Any member drives Frontiers ??

There are high performance diesel engines around .. For example, the latest BMW E60 530d delivering a massive 500nm torque .. Our Frontier pumps out only 304nm torque .. The Audi R10 which uses diesel engine won 24 Hours of Le Mans .. The only setback of using high performance diesel engine in Malaysia is our low grade diesel ..

FYI, the new Nissan Navara's 2.5L diesel engine pumps out 174 HP 403 NM torque .. My friend who drove the Hilux I mentioned above was in Thailand couple of weeks back for 4x4 competition .. He tested the Nissan Navara which his Thai friend installed 22" rims and that truck able to do 170kms with much reserve power .. Anxiously waiting for the coming of Navara into our shores .. .. .. ..

Haha surprisingly u didn't know that.
Actually diesels it's a matter of pumping as much fuel into the damn thing to get power hahaha.
U imagine lah, a stock standard TD5 2.5turbo diesel from Land Rover is putting out a conservative 130hp, but in Rally Raid trim, easily to bump up to 250hp just by changing the ecu.
I just asked about the Frontier coz i haven't heard much about ECU chips/ piggyback for it.
I brought this question up coz i always had the impression the D4 2.5 turbo diesel from the Toyota Hilux is the most underpowered truck on the market. It was not until i drove a Toyota Hilux with a piggyback chip and running heavy steel Mangles and 33x12.5 R15 tyres (33inch tall), i was so SHOCKED how torquey the damn thing.
I'm comparing this to my Hilux which runs an old school 3L 2.8 turbo diesel and it's already struggling to keep up with the accelerataion of the D4 truck.
Mine u mine should be relatively faster with lower final drive ratio, 235/75 R15 tyres (29 inch tall), and a light single cab truck.

I wonder how many offroaders in ZTH?
Wonder when the hell will the new navara come in.

Old school 3L is a superb workhorse .. Can't compare to modern engines as it's getting advance and powerful as new engines are being introduced ..

Piggyback ECU did a great job on improving total power of the Hilux .. I was suprised too when I drove my friend's Hilux .. His piggyback ECU is the higher range model of the brand that he carries ..

I think only a handful of offroaders in ZTH ..

Worm, taht day you guys having TT and lee said you told him something and he tried it and found that the car is more smoother and powerful mind to share with me what is that ?

We had TT but Lee was sick and couldn't make it .. Met him couple of days later and brought him to the workshop tht I send my car for servicing .. I don't know what he meant by the smoother and powerful thingy .. I think it's the 15W-40 engine oil that I told him to use .. Not too sure .. You have to ask him though ..

Hmmm, did not see him post lately .. Maybe went sea fishing again .. hhehehehheee

yeah u can say that again.
Hardly any offroader.
Been asking this silly question in a span of 7 years too many times hahahaha.

Sigh i lust for a 2JZ or better still a 3UZFE in a Hilux haha.
But i dont print money yet. Haha.

Sigh now looking for someone who can help lift up the car a bit.

Yeah, hardly any offroader here .. Alot of them over the Shack mah .. hhehehhehehhee

Woah .. Both engines are petrol guzzlers, not to mention their killer road tax in Malaysia .. In my opinion, 1JZ will do the job well .. Why not opt for 1KZ?? Drove a Prado with 1KZ running on auto gearbox .. Torque is awesome for a stock diesel engine I should say ..

How you want to lift your truck?? Body lift?? Lift kit?? Suspension lift??

Huh, didn't realize u're in the Shack too.
Are u using the same nick name there?
Don't see u there.
Keke.

Me ah, if i have my way i rather have an "axle lift" aka Unimog axles. hahaha. But no money.

TitanRev, did not add anyting la...but coz i used to run idenmitsu full synthetic engine oil for petrol engine...now run on diesel engine oil...better...coz idenmitsu very thin la the oil...as for ecu change..i've heard one running on Unichip..rm2500 comes with turbo module installation and all that kinda stuff...from Rs Impressive..wanna do..but not $$$ yet..LOL!...but NOS does enough la...adding about 30-40hp on wheel...LOL! can smoke kau a lot of cars...especially those who think very highly of their cars and think trucks cant move...kakaka...

i dont know man... but i got the NOS tank cheap, and i read in the magazines, they use NOS or water/methanol injection...since i could get hold of the ZEX tank cheap...might as well give it a try..hahaa....

TT session

Date: 15/2/2007

Time: 9pm till late

Venue: Cheras Business Centre

Agenda: Cakap-cakap ..

Huh, didn't realize u're in the Shack too.
Are u using the same nick name there?
Don't see u there.
Keke.

Me ah, if i have my way i rather have an "axle lift" aka Unimog axles. hahaha. But no money.

I use a different nick in Shack .. Very seldom I post .. hhehhehehheheeeee

Axle lift aka Unimog, do you need so hardcore setup?? Pair it with fully tuned 1KZ, cut the truck shorter and you are ready for next RFC .. hhahhahhaaaaa

Dear Frontier Owners,

Any idea you guys have the same problem as mine...my frontier is 1 year old liao....now if i were to turn my steering to the max to the left and accelerate (for making u-turn)...it makes this really loud knocking sound?? any idea is it common problem ah...as I send to the service center and they said..common problem and they will just put lubricant to lubricate it......

Dear Frontier Owners,

Any idea you guys have the same problem as mine...my frontier is 1 year old liao....now if i were to turn my steering to the max to the left and accelerate (for making u-turn)...it makes this really loud knocking sound?? any idea is it common problem ah...as I send to the service center and they said..common problem and they will just put lubricant to lubricate it......

Any repeating loud knocking sound is not common problem, agree?? Well, we are having TT tomorrow at Cheras .. Do join us for TT if Ure staying in town .. We can lend a hand on checking and giving a second opinion regarding the knocking sound ..

cheeka,
there shouldnt be any knocking noise..i've had mine for a year...drive like a mad fella...but still no problem...fixed the roof vibrating problem too...no need to soundproof whole roof one...waste of money only...just do the center part near the center cabin light..and then put some sponges to hold that stupid piece of plastic...if need help to do i'm more than happy to assist..really knocking noise is not common..any noise is not common..as for service centers..they dont do a good job seriously...even my car is still under waranty..i'm not sure if it is still after the things i've done to it..but..i still dont send it back to tan chong as they usually dont really care and do a good job..:)

as for TT, i'm not sure if i can make it yet..i'll let u know WORM..thx

Lee, how to know is roof vibrating sound ? TT...would like to join but some far and dont know where's the place ? :confused_smile:

The roof vibrating comes in when Lee blasting his subwoofers .. hhehehehhehe ..

Service centers only do what they do best, SERVICE the car .. If ask them to do troubleshooting on problems, tht's where headache comes in .. They will ask U to change this lar, change that lar .. I did not go back to TanChong for servicing after the free services .. After that, all servicing/troubleshooting I go to my trusted mechanic .. A word of caution, there are cases of failure on turbo charger unit .. If you suspect something not right when turbo kicks in, better send it back to TanChong for checking and claim cos the turbo charger unit will cost you a bomb if you replace it yourself ..

If you guys wanna join for TT but don't know the exact location, ring me up at 019.316.3362 .. I'll assist in directions ..

Worm77: wish i can but have to balik kampung tomorrow liao.....just picked up my car from the service center...seems that the noise go off liao and i have no idea what they did just now...the engine also sound smoother liao....:_:

hehee...worm...turbo charger rosak simple oni....change la...garret ball bearing one..woohooo..stim oh.....roof vibrate how to know??ahha...simple...u hear the noise coming on top of u and where else can it come from??hahaa..as for the noise...if it persists...then go get it changed lah...hmmm...i might have to be stuck at work till this time tomorrow night like i am right now..work sucks..i know..but...no choice..too bad..haha