B18c GSR NA buildup!

player

My engine is old and lately losing power and fuel consumption quite high already...so think of rebuild its engine or just buy an engine kosong to replace it..Which one is better huh? My plan is if i rebuild the engine i am going to upgrade it a bit so i need some opinion from u guys which one is better or where to get it...

1)Plan to upgrade my intake mani to B18CR. But i heard some ppl say it wont fit into GSR head so i have to cut the intake mani to fit OR buy another head that will fits. Which one better huh?

2)Cam going for B16B cam or stay with the stock cam? R valve spring/retainer and maybe some headjob. Which workshop does the best HEADJOB?....HAHA...

3)R piston for sure but i dont know i need to get the B16B or B18CR piston. Which 1 is better or will fit in to my engine?...I plan to stick with the stock con rod and crank(any opinion?).

I am not trying to build a SUPER engine here cos my car is daily driven so i need to think of FC and driveability...How much hp gain am i going to get from those upgrade and around how much $$$ i need to spend on those parts?...Do i have to change my ecu to make those thing run?...THANKS for reading...Noobie here!..Need some help!

erm...
give u a idea here.....

B16A Piston will add alot compression for u ade.for burget just run B16A piston!!!B18C-R is lower than B16 and if B16B piston is 2 much compression knock problem.

so the cam...B16b is very very good for street driving and easy setup.but i have crespo race cam stage 2 can compare jun3 at very good price just rm2k new set.we have crespo stage 4 in our track car.make quit high HP.so if u need it can contach me.

and the IM just run B16A head and Type-R IM.GSR won't fit type-R manifold.

Wow..Thanks buddy...Getting more confused now over which combination to use!...HAHA!

u can get b16a head + intake manifold full set for rm500... port and polish it for rm500..
change to thinner head gasket + b16a piston for high compression
stock cams should be quite ok... if u get adjustable cam pulleys to position them..
then get VAFC to fine tune ur settings...
Since ur objective is to build a street daily driven car
The whole setups will be within rm2000

Or get the full set type R head + intake manifold for rm2000...
set the cam by adjustable pulleys...
and fine tune it with VAFC...
This for slightly higher budget la...
But the Type R cams and Intake Manifold will give u extra powers...!

Hmm..So that means VAFC is a must have right?...My stock ecu wont work anymore?

get vafc to tune ur air/fuel well.. cos u're running on high compression...
scared later pecah if fuel not rich enough..

hmm which area u're from? if u live around Johor... Tung Chun motorsports or R engineering will do a great job in headporting, ecu tuning blabla...
Bear in mind Headjob is VERY VERY important for n/a build-up.. so get a RELIABLE tuner to do the job for u... It might cost more... but save u alot money and trouble in the long run...

KL area bro...Thanks for all the comments...Really have to think think first la..But my engine sound like LORI now..ahaha...

my car also running with b18c gsr too. wanted to plan in b20b, that's why took the sir model initially. but now, fuel price increased, don't now la. probably doing it up like player only.
n yes, i heard that type r intake manifold can't be fitted to gsr. have to change the head too.
i just noticed that there's not enough room to put a tuned extractor. because the aircond fan took a lot of space already. or can it still be placed?

i would do this if its just a mini mod for the gsr:
1) use back the gsr p72 ecu and fix a jun variant chip for p72 (dun wanna do do EG ecu thing and harness)
2) use back the intake manifold and complete head from the gsr (since u can utilise the ecu, use back the intake.)
3) fix a mugen head gasket (bump a tiny bit of compression)
4) maybe a used SAFC bluescreen version 1 to help cailbrate from the ecu.

the cost (approx)
- chip plus socket 350-550
- new mugen gasket 4XX
- used vafc 550-650
- labour for everything XXXX

u can try overhauling the current engine but be prepare for the cost. i do have ideas for 2L, cams and etc but since ure on a tight budget and wants reliability, then this mini setup should be fine.

Actually my GSR motor is in a EK 2 door chassis..so there is enough place for extractor..no problem at all...Not that VERY tight budget...car exterior all mods to 98 EK9 already(too much 99 already haha)...Now just try to add more punch to the engine(NA) while i overhaul it....I think i am going for the R parts for reliability and FC...THANKS ALL!

Hi again...Is it OK that i just sell my GSR motor and get a B18CR better?...No need go around and look for parts...Do i need to change my wiring to do that?...How much is B18CR engine now? TQ

Not sure is this an option for u. I got one set B18CR pistons, conrod, crank shaft for sale. Price is 2200 nett. Thanks.

player said:
Hi again...Is it OK that i just sell my GSR motor and get a B18CR better?...No need go around and look for parts...Do i need to change my wiring to do that?...How much is B18CR engine now? TQ

normally cost around 5.5k-6.5k for engine kosong only.