Apex'i AFCs vs Greddy E-Manage

ok now it's my turn to ask hehe

about safc2...it says that it can be set to 12 rpm point with 200rpm increment..i dun really get what it meant actually. is it like my example below :

can i put like this ?
1000rpm , 2000rpm, 3400rpm, 4000rpm, 4400rpm, 4800rpm and so on.....

what about e-manage ? got 16 point and can choose what rpm to put also ah ?

1 more about e-manage...is it really can cure the boost cut problem ? coz i'm using somekinda cheating ecu method to cure boost cut. using big injector and -ve on safc (5 button) and so boost cut will not occur. how about e-manage ? or should combine it with 3 bar MAP sensor to boost more than 1 bar ?

p/s: forgot to mention...i'm using L2 ecu and stock map sensor

yes, u can set the 12 rpm point as you like but im not sure can it be done by every 200rpm increament. i think can. same goes to emanage.

i do know emanage can cure boost cut but since you're already running stock turbo map sensor i dun see the need for you to get one also.

Okie .. i have just read throught the topic. I really interested neither one of the piggy back. So i would like to ask, please someone tell me the true. Is it true that e-manage always lost setting? Plus is it true that it will damage your Original ECU??? Coz i really and desperately getting neither one of it. I just want to know it clearly so that i won't WASTE money getting shit. Thanks Everyone..

You want 'neither' or 'either' of the piggybacks?
If you want 'neither', don't waste your time looking into this topic. It gives no benefit to your option because you are having no options.

However, can you let us know, what car are you driving? Some cars/model are not compatible with e-manage but it's alright with safc or many other piggyback in the market.

To you questions:
E-Manage settings WILL NOT BE LOST even if you took it out of the car and have the wires disconnected. (I thought I've make this clear a few times back but this same question still arise).
E-Manage WILL NOT DESTROY YOUR ECU unless you wired it wrongly and monkey around with something you don't understand or being installed by your 'friend' who have no knowledge to fix this unit but just trying around.

If you have no confident that these gadgets will do the stuff, stay away and you should have a peace of mind. There are thousands of cars around the world that uses piggybacks without issues and there are also some that have lots of issues. You should have guts to try something new...

I'm using Toyota starlet. where can I get E-manage then? my friend said he founh one at 1500 plus two harness, plus install and setting. Is it cheap? or there are some others places that are expert on it? Intro?

Cipan... can you tell me what else does the e-manage can do? Yes i understand that... Just that my friend who is using it told me that. Coz he just use the e-manage for about 6 months. In the 6 months he has those problem. Plus it already damage his ORI ECU. That is why i have this question in mind.

Electronics enhancements are quite subjective. Usually those power hungry guys like to fit in larger injectors which to their calculation will increase the engine's power output. However those non electronics knowledge installer just suggest and install those bigger injectors without calibrating the impedance impose by the injector and miscalculate the burden that have to be taken by the injector drivers inside the ecu. Eventually, the drivers collapsed and burn. So are the changes of ignition coils. Some may use the Coil on plug configuration without knowing the difference in dwell could caused overloading of the ignition drivers inside the ecu. Some use that outstanding branded coils etc. which said able to deliver fatter spark.

Your friend's ecu may have faced those problems or it may be caused by it's aging factor where the power caps get leak and burn the ecu board.

As I said, E-Manage is a sophisticated piggyback. If abused or misconfigured, it may retaliate.

cipan_supercas said:
Electronics enhancements are quite subjective. Usually those power hungry guys like to fit in larger injectors which to their calculation will increase the engine's power output. However those non electronics knowledge installer just suggest and install those bigger injectors without calibrating the impedance impose by the injector and miscalculate the burden that have to be taken by the injector drivers inside the ecu. Eventually, the drivers collapsed and burn. So are the changes of ignition coils. Some may use the Coil on plug configuration without knowing the difference in dwell could caused overloading of the ignition drivers inside the ecu. Some use that outstanding branded coils etc. which said able to deliver fatter spark.

Your friend's ecu may have faced those problems or it may be caused by it's aging factor where the power caps get leak and burn the ecu board.

As I said, E-Manage is a sophisticated piggyback. If abused or misconfigured, it may retaliate.

I agree with cipan to some extent on the use of injectors may lead to damage to the injector drivers. I guess we all need to know the basic, i.e. whether your injectors are of high impedance or low impedance( high 'Ohm' or low 'Ohm'). Some ecus are quite 'tough build' and they dont blow before the outside fuse blows when the amp is exceeded(high duty cycle).

However, on the ignition side, my experience is that either the (external)ignitor will get burnt first or the coil gets fried before the ecu(with non internally built-in ignitor such as those using the coil-on-plug type coils) suffers damage because power is normally supplied to the coils and the ignitor independent of the ecu. Dwell is normally controlled by ecu on factory cars and therefore will not be affected unless there is a shortcircuit. Just my 2ct. :regular_smile:

come to think about it... my engine has the individual coil for each plug...
so far, i've done a direct grounding cables on each coil and the results were great..

what are the things i should avoid to make sure any upgrade on the ignition will not fry my ECU?? were u guys talking about those ignition amplifiers ??

stroker_kit said:
come to think about it... my engine has the individual coil for each plug...
so far, i've done a direct grounding cables on each coil and the results were great..

what are the things i should avoid to make sure any upgrade on the ignition will not fry my ECU?? were u guys talking about those ignition amplifiers ??

You probably had a case of insufficient grounding before? It surely feels good to have your engine performance back to normal.:regular_smile:

so, ECU, fried by using upgraded Ignition system is not possible?? what about those voltage increase 12V to 16V... what are those??

If u have a stable voltage, why increase voltage unless u are into ICE?

for my poin of view if u want blink blink... dont play wit performance lo... play wit
ICE hahaha... i will definately go for e-manager.. if can 'ultimate'.... hey cipan u know how to tune 6a10 wit e-manage?? and by the way roughly how many hp can increase?? pm me the price and location alright ;)

hi all another noobie here asking some noobie quest again..^.^
as cipan mentioned earlier,not every car can fit in wif e manage.so my quest is,my ride is a year 97 putra auto which i had converted it to manual and im planning for piggy after some minor mods such as knn open pod,custom airbox,cai,exhaust header,piping,muffler,skimmed flywheel,light crank pulley,pivot vs.so can i use emanage blue too?? can free out agak how many hp if tuned it correctly?
i stay at alor star so if i wana tune i have to go till penang to tune it cz penang has the 1 and only dynotune in the northern region.since have to go so far to tune i dun wana waste my time n fuel money if e manage can be used on my ride therefore i wana confirm wit u guys 1st.thx a lot ^.^

at alor star here,many cars play wif afc only even evo,vios turbo..maybe due to the lack of experience/pro tuner for e manage up here at the north..and ppl might scare if their e manage have problem nobody to look for to CURE for them.jz my opinion la..but after i read this thread i get it tat e manage doesnt usually kacau us 1 rite? if the tuner done it correctly..any northern regionions here hu has their ride tune at northern garage penang? wana knw if their dyno tuning skills is experience not cz their dynotune jz arrived

is there any 4g93p wif e manage blue users here to lead me? need help and comments please..thx a lot..i hope its possible