APEXERA Power FC

my power fc tuned by power excel and so far ok only...never blow engine oso..

software is just to get u started. if ur hands touch the keyboard wrongly its still going to be fuck up no matter what software u use....

Guys, there are so many Tuners out there and more importantly, 'TUNER WANNABE', so make sure you know your stuff before letting someone to tune your cars and blow things out..Talk is cheap so walk the talk (and show how well one can tune..hehe)

anyway, I'll stick back to the topic...anyone wants to share what is the parameter in Commander and what it means ?

Let me share one tips...(which I felt useful to myself)

we can actually use the commander as a safety features to prevent your car from being stolen actualy (except towing la).

In the ETC menu, go to rev limit and set it to say, 1000rpm. When a thief try to starts your car, it will start but it will not go when the throttle is press..hehe..safe la.

Of course, remember to carry your FC Commander with you when you head for midnight movies or clubbing...just incase he is someone from this tread. ; )

PFC is no doubt a good ECU, so is the rest.. most people dont use the ori software power exel due to its in japanese... so very few people can read it.. so they will option for datalogit due to its in english....
everybody has their own preference in tuners...
but seeing with my own eyes if the tuner can control the engine knocking below 10...RESPECT!!!!!!!... actually.. it was nearly zero..hehehe...
no point tuning your engine till 450-600bhp but killing your engine.. utilising all the horse power given is ultimate..
Its all about the tuner......

well... i know a foreman / tuner... can do up your car WITH STOCK ECU.. having 350bhp ON WHEEL!!!!...so... how?...
ITS ALL ABOUT THE TUNER!!..

wahliao eh........power fc got ANTI LAG ??!!!!!!!!!!! i also wan !!!!!!.......

DDgreystar - I am simply pointing out the flaws in your post. I have tuned vua p/e and d/l and i've got no problems with both. I say again, the datalogit allows for further tuning applications which the p/e does not have and yes antilag is one of them and depending on car type it has other fuctions which allow for cold starts and increased oiling just to mention a few.

At the same time there are many other available tunig products available but nonetheless the reason why powerfc was not popular is because of lack of product support. To tune you had to actually go to a power excel dealer which in many cases not many of them around and practically monopolised tuning costs and accesibility. Now lets take the d/l, this is not the first 3rd party interface, in fact a japanese guy had already built a interface box but the cost and data interpolation (32lines,44 lines etc) left much to be desired. D/L basically allows end users (like u and me) to meddle around with our cars at a cheap cost. 20x20 resolution, antilag and now a newly released autotune feature (i'm waiting to test) will further enhance our understanding of the car.

Like someone mentioned earlier its no point tuning to 500-600hp only to have your engine blow. In the same sentiment i like to know how the tuner has tuned my car to..well, behave (so to speak)

Ps: dont be sensitive mate. i just say it as i see it. all done in good fun and learning.

koolspyda- yup i'm in kl. sure mate just drop me a pm and arrange.

evopilot- the datalogit is better than p/excel. Antilag is easy to DIY the datalogit makes it easier.read my post above. your knock levels are very high. i suppose its due to a very aggressive tune transmitting noise to your sensor. its an indication of you spending some time diy'ing reinforcing drive structure.

ok ok i duno anything on PFC.....eye opening n very open to all sorts of inputs.....as for which software gud or no gud.....not a point of concern just wondering WHAT PFC can do exactly.... :)

yup evopilot i had the same problem with knock. default at 70 and i hated my engine warn light blinking so i increased the threshold. My problem seems to the the power-plant frame which i suspect perhaps no designed for my purpose.

i was playing around with the antilag but did not finish coz of ongoing project. perhaps we should catch up and share some ideas. koolspyda ok with that?

What is an "AP Engineering model" and do I need it?
"A.P. Engineering Original Power FC units carry the same functions as the regular Power FC units but have been specially adopted for use on car models that the regular Power FCs do not cater for. As they are an item outsourced from Apexi, their pricing is higher than the regular models." - www.greenline.jp. An example of an "AP Engineering" model is the PowerFC for the r32 gts-t.

What is the "D-Jetro" model and do I need it?
The D-Jetro Power FC units carry the same functions as the regular Power FC units but do not require the use of the factory standard air flow meter and use a mass air pressure sensor. Apart from the unit itself, use of the D-Jetro units requires additional parts that vary depending on the model." - www.greenline.jp The airflow meter (at least in the skyline range) does not pose a big restriction in terms of horsepower and one would doubt the use of the D-Jetro. If you really need massive airflow you can always change to 2 x Q45 Airflow meters and use those with the PowerFC. The skyline series are optimized for closed loop operation with an airflow meter and oxygen sensor for feedback and measuring. Cars the run on a MAP sensor system can suffer drawbacks such as bad idling, poor fuel economy, problems with cold starts etc

What is the "Power FC Pro" and do I need it?
The Power FC Pro Spec.CPU has been designed for drag racing use. These units have two additional functions over the regular units: 1. Ignition cut used for rpm limiter - Regular Power FCs cut fuel feed when the preset revolution limit is reached. At high rpm, there is the possibility of knocking when the fuel is cut in high-powered cars. The Power FC Pro CPUs cut ignition at the rpm limit to prevent the knocking that could potentially destroy the engine. 2. 0km/h rpm limiter setting - Allows for the setting for an initial rpm limiter that is active whilst the car is not in motion. This allows for mainting a rpm level for consistent launches.

