of 200 km/h....u gotta put d airbag surround u..let no thing can harm u....ahaha

airbag or no airbag actualy we dunno which is better....but d most important thing is our driving skills....dun speeding....140 km.h enuf...joking

ha ha ha kenny, then when involved in an accident we will become like Michelin icon... becoz so many airbag around us. :D

p/s I dont want to look like that. Btw, I pity all F1 teams equipped with Michelin tyres unable to compete in the US GP. Schuey and Ferrari won easily but its not their fault isnt it?

boggysv said:
Sounds like a rip-off.

Proton new part u cannot buy at Proton Edar..damn expensive..

Proton 4G15 ecu selling bout rm3150 at proton.....but if u get it at chop shop..few hundred only.....

Hey Zan,
i'm really impressed and enlightend with the message u post. I've always been sceptical how would the cars mentioned fare in an accident in the real world. So i guess it doesn lives up to the 3 star NCAP tests. Are u an engineers or things like this is of interest to u?

But it's sad to notice that ppl are still unaware the purpose of an airbag.. What does it stands for? SRS- Supplementary Restraint System.
It is only to supplement in restraing your body in an accident. In otherwards your primary restraint system is your seatbelt. The airbag is there to further assist in restraining and protecting the passenger. Essentially a 2nd system.

So dont be like the silly yankies, refuse to buckle up and rely on airbags. Then when it deploys in a 10kmph fender bender it kills the passenger coz the person is not buckle up. I'm lead to believe that yanky air bags deploy harder and faster and more volumn to restraint an unrestraint passenger.....

If the car overturn doesnt mean it should deploy. Only when the sensors says so.

And a similiar incident happend to a friend who didn want to buckle up and crash his clk. Air bag didnt deploy. Moral of the story, drive safely and look as far as u can and beyond. And anticipate what if and might happen.

Hey Zan i thought the body guard wore a seat belt which is why he survived?
I'm proud to say that i've been brought up to buckle up irrelevant seated up front or rear since young.

Once my friend told me he is holding on an very expensive steering wheel..and he is driving a satria 1.3 with airbag :D

he he that is why maybe boggysv..sometimes after accident repair the airbag was not replaced but instead only an empty steering wheel... workshop might want to save cost of repair as the cost is just too high.

this is the price of airbag ECU for Audi A4.

13 [For Passenger's Airbag] Airbag Control Unit N/S AU8A0959655C RM4578.51
14 [For Driver's Airbag] Airbag Control Unit O/S AU8A0959655B RM3952.94
15 [Module] Alarm Control ECU AU8D095323 RM4510.00

for Nissan Cefiro 3.0V6 Brougham A33

12 [All] Airbag Drivers side K851M-6Y002 RM5000.00
13 [All] Airbag Passenger side K851E-2Y002 RM5400.00

Sensor for Toyota Camry SXV20

18 [Below Console Ctr.] Airbag Sensor 89170-33041 RM2249.80

to Godzilla, no i am not an engineer or anything like that. its just interests. I only have Certificate in Automotive Engineering from a politeknik. and i do not earn so much to enjoy the benefit of modern luxury cars...:D
btw ur nick sounds like u r driving Sunny GTi-R. is it true?

anyway..as promised earlier...I am posting the photo of similar strong impact on a Proton Saga (an LMST) which was offset to the right. i cant do much to delete the car number, pls accept my sincere apology. if i do so, than the space wont be enuff to be accepted by the forum management.

u could see how weak is the body structure of a Saga, luckily the driver survived with only a fractured arm.

one information about the NCAP is that the manufacturer will be requested to submit what they would think would be the best seller model to be tested.

for example.. let say Proton Impian have 6 range models.
1. Impian 1.6 Basic Manual
2. Impian 1.6 Premium Manual, Front Driver Airbag + Passenger
3. Impian 1.6 Premium Auto, Front Driver Airbag + Passenger
4. Impian 1.8 Sports Auto, Driver Airbag only, ABS
5. Impian 1.8 Premium Auto, Driver Airbag + Passenger, ABS,
6. Impian 1.8 Super Premium, Driver Airbag, Passenger and Side Airbags, ABS,EBD, ETC

and we could see the most safest out of them all must be the last isnt it?

but if Proton think number 2 will be the best selling Impian, NCAP test will involved only number 2 without taking into consideration that Impian also available with 4 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA and ETC.

boggysv said:
zan, where did you get the pricing?
GOt any other parts?

for what car? i dont have everything...

the source is from www.merimen.com.my

used by insurance, workshop and adjusters for motor accident claims.

this is what i believe the pics of Diana's accident in 1997.

Relax In Peace..