Is the PowerFC Pro Discontinued?
Apexi have discontinued the PowerFC Pro model which was the special version of the PowerFC that had IGN cut instead of Fuel cut and also had a REV LAUNCH function holding the rpm at a set value at 0km/h. For some cars the PowerFC Pro model exists (RB26, RB20, WRX) but for most models it has been discontinued. Apexi have not released any information as to why the model's have been discontinued or if there will be a new model coming out. Those customers who must have the Pro models should look for a 2nd hand unit instead.

Does the PowerFC run the whole car or do I need controllers for things like Aircon, Lights etc now that I've removed the factory computer.
The PowerFC emulates all the functions that your standard computer did. This includes things like Aircon, Lights, ABS etc

Last edited by a moderator:
What are all the menus and functions on the unit??
Here is a function list avaiable from the Hand Controller.

Note: Some items are not avaiable on various units (ie: PimVolt only on DJetro and Map Sensor versions)
Note: Some factory items do not work - Airtemp on R33 GTST

MONITOR
ATFtemp - Autogearbox Logic Control
AirTemp - Air Temperature
Airflow - Airflow Meter Voltage
BatVolt - Battery Voltage
Boost - Boost Pressure (Bar)
Eng Rev - Engine RPM
GearPos - Autogearbox Logic Control
IgnT Ld - Ignition Leading
IgnTmng - Ignition Timing
IngT Tr - Ignition Trailing
InjDuty - Injector Duty
Knock - Knock Sensor
PimVolt - Map Sensor Voltage
Speed - Speed KM/H
Throttl - Autogearbox Logic Control
TorqCnv - Autogearbox Logic Control
WtrTemp - Water Temperature
SETTING
Acceler. - Acceleration Enrichment
Airflow - Airflow Meter Voltage Table
Boost - Boost Pressure
Cranking - Cold Start Cranking Table
IGL Map - Ignition Leading Map
IGL/T, Fi - Ignition Leading, Ignition Trailing and Injector Temporary Adjust
IGT Map - Ignition Trailing Map
Ig/Ij/VT - Ignition, Injection and Variable Valve Timing Temporary Adjust
Ign Map - Ignition Map
Ign/Inj - Ignition and Injection Temporary Adjust
Inj Map - Injection Map
Injector - Injector Latency
Pim Volt - Map Sensor Voltage Table
Rev/Idle - Rev and Idle Settings
Shift Down Map - Auto Gearbox DOwngear to Speed mapping
Shift Up Map - Auto Gearbox Upgear to Speed mapping
Test Mode Adj - Ignition, Injection and Variable Valve Timing Temporary Adjust
VTexMap - Variable Valve Timing Exhaust
VTinMap - Variable Valve Timing Intake
VariableVlvTmg - Variable Valve Timing Map
Wtr Temp - Water Temp Correction Table
ETC
Prog. Version - Display PowerFC and Hand Controller version
Sensor/SW check - Sensor check page
Function Select - Function Select
02 F/B Control - O2 Sensor Feedback Control - Open/Closed Loop
Airflow Warn - Airflow Meter Warning - 5v Peak (Engine check light)
Boost Cntl Kit - Apexi Boost Control Kit
Full L/U Mode - Auto Gearbox Control
Idle-IG Cntrl - Map Sensor Idle Logic
Ij/Afl/Knk Wrn - Injector, Airflow and Knock Warning (Engine check light)
Inj/AirF Warn - Injector and Airflow Warning (Engine check light)
Injector Warn - Injector Warning (Engine check light)
Knock Warning - Knock Sensor Warning
Lockup Monitor - Auto Gearbox Logic
RegularGAS Jdg - Regular Octane Adjust?
LCD/LED adjust - Backlit display contrast adjust
All Data Init. - Reset to Factory Defaults

Does the unit work on my N/A car?
It has been rumored the work with unconfirmed reports. The model however is still suited for the turbo version of the engine so timing, ignition, maps etc may be unsuitable.

Does the unit work on manual and auto cars?
The PowerFC only supports manual cars. It will work on an automatic car however it will not handle gear changes and simply keep the throttle nailed during a gear change. This will result in jerky gear changes and stress placed on the gearbox. The factory ECU during a gear change will communicate with the auto box and drop timing, ignition to ensure a smooth change. For those wishing to use PowerFC with auto you should consider a mechanical auto gearbox instead of an electronic. The PowerFC should work fine with a mechanical gearbox such as power glide, transbreak etc

yup PFC is really good n cheap bolt on full computer...
even my car is runnig PFC Pro n tune by Power Exel by some pro tuner....

D/L is more feature on soft ware but some of feature is no use for street or 2wheel drive...

even i personaliy saw a Pro tuner to mapping 1095 ps full modded GTR n clock in 9 sec in 1/4 mile...

n even i was try on some local tuner n train in japan using P/E on STARLET n MR2 was running very well...

the major thing is not how many PS can gain...is runnig well n don damage yr engine

evopilot car also 330whp on std internal ... turbo... std cams just a pfc

b18c-r

who this tuner wannabe u mention?? care to share?? kekekekekek....

pilot:the expert in tuning power fc.:adore: :adore: :adore: :adore: :adore:

charge me cheap cheap can ar?member ma:X-:

dun la hanafyeg...

pilot have the proper equipment...when he know his thing he might teach us a thing or two.

and the thing that he own nobody can get in malaysia u know...(the fc data logit)

which tuner doesnt blow eng when start learning...rite??

it just that u want to start on a RM 6k eng is just a bad move.

Last edited by a moderator